Switch Theme:

a few questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

This came up in a tourny.


1) How does a mantle of st ophilia on a cannoness interact with implant attack from a tyrant?

2) how do markerlights work in this case: I have 6 marker light hits, I use 3 to remove the cover save of a unit. I then use 2 to increase my BS. The target then goes to ground. Do they get a coversave now? Is it too late to use the last marker light hit?

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

frgsinwntr wrote:This came up in a tourny.


1) How does a mantle of st ophilia on a cannoness interact with implant attack from a tyrant?

2) how do markerlights work in this case: I have 6 marker light hits, I use 3 to remove the cover save of a unit. I then use 2 to increase my BS. The target then goes to ground. Do they get a coversave now? Is it too late to use the last marker light hit?



1) By my reading of the rules, if the attack by the Tyranid creature would be enough to cause instant death, the WH character would take two wounds (from implant attack), the first would be prevented from causing instant death by the Mantle while the second wound would still cause instant death.


2) Units choose to 'go to ground' after 'to hit' and 'wound' rolls are all completed. At this point it is much too late to nominate any further markerlight hits on the unit. Going to Ground simply adds +1 to the cover save, so yes, if you used 3 markerlights on a unit that was in 4+ cover and it then went 'to ground' it would get a 6+ cover save. However, the Tau player can always burn an extra markerlight hit ahead of time (assuming he has one available) to make the cover save modifier -4 just to make it pointless for the unit to even think about going to ground.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




1. Don't know

2. In this case, were there any wounds? Were all the markerlight hits from the same shooting squad (i.e. networked)? And if there were, did you (or whoever) roll to hit and/or wound?

It honestly all depends on the shooting order. As the target can go to ground after the first 3 cover save removals (hypothetically to a cover save of 0), and then decide to go to ground after wound rolls are made, so they would then have a 6+. But if you then applied more markerlight hits on the same squad after they went to ground (assuming this came from a different squad because the last squad shooting is done), you could then remove his go to ground effect with a single markerlight hit. I hope I am making sense as there are a lot of different scenarios that this could or could not apply.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

Yak, doesn't the mantle say they "only take one wound"?

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

frgsinwntr wrote:Yak, doesn't the mantle say they "only take one wound"?


Yes, instead of suffering instant death.

With implant attack an unsaved wound on a multi-wound model equals two wounds, each of which would presumably cause instant death in this scenario. The first one is reduced to a single wound by the mantle the other one inflicts instant death.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/23 17:38:53


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

implant: a model that does not pass its saving throw when wounded by a creature with implant attack suffers two wounds instead of one

Mantle: The first time the model wound take a wound that cause an instant death effect, only one wound is actually taken.

Umm I read it a little differently in this case... this is an instant death hit that would cause 2 wounds. Yes it also causes instant death but since I can only take one wound instead I read it as the cannoness would only take 1.

How does anyone else read this?

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I am with yak.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

frgsinwntr wrote:implant: a model that does not pass its saving throw when wounded by a creature with implant attack suffers two wounds instead of one

Mantle: The first time the model wound take a wound that cause an instant death effect, only one wound is actually taken.

Umm I read it a little differently in this case... this is an instant death hit that would cause 2 wounds. Yes it also causes instant death but since I can only take one wound instead I read it as the cannoness would only take 1.

How does anyone else read this?



Look at how Implant attack is worded. For each wound caused by the creature with implant attack, if the target model does not pass its saving throw, it then takes two wounds instead of one. If the creature's attacks qualify to cause instant death then technically it will be causing two wounds on the target both of which cause instant death.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

yes... but it doesn't actuallly cause wounds as normal. Before the wounds would be applied the mantle would kick in. Right? It says the first time a model "would take a wound"

I dunno... give me some time to reread

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






frgsinwntr wrote:yes... but it doesn't actuallly cause wounds as normal. Before the wounds would be applied the mantle would kick in. Right? It says the first time a model "would take a wound"

I dunno... give me some time to reread


In this case it's either 2 normal wounds or instant death, definitely not a single normal wound, these two don't cancel eachother out so it simply comes down to order, either the mantle operates first, reducing the instant death wound to a single normal wound, which is then doubled by implant attack or implant attack takes priority, doubling the number of instant death wounds and causing the mantle to be unable to counteract both.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

hmm so 2 wounds that don't cause instant death is also a possible outcome?

man this is a strange interaction

 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

Edit double... damned computer

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/26 14:08:25


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

Edit double post

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/26 14:08:09


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Hmmm.... Yak,

Does the second wound have the attributes of the first wound? Or is it just a generic 'wound'.

