Switch Theme:

Help with Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate




Poconos, PA

This recently came up in a game and just leaves me wondering.

Can vehicles that can transport units start the game with units embarked?

Now I know Dedicated Transports must either come along with the unit it was purchased for or with nothing at all. But how do normal transports work at the start of the game, and also in reserves?
For example, I brought a Looted Wagon with a squad of 10 Burna Boyz and a Warboss. Can those guys start the game inside the looted wagon or do I have to deploy them out and then waste turn 1 embarking them?

I was under the impression that I could start the game with things embarked in transport, but I'm not finding anything that says so in the rulebook aside from other than a few lines that suggest you would be able to but can't find it where it says you can or can not.

4500 Points
 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




There was already a big lengthy discussion on it here. I tried to use search here for you, but failed, sorry.

Anyways, Most people here believe that the answer is yes, you may start in a transport, and only dedicated guys in a dedicated transport in the beginning as well.

The rule book has a little box where it talks about 'Dedicated Transports' on page 67. Where it talks about the 'only limitation of a dedicated transport'. Anyways, myself and others believe that because the 'only limitation of a dedicated transport' lists the limitation only to dedicated transports, then logically no such limitation applies to regular transports. Otherwise the little box on page 67 would of wrote the limitation on all transports and not just the Dedicated type.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in au
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Melbourne, Australia

Hi - from the rules:

"To keep things fair, you should always allow your
opponent to read your force roster after a game. In the
same spirit, always make clear to your opponent which
squads are embarked in which transport vehicle."

and

"Similarly, the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together."

certainly intimates that you can. As well as that, it doesn't say that you can't anywhere.

So - yes you can, although it is not specific in saying you can.

There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary, and those who don't.

My work in progress thread 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





It is easier to say for reserves. Page 94 boils down to units in reserve can be combined in any legal way, rolled for together, and your opponent must be notified. So something like "My Farseer is joining my Banshees and they are in their Wave Serpent." They then arrive via a single roll.

On deployment, I believe RAI is the same. As to RAW, it is harder as page 92 for instance says that even if bought from the same FOC slot, they are separate units. Page 67 states that units with dedicated transports can be deployed embarked. So the answer is yes.

The only question I would have is the heavy support LR or Falcon, can units start embarked if they are not part of the same FOC slot? Page 92 implies it in the secrecy note.

Homer

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/19 15:28:50


The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: