Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 19:00:20
Subject: Pinning, going to ground, and scoring
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Murfreesboro, TN
|
I thought that I had seen somewhere that pinned/gone to ground units can't claim or contest objectives. But now I can't seem to find the ruling. If someone could point me to the rule I would greatly appreciate it, or did I just make this up in my head?
|
"I'm not much for prejudice, I prefer to judge people by whats inside, and how much fun it is to get to those insides." - Unknown Haemonculi |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 19:33:41
Subject: Pinning, going to ground, and scoring
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Under the scoring units discription it says something to the effect of the only things that make a troop unit not scoring are being a vehicle, being broken, or having a special rule that says they can't score. So you may just be confusing being pinned with being broken.
|
**** Phoenix ****
Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 19:34:14
Subject: Pinning, going to ground, and scoring
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Seems to be a common misconception. There is no rule preventing units which have gone to ground (voluntarily or through pinning) from scoring/contesting.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/16 21:22:04
Subject: Pinning, going to ground, and scoring
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
The going to ground rules state that a unit that has gone to ground can do nothing of its own volition until the following turn.
Some places/tournaments I've played in construe "controlling an objective" as doing something volitional, even though there's a good argument that just "being"--which a unit does without volition--within 3" is sufficient. This is one where I can see both sides of the argument semantically.
Incidentally, if controlling an objective is a volitional action, then turbo-boosting units can't do it either according to the way the turbo-boosting rule is written.
Also there's a tyranid rule that can be construed as saying a lurking unit can't be a scoring unit? I don't have my nid codex handy, but the rule just adds to the whole going-to-ground/pinning/lurking confusion.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/17 00:16:17
Subject: Pinning, going to ground, and scoring
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Flavius Infernus wrote:Also there's a tyranid rule that can be construed as saying a lurking unit can't be a scoring unit? I don't have my nid codex handy, but the rule just adds to the whole going-to-ground/pinning/lurking confusion.
Just thought I would clarify this, it's pretty clear in this case as the Tyranid Codex states "Lurking Tyranids may not claim objectives or hold table quarters."
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|