Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 03:52:52
Subject: sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
|
Hey everyone i was wondering if my necrons got sweeping advanced and i had a unit of warriors withing six inches could i roll for we''ll be back or would they be killed instantly with out we'll be back. k thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 03:55:20
Subject: sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.
|
No WBB after sweeping advances catch you.
|
I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!
The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 04:53:29
Subject: sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
yeah, I had argued this with some people before, and even WITH a res orb, you still can't get WBB after sweeping advance...seems to be a balance issue, as us Necrons can WBB enough as it is...
|
7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 05:06:22
Subject: Re:sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
but you still get to roll WBB for those that are already "dead" from wounds
Edit: ^ retracted: see don_mondo below
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/16 19:53:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 05:06:52
Subject: sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
I thought those were taken away, as the whole "squad" gets overrun.
|
7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 05:40:54
Subject: sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
It's dubious Eight Ball, the sweeping advance rules say to remove all models in the unit that were just swept.
So it comes down to whether the necrons that are layed down, waiting to make a WBB roll next turn are part of the unit that has just been swept or not, nothing ever explicitly says that they stop being a part of the unit when they are damaged, and specifically says they "ignore coherency rules" which suggests they remain a part of their unit.
They also move with the unit if it fails a morale check in close combat and falls back but is not swept per the FAQ.
I think that they remain part of the unit, but there are things in the codex that would have you believe they aren't really a model on the board at all.
One thing to keep in mind though, is if an opponent were to claim they are no longer part of the unit being swept then they could not teleport downed necrons through the monolith, except for perhaps 1 at a time.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 17:27:32
Subject: Re:sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
My opinion on this issue is that the downed models are not part of their parent unit, specifically because a model that passes it's WBB roll can join a different unit. Each downed model checks for it's WBB status, at the time it is put down. So if it is killed with a weapon that is double the Necron's toughness or with one that allows no save, it is removed from the board(less any Res. Orbs present.) Otherwise it is put down on it's side and "...ignore the normal coherency rules and cannot be attacked in any way- they are seen as just more battlefield debris." I feel the coherency part was put in to clarify the effects on the surviving Necrons. Models surviving combat but which are swept away through sweeping advance are then un able to make WBB rolls because the rules for Sweeping advance specifically disallow this. The special rules for the Monolith, IMO, do not override these rules, as you simply check for unit status when you attempt your WBB rolls. To argue that the downed necrons are still part of their parent unit would IMO invite the argument that a squad could still be at full strength or above 50% because the downed necrons are not eliminated and are simply just damaged.
I think that this is a prime example of why "The Most Important Rule!" is in the rule book. Using sweeping advance to get around WBB, is certainly not clearly written in any book and is easily subject to misinterpretation. IMO, what is fair for both players is that the Necron player gets his WBB roll for units not killed by sweeping advance, and the opposing player eliminated a unit and thus earned a kill point and/or one less opposing unit that can contest or hold objectives.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/01/16 17:32:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 17:51:02
Subject: sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
It only joins that other unit AFTER it passes a WBB and then only if a model in that other unit is the closest model to the downed model making it's WBB, Until it passes that WBB and joins the other unit, it's still part of the original unit. So a Necron model cannot leave a unit by making a WBB and joining another unit until the beginning of it's own turn/movement phase.
Yes, it checks for it's WBB status when it is wounded. All that means is that it determines whether or not to remove it due to a wound that does not allow WBB or the presence of an Orb that prevents it's removal. You don't even check for the 'within 6"' at that point. The coherency bit was put in so that Necron players couldn't claim their unit was in coherency by using downed models. This is about the only semi-valid bit that suggests they might not be part of the unit. But I don't think it's quite enough.....
And the Monolith rules are an integral part of this discussion, since only the one UNIT can go through the portal, and if (as you claim) the downed models are not part of the unit, then they cannot go through the portal with their original unit. So either they are part of the unit and can get a 2nd chance WBB with the Monolith or they are not part of the unit and cannot be swept. Make up your mind.
And I have no idea what your last paragraph is trying to say.
"Using sweeping advance to get around WBB, is certainly not clearly written in any book and is easily subject to misinterpretation."
Sweeping Advance is not subject to misinterpretation. If anything, it's Necron players trying to subvert (get around) the Sweeping Advance rule by claiming that WBB protects them from it. Simply put, NO! If you don't have a rule that specifically protects you from Sweeping Advance (like ATSKNF), then you're not protected. GW re-wrote the SA rule as it is now due to WBB. Check out the 4th ed FAQs and see what they said about SA and WBB. Simply put, the UNIT is destroyed with no WBB possible. So what is fair is that both players play by the rules and the Necron unit is destroyed. No one even suggested that " units not killed by sweeping advance" don't get their WBB, so no idea what that is in reference to.
The question at hand is MODELS that are already downed and awaiting WBB when the UNIT is destroyed by Sweeping Advance and whether or not they are removed with the unit. And IMO, yes, they are as they are still part of that unit during the Sweeping Advance.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 17:55:31
Subject: sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I agree wholly with Don Mondo.
If you just had the codex to go by it might be one thing, but the Necron FAQ which has you drag a unit's downed models along with them clearly shows that downed models are indeed still part of their parent unit until they get back up and join another unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 18:09:48
Subject: Re:sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
So then you can argue that 'downed' Necrons are not eliminated models either and thus the unit will remain at the strength of the surviving Necrons plus any downed Necrons awaiting WBB rolls.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 18:13:11
Subject: Re:sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
NecronLord3 wrote:So then you can argue that 'downed' Necrons are not eliminated models either and thus the unit will remain at the strength of the surviving Necrons plus any downed Necrons awaiting WBB rolls.
Nope, its the first question on the Necron FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 18:18:57
Subject: Re:sweeping advance vs. necrons
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
No the first question is:
“We’ll be Back” (p. 13)
Q. Do Necrons that are down and awaiting an
opportunity to make their We’ll Be Back
(henceforth WBB) roll count as Necrons of the
same type for determining whether a WBB roll
can be made?
A. No they do not count.
|
|
 |
 |
|