Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/19 19:21:09
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm playing down at my local GW the other day and I move my assualt Marines up to assault an enemy unit who is positioned in a ruined building. I position my models as close as possible (1" away) and in the assualt phase I roll double one's to see how far my marines can charge. My opponent immediatly begins to rejoice explaining I cannot charge his unit. I beleive he is incorrect, so we drag out the rulebook.
Page 11 of the small rule book states "...a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting."
My opponent is quick to point out that due to usage of the phrase within 1", a model can never be exactly 1" away. It must be at least 1", plus a fraction of an inch. If a model was exactly 1" away from and enemy model then it would be within 1", which is prohibited by the movement rules.
However I counter, Page 36 under ASSAULTING THROUGH COVER states "Note that if a model stopped 1" away from the enemy in the Movement or Shooting phase, it can Assualt even if its unit rolls a double 1 on its difficult terrain test."
My opponent rebutts that this rule is irrelevant since the movement rules do not allow you to stop 1" away from the enemy. Therefore if you roll double one's on a difficult terrain charge, you fail to reach the enemy.
So what gives here? Does the word within make a mess of the rules or not?
As a sort of related question, what about deployment when it says you must be more than 12" away from the middle line of the table. If both me and my opponent have to be MORE than 12" away from the centreline, then the total distance between deployed units must be at least 24" plus a fraction of an inch, right? This means that Hormaguants can't get a potential first turn charge anymore (6" move + 6" fleet roll + 12" beast charge = 24")? This applies to infiltrators also.
What are other peoples experiences?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/19 19:35:48
Subject: Re:Within 1"
|
 |
Boosting Ultramarine Biker
|
You can be an inch away from an enemy model without being WITHIN an inch. Thus this means that you can assault from an inch away even if you roll double ones. Within an inch means you cannot be less than an inch away from the enemy, it does not mean that you have to be an inch or less away.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/19 20:27:38
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions
Lost Carcosa
|
Sounds like your opponent needs to find out why the sell the rules in hardback.
|
Standing in the light, I see only darkness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/19 20:36:26
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
No violence required. Please see pg. 36 of the rulebook:
Assaulting through cover wrote:
...
Note that if a model stopped 1" away from the enemy in the Movement or Shooting phase, it can Assault even if its unit rolls a double 1 on its difficult terrain test.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/19 21:07:33
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions
Lost Carcosa
|
Its a sarcastic comment
I forgot my disclaimer that i do not actually support any kind of violence upon another person over a toy soldier game.
You will notice that the OP gave that exact response to his opponent and the oponent said it didnt count.
Hence my comment. All Disclaimers apply, of course.
|
Standing in the light, I see only darkness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 04:06:23
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
On page 3 of the little rulebook, under 'measuring distances' example, two models are 2" apart and are said to be 'within 2"'. So by RAW, it would seem that models cannot be'within 1"' which means they need to be a hair over 1" and on a dice roll of 1, they would not be able to assault. Hmm. Perhaps this is to represent the difficulty of moving through the dangerous terrain. a 1 in 6 chance of not finding good footing to attack seems reasonable to me.
Though I'd be curious how this is played out at GT's.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 04:24:39
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
A garden grove on Citadel Station
|
pavonis wrote:On page 3 of the little rulebook, under 'measuring distances' example, two models are 2" apart and are said to be 'within 2"'. So by RAW, it would seem that models cannot be'within 1"' which means they need to be a hair over 1" and on a dice roll of 1, they would not be able to assault. Hmm. Perhaps this is to represent the difficulty of moving through the dangerous terrain. a 1 in 6 chance of not finding good footing to attack seems reasonable to me.
Though I'd be curious how this is played out at GT's.
Given Janthkin's quote, I don't think that RAW matters as there is a clarifying part already.
|
ph34r's Forgeworld Phobos blog, current WIP: Iron Warriors and Skaven Tau
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 04:28:52
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
pavonis wrote:On page 3 of the little rulebook, under 'measuring distances' example, two models are 2" apart and are said to be 'within 2"'. So by RAW, it would seem that models cannot be'within 1"' which means they need to be a hair over 1" and on a dice roll of 1, they would not be able to assault. Hmm. Perhaps this is to represent the difficulty of moving through the dangerous terrain. a 1 in 6 chance of not finding good footing to attack seems reasonable to me.
Though I'd be curious how this is played out at GT's.
Except for the fact that there is a rule written specifically to allow the unit to assault if it had to stop 1" away from the enemy. Semantics aside, the rule is a 100% clear and there is absolutely no question on how this would be "ruled" (if it were to ever come up) in a Grand Tournament. If a unit is forced to stop moving because it will come within 1" in the movement or shooting phase it is still able to assault even if it rolls double '1's in the assault phase.
Any opponent who would argue this point is the type of person you should avoid playing at all costs in the future IMHO.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 05:38:50
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Battlefield Professional
Empire Of Denver, Urth
|
Yakface speaks the truth of it.
How utterly gamey some people can get. Don't bother playing with people who confront you in the middle of a game with things like this. Wierd ideas like this belong to the after-game meal.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/20 05:39:40
“It is impossible to speak in such a way that you cannot be misunderstood” -- Karl Popper |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 06:21:23
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
Exactly 1" away is not the same thing as within 1". You should have been able to assault. No-one I have ever played has had so little shame as to try to cheat so obviously.
As far as deployment goes, you are correct - if neither side moves, they are fractionally over 24" apart, and therefore bolters should not be able to hit the other side and Hormogaunts and Stormboyz should be unable to assault. Getting too carried away with this sort of thing slows the game down though. Best to deploy a bit over 12" from the midline so the ranges are crystal clear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 06:34:01
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You been "fooled" like most people here say. Within 1 is "less then 1" so you can be on exactly 1. The added rule that you can assult after double 1s only serves to solidify that fact.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 09:36:56
Subject: Re:Within 1"
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Following the picture on page 3 exactly 1" away would be ruled to be within 1" but page 36 says the opposite.
Page 36 basically overrules page 3 by being more specific.
Yes, the rules for "within" on page 3 could (and should) have been written more clearly.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 04:21:22
Subject: Within 1"
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yea, I would agree. I'm in this for the spirit of the rules, not the RAW. I think GW's #1 rule is to have fun and if the rules get in the way, toss them aside.
|
|
 |
 |
|