Wounds from No Retreat, or Gets Hot, etc are just generic wounds. I don't feel sure that this extra wound is the same as the one that causes it.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

wow... that is a totally different way of thinking about it I never thought about coredump...

hrm...

 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

yakface wrote:
2) Units choose to 'go to ground' after 'to hit' and 'wound' rolls are all completed. At this point it is much too late to nominate any further markerlight hits on the unit. Going to Ground simply adds +1 to the cover save, so yes, if you used 3 markerlights on a unit that was in 4+ cover and it then went 'to ground' it would get a 6+ cover save. However, the Tau player can always burn an extra markerlight hit ahead of time (assuming he has one available) to make the cover save modifier -4 just to make it pointless for the unit to even think about going to ground.



I usually agree with you Yak, but with all due respect, that ruling is ridiculous.
It's nowhere within the boundaries of the rule set.

First, you hit the unit with markerlights.
Then, you use them to turn a 4+ cover into NO cover. You can't have WORSE than NO COVER SAVE.
Even if you do, for some reason, "burn" another markerlight to make the save worse by one... It goes from "no cover save" to "No cover save, -1).
Now, he adjusts his BS, then shoots, hits, wounds.
Once that is done, his opponent decides to "Go to ground"
His earlier 4+ is negated, due to markerlights. Clearly (to me), this NEW 6+ save happens after the sequesce earlier and is, therefore, not affected by previous markerlights.
Therefore, he should get the 6+ save.



I'm standing in woods, behind a ruined wall.
Fishface points his LED Laser at me, so the Firewarriors next to him can see me.
They shoot and I hit the deck.
Suddenly, Ol' Fishface's LED is pointed at the area where I WAS standing and NOT where I currently am; lying in a fetal position under a bush.

Eric

Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

MagickalMemories wrote:

I usually agree with you Yak, but with all due respect, that ruling is ridiculous.
It's nowhere within the boundaries of the rule set.

First, you hit the unit with markerlights.
Then, you use them to turn a 4+ cover into NO cover. You can't have WORSE than NO COVER SAVE.
Even if you do, for some reason, "burn" another markerlight to make the save worse by one... It goes from "no cover save" to "No cover save, -1).
Now, he adjusts his BS, then shoots, hits, wounds.
Once that is done, his opponent decides to "Go to ground"
His earlier 4+ is negated, due to markerlights. Clearly (to me), this NEW 6+ save happens after the sequesce earlier and is, therefore, not affected by previous markerlights.
Therefore, he should get the 6+ save.



I'm standing in woods, behind a ruined wall.
Fishface points his LED Laser at me, so the Firewarriors next to him can see me.
They shoot and I hit the deck.
Suddenly, Ol' Fishface's LED is pointed at the area where I WAS standing and NOT where I currently am; lying in a fetal position under a bush.

Eric


The markerlight rule simply says:

"To impose a -1 penalty on any Cover Saves the marked unit may have from the effects of the unit's shooting. Multiple counters may be expended to impose a cumulative modifier."

You choose to use markerlights before rolling 'to hit'. So If I want to make a unit's cover save -4 and I have at least four markerlights to do so I can. 'Going to Ground' just adds +1 to their cover save. So if the normal cover save is 4+ the unit would get +1 for going to ground (3+) and -4 markerlight adjustments meaning no save possible.

This isn't anything wacky or crazy, just basic rules as far as I can tell.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

coredump wrote:Hmmm.... Yak,

Does the second wound have the attributes of the first wound? Or is it just a generic 'wound'.

Wounds from No Retreat, or Gets Hot, etc are just generic wounds. I don't feel sure that this extra wound is the same as the one that causes it.


Why not, it is a wound caused by a model in CC. There are similar other effects in the game (mainly in Apocalypse vs. Gargantuan creatures) where an unsaved wound from certain weapons causes D3 or D6 wounds instead of 1. These are still most certainly wounds caused by the model and I don't see any basis to play them any other way.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

yakface wrote:
coredump wrote:Hmmm.... Yak,

Does the second wound have the attributes of the first wound? Or is it just a generic 'wound'.

Wounds from No Retreat, or Gets Hot, etc are just generic wounds. I don't feel sure that this extra wound is the same as the one that causes it.


Why not, it is a wound caused by a model in CC. There are similar other effects in the game (mainly in Apocalypse vs. Gargantuan creatures) where an unsaved wound from certain weapons causes D3 or D6 wounds instead of 1. These are still most certainly wounds caused by the model and I don't see any basis to play them any other way.



Would have to agree. Nothing to indicate that the 2nd wound of an implant attack is of less quality than the 1st one.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: