Switch Theme:

Tankbustas wunna ride da trukk!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Fighter Ace





Sweden

I got into an argument with a guy at the pub last night (I know, sad isn't it ) about this. Can Tankbustas use a trukk or would the temptations be too great? I know that they can't be in one from the start, but surely they should be able to ride it? I am asking because I like tankhammers (alot) and I realized that it would be a good way to use the boarding plank.

I won't bother. 
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






Leicester, UK

Assuming one of your other units bought a dedicated trukk, then yes, the TankBusters can ride in it.
Be sure to check Glory Hog rule though - I'm not sure if they can get in the trukk if they can see a tank; No codex handy to double-check, but I think they have to fire.

I refuse to enter a battle of wits with an unarmed opponent. 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





Flowery Branch, Ga

Standard rules states that only the purchasing unit may ride in the dedicated transport.

Now, vehicles that are purchased as normal FO selections that can carry troops can be riden by anyone.

I.E. Battlewagon in your case.

"I have no idea, people who boast about their IQs are losers." - Steven Hawkings when asked what his IQ was during an interview.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hordicant wrote:Standard rules states that only the purchasing unit may ride in the dedicated transport.

Now, vehicles that are purchased as normal FO selections that can carry troops can be riden by anyone.

I.E. Battlewagon in your case.


You're wrong. Check the rulebook, it's obvious. You're probably thinking of 4th ed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/18 21:50:23


 
   
Made in se
Fighter Ace





Sweden

Yeah, I want to throw of them choppas and throw in my tankbustas, choppas can walk
But I guess it's true, Glory Hog could make it difficult.

I won't bother. 
   
Made in de
Dominating Dominatrix






Piercing the heavens

Glory Hogs mean that they only have to shoot and assault a vehicle if possible. THey can move however you like, and as long you're not parking the truck 6 inch from an enemy tank they can ride in it all day.
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Traskel wrote:
Hordicant wrote:Standard rules states that only the purchasing unit may ride in the dedicated transport.

Now, vehicles that are purchased as normal FO selections that can carry troops can be riden by anyone.

I.E. Battlewagon in your case.


You're wrong. Check the rulebook, it's obvious. You're probably thinking of 4th ed.


Traskel, this is still a debated issue. So, this is your opinion. Or you may have misunderstood his meaning. He is saying that dedicated vehicles must carry the unit it is bought for initially, and any non-dedicated vehicle can carry anyone initially.

If you still have issue with this page 67 is for you. In it, it describes a limitation to 'dedicated' vehicles. Because they issue the limitation to only the dedicated version, we can easily assume that same limitation does not apply to non-dedicated vehicles. For it to be otherwise, the rule would specify all transports, and it doesn't, just dedicated ones.

The limitation in question is: "...when it is deployed (talking about dedicated transports here) it can only carry the unit it was selected with." Latter it talks about after the game begins then the transport can carry anyone else

So, this limitation is only for dedicated vehicles, and not for non-dedicated ones, so IMHO this is easy and means any non-dedicated transport can carry anyone.

Edited for clarity

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/01/18 22:58:59


DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Now wheres the issue with deploying dedicated transport vehicles empty (for quicker/simpler borading) ?


A truckk is open-topped meaning you can attempt to shoot at any vehicle within LOS as-much as you want. If you are prohibited from shooting from a vehicle if it has driven too fast then thats fine.

Tank-hammers are quite cool.. do you get tank-hammer arms or do you have to mod them?

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in us
Dominar






Deploy the Trukk dedicated to some Boyz, deploy the Boyz across the board, deploy the Tankhuntas all within 6" of the Trukk.

First turn, the Boyz run off to do their thing, the Tankhuntas embark into the trukk, the trukk moves 12".

This is perfectly allowed.

Deploy a Battlewagon with Tankhuntas inside of it.

This is also perfectly allowed.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Traskel, this is still a debated issue. So, this is your opinion. Or you may have misunderstood his meaning. He is saying that dedicated vehicles must carry the unit it is bought for initially, and any non-dedicated vehicle can carry anyone initially.
While Traskel may have been a bit abrupt... I don't see anything in Hordicants post that indicates he was referring to *initial* deployment only.
He made a pretty clear statement, and his statement was true in 4E, but is not true in 5E.
   
Made in se
Fighter Ace





Sweden

I like where sourclams is going with this

As for my tankbustas I have bought the usual tankbustas from GW (after all, they look awesome!) and I am planning to mod more bustas so that I get a group of 12. Also I have a tankhammer WIP, but since the rules are only two tankhammers per squad I don't plan to make anymore (otherwise I would have had 12 bustas with tankhammers =p).

Furthermore I should probably say that I am building a Speed Freeks army and I am painting it very red.

I won't bother. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: