Switch Theme:

Poll: ratling snipers going to ground  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
What happens when ratling snipers go to ground?
They can only use the codex version of "go to ground," so they don't have to take a morale test, but they also don't get +1 to thier cover save
They still get the +1 cover save if they go to ground, since the rulebook says models that have gone to ground get a +1 to their cover save. The rulebook still applies even though they went to ground under a slightly different rule.
They can pick which version to use depending on the situation, even though both rules have the same name.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block






Ratling Snipers have a special rule "go to ground' which allows them to be pinned instead of taking a morale test. No mention of a cover save bonus. In the main rulebook, you can go to ground and get a cover save bonus, but still have to take a morale test. The question is, does the existence of the codex "go to ground" rule nullify the main rulebook rules that govern units that have gone to ground?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/17 17:09:07


 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





There should be an "Other" option.

IMO they have acces to both rules and can choose which one they woould like to use. No mix-and-matching though. It is one or the other.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin






i agree with steel.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






The +1 to cover saves listed under their go to ground rule is a global one that applies at all times, there is no clash between these rules, when being shot at they may opt to go to ground (BRB) for +1 to thier cover save (a total of +2 including the codex rules) and if they are required to take a morale check due to losing 25% casualties they can additionally opt to be pinned according to codex rules, for once again +2 to cover saves.

What you seem to be missing, is that being pinned is exactly the same as going to ground per the 5th edition rules(including the cover save bonus), so when they opt to be pinned instead of take the morale check, they are going to ground.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/17 00:11:43


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






The only reason I could think that you couldn't do both would be that the codex rule always overrules the rulebook rule. However, since Go to Ground is a general rule and not a Universal Special Rule, I don't think it applies. I think Drunkspleen is right.
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

from the 40k rulebook FAQ
"Q. If I find a reference to a unit that is ‘pinned’,
does it mean a unit that has gone to ground?
A. Yes, ‘pinned’ is simply a short way of saying
‘gone to ground by failing a pinning test’."

So yes, the official ruling is that "pinned" and "gone to ground" are the same. So if a unit can voluntarily pin itself, is pinned by failing a pinning test, or has some special rule allowing it to pin itself or go to ground in any way, it gains the +1 cover save bonus.

I really wish they just had a glossary of terms in the rulebook with official definitions of everything. It would make it oh so much clearer when trying to solve these sorts of rule discussions
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




I will go with one not listed and say you have an option for either the rulebook 'go to ground' and the codex 'go to ground'.

Granted that both use the same words to define a role. They are obviously different and have 2 totally different meanings and roles.

Honestly though, it sounds like the rulebook version of 'go to ground' is way better than the codex version.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

padixon wrote:I will go with one not listed and say you have an option for either the rulebook 'go to ground' and the codex 'go to ground'.

Granted that both use the same words to define a role. They are obviously different and have 2 totally different meanings and roles.

Honestly though, it sounds like the rulebook version of 'go to ground' is way better than the codex version.


If it says pinned, then it's the same thing. Rulebook 'go to ground' = pinned = codex 'go to ground', so you get your +1 cover save. They obviously have something special that happens when they do go to ground, but they are quite obviously not different things.

Somebody post the exact wording of the rules though so that we can make sure.
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




PirateRobotNinjaofDeath wrote:
padixon wrote:I will go with one not listed and say you have an option for either the rulebook 'go to ground' and the codex 'go to ground'.

Granted that both use the same words to define a role. They are obviously different and have 2 totally different meanings and roles.

Honestly though, it sounds like the rulebook version of 'go to ground' is way better than the codex version.


If it says pinned, then it's the same thing. Rulebook 'go to ground' = pinned = codex 'go to ground', so you get your +1 cover save. They obviously have something special that happens when they do go to ground, but they are quite obviously not different things.

Somebody post the exact wording of the rules though so that we can make sure.


Actually they are different look at the qualifier to their 'go to ground' versus the rulebooks qualifier.

Ratlings: must have to take a morale check to 'go to ground'
Rulebook: Must suffer a wound to 'go to ground'

The qualifiers are different, and even their applications are different

Ratlings: are pinned instead of taking a morale test
Rulebook: are 'gone to ground' and doesn't need a morale test

I know they are similar, and this is just my opinion anyways. But, that is my third option of one not listed in the poll. Why fight it brother.

Edit: Besides, you can still have both because of the order of events of both rules:

Here we go: 1) Ratlings get shot at and take enough wounds that would require a morale test if the cover saves would fail
2a) Ratling player decides to 'go to ground' as per the rulebook prior making any saves and hence improves his cover save by 1
2b) Ratling player decides not to 'go to ground' as per the rulebook and makes his saves. Failing enough saves to force a morale test
3) Ratling player decides to use 'go to ground' from his codex and substitutes a pinning condition instead of making a morale test.

See you *can* have both. Ratlings seemed to have gotten a little better.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/17 11:36:30


DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






I've added the either/or option to the poll.
   
Made in jp
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




I'd have to go with the option of Both. Ignoring the fact the rules have the same name they are completely different. the Universal rule is for cover saves, and is chosen after rolling to wound but before armor saves. While the Ratling rule is after wounds have been taken in place of a moral test. The two rules don't conflict, aside from the name.

Also don't forget that ratlings are "small" and get a natural +1 to cover so you go to groung (universal rule) your getting a +2

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/17 20:49:20



 
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

padixon wrote:
The qualifiers are different, and even their applications are different

Ratlings: are pinned instead of taking a morale test
Rulebook: are 'gone to ground' and doesn't need a morale test

I know they are similar, and this is just my opinion anyways. But, that is my third option of one not listed in the poll. Why fight it brother.

Emphasis mine. Anything that is pinned is BRB 'gone to ground,' no matter what the qualifier is. That they may pin themselves for a different reason is irrelevant, they are pinned and thus get a cover save. What matters here is that the guys have hit the deck. If they do so because they hit the deck to avoid sniper fire (causes pinning), barrage fire(causes pinning), heavy fire (go to ground), or because of the ratlings special rule, it's all the same. In each case they are pinned, and thus get the save.

Just look at the section of the FAQ i quoted. All references to "gone to ground" refer to the unit being pinned. If a unit is pinned, it gets a +1 save. Ratlings are pinned, and thus get a +1 save.

End of story
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




PirateRobotNinjaofDeath wrote:
padixon wrote:
The qualifiers are different, and even their applications are different

Ratlings: are pinned instead of taking a morale test
Rulebook: are 'gone to ground' and doesn't need a morale test

I know they are similar, and this is just my opinion anyways. But, that is my third option of one not listed in the poll. Why fight it brother.

Emphasis mine. Anything that is pinned is BRB 'gone to ground,' no matter what the qualifier is. That they may pin themselves for a different reason is irrelevant, they are pinned and thus get a cover save. What matters here is that the guys have hit the deck. If they do so because they hit the deck to avoid sniper fire (causes pinning), barrage fire(causes pinning), heavy fire (go to ground), or because of the ratlings special rule, it's all the same. In each case they are pinned, and thus get the save.

Just look at the section of the FAQ i quoted. All references to "gone to ground" refer to the unit being pinned. If a unit is pinned, it gets a +1 save. Ratlings are pinned, and thus get a +1 save.

End of story


Lets try this again, please read the *whole* post this time, okay.

The guard codex "go to ground" takes place **after** saves are made and morale tests are taken
The rulebook "go to ground" takes place **before** saves are made and applies a +1 to the cover save.

Honestly, is this hard to understand, let me re-post and maybe you will catch it this time

Here we go: 1) Ratlings get shot at and take enough wounds that would require a morale test if the cover saves would fail
2a) Ratling player decides to 'go to ground' as per the rulebook prior making any saves and hence improves his cover save by 1
2b) Ratling player decides not to 'go to ground' as per the rulebook and makes his saves. Failing enough saves to force a morale test
3) Ratling player decides to use 'go to ground' from his codex and substitutes a pinning condition instead of making a morale test.

See you *can* have both. Ratlings seemed to have gotten a little better.

Try to quote my entire post next time that way you may catch yourself before you end up showing us that you only read what you want to read.

**important** they can do either one, depending on which one they choose to take as per my time frame above.

EDIT: Dude, I am not arguing that pinning does not give you a "go to ground' effect. I have no idea why you think I am. I *am* saying is that you can use either rule, as they are different.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/18 16:28:56


DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

padixon wrote:

**important** they can do either one, depending on which one they choose to take as per my time frame above.

EDIT: Dude, I am not arguing that pinning does not give you a "go to ground' effect. I have no idea why you think I am. I *am* saying is that you can use either rule, as they are different.


And what exactly do you think I'm arguing? I think you mistook the disagreement i have here. The question is whether the ratlings get a +1 cover save bonus for their "go to ground" rule, which they quite obviously do (causes pinning, pinning = rulebook 'go to ground = +1 cover save bonus). You seem to think that I'm arguing that they're the same rule, which isn't the case. I'm just arguing that they both have the same result: a pinned unit and thus a cover save bonus. The ratling 'go to ground,' however, gets their bonus purely against successive rounds of shooting since it hasn't come into effect until *after* they have taken casualties from the current shooting. Thus basically, you can use *either* rule, and get a +1 cover save for either as well.

Looks like we're just arguing completely different things. I apologize if I came off as condescending. When I read your posts I thought you were essentially arguing along the lines of option 1 in the book, where they get both rules but the codex variety doesn't get a +1 cover save.
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




PirateRobotNinjaofDeath wrote:
padixon wrote:

**important** they can do either one, depending on which one they choose to take as per my time frame above.

EDIT: Dude, I am not arguing that pinning does not give you a "go to ground' effect. I have no idea why you think I am. I *am* saying is that you can use either rule, as they are different.


And what exactly do you think I'm arguing? I think you mistook the disagreement i have here. The question is whether the ratlings get a +1 cover save bonus for their "go to ground" rule, which they quite obviously do (causes pinning, pinning = rulebook 'go to ground = +1 cover save bonus). You seem to think that I'm arguing that they're the same rule, which isn't the case. I'm just arguing that they both have the same result: a pinned unit and thus a cover save bonus. The ratling 'go to ground,' however, gets their bonus purely against successive rounds of shooting since it hasn't come into effect until *after* they have taken casualties from the current shooting. Thus basically, you can use *either* rule, and get a +1 cover save for either as well.

Looks like we're just arguing completely different things. I apologize if I came off as condescending. When I read your posts I thought you were essentially arguing along the lines of option 1 in the book, where they get both rules but the codex variety doesn't get a +1 cover save.


lol, I guess we both mistook each other, sorry brother.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






What if you go to ground before taking casualties, in order to get that 2+ cover save, then have 25% casualties anyway? Can you use the ratling rule after taking casualties, to avoid a morale test, even if you have already gone to ground?
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




Where people Live Free, or Die

I would say they get both, as they are a rather unique unit.

Menaphite Dynasty Necrons - 6000
Karak Hirn Dwarfs - 2500

How many lawyers does it take to change a light bulb?
-- Fifty-Four -- Eight to argue, one to get a continuance, one to object, one to demur, two to research precedents, one to dictate a letter, one to stipulate, five to turn in their time cards, one to depose, one to write interrogatories, two to settle, one to order a secretary to change the bulb, and twenty eight to bill for professional services.
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






There's no reason they couldn't go to ground before rolling saves per the core rules and then proceed to go to ground to avoid a morale test for 25% casualties per thier codex in the same turn, other than Sonobovich seems to have decided otherwhise, which doesn't carry much weight really.

They can do both because that's what the rules say.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






edit: Double Post

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/19 07:57:53


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






Drunkspleen, I have actually been playing it that way but I posted this thread to make sure there was nothing fishy about it. It's slightly confusing because of two rules having the same name.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





The codex rule applies. Note that it only applies when in cover. Out of cover, normal GTG applies.

If they are in cover, they get +1 from their GTG. If they then have to take a morale test from shooting, they can elect to be pinned instead, but would they get +2 to cover?

If not in cover, they can elect to be pinned if they have to take a morale check and get a 6 up cover save, the same as any unit.

I guess I voted wrong. I thought A but should have picked B.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: