Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 02:39:18
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
Witchhunters for instance, does the cannonness if she buys a celestian squad as a personal retinue, does she ever become untargetable in combat (such as she counts basically as a vet sergent instead of a independant character) ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 02:57:58
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.
|
Absolutly correct. On top of this, if you take her as a casualty before the squad is wiped out, you rob your opponent of a possible kill point.
|
I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!
The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 04:16:38
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Deadshane1 wrote:Absolutly correct. On top of this, if you take her as a casualty before the squad is wiped out, you rob your opponent of a possible kill point.
I don't think so, if you opt to have the retinue you have taken a retinue regardless of IC status or not (Upgrade Characters could legally take retinues anyway because the core rules simply indicate characters, and not the more specific Independant Characters, as being able to take a retinue.) As such you would follow the rules for retinues and kill points which indicate "If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
You needn't be an Independant Character to forfeit 2 kill points when accompanied by a retinue.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 04:28:29
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.
|
I dunno where the RULEBOOK or official FAQ's specifically back you up, but its probably definatly argueable.
The rulebook specifically states that when accompanied by a retinue, an IC is an upgrade character...no longer an IC. Obviously the IC and retinue are bought as a single unit. If you lose the IC before the retinue is gone he never re-obtaines his IC status and therefore never actually becomes a seperate unit in the game.
Whatever though, its an argueable point...until something FAQ's it one way or the other.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/26 04:34:28
I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!
The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 04:37:20
Subject: Re:If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
UK
|
P91 Of the BGB.
It doesnt need to be FAQ'ed, its already there & quite clear on the matter.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Friend of mine just sent me this:
"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ." Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!
Heh. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 04:38:23
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.
|
What does it say on page 91? I dont have my rules w/ me right now.
|
I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!
The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 04:45:48
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
The same thing that I said before so I doubt it will convince you.
"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
I personally feel this is sufficient, but obviously it might not be if it's unclear enough that atleast 1 person and potentially many more see it an entirely different way to me.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 04:46:05
Subject: Re:If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Page 91 is the 'Seize Ground' and 'Capture and Control' missions.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 04:51:08
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.
|
Drunkspleen wrote:The same thing that I said before so I doubt it will convince you.
"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
I personally feel this is sufficient, but obviously it might not be if it's unclear enough that atleast 1 person and potentially many more see it an entirely different way to me.
No need to get so uppity, I wasnt aware of the rulebook specifically spelling this point out. If this is the complete rule and its specifically addressing retinues in the kill point missions, then you would indeed be correct. Which I'm glad I know about now.
I appreciate it, I'll check out the specific rule myself when I get home.
|
I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!
The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 06:44:17
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Deadshane1 wrote:Drunkspleen wrote:The same thing that I said before so I doubt it will convince you.
"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
I personally feel this is sufficient, but obviously it might not be if it's unclear enough that atleast 1 person and potentially many more see it an entirely different way to me.
No need to get so uppity, I wasnt aware of the rulebook specifically spelling this point out. If this is the complete rule and its specifically addressing retinues in the kill point missions, then you would indeed be correct. Which I'm glad I know about now.
I appreciate it, I'll check out the specific rule myself when I get home.
I apologise for coming off rude, I didn't intend to at all, I just assumed you had already seen it in my earlier post and for whatever reason felt it still didn't satisfy your arguments for why the character would not be worth an extra kill point.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 09:26:34
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Drunkspleen wrote:"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
You needn't be an Independant Character to forfeit 2 kill points when accompanied by a retinue.
While this is technically true, are there any examples in any of the codices where an upgrade character can have a retinue? It seems a bit odd.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 10:02:35
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Webbe wrote:Drunkspleen wrote:"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
You needn't be an Independant Character to forfeit 2 kill points when accompanied by a retinue.
While this is technically true, are there any examples in any of the codices where an upgrade character can have a retinue? It seems a bit odd.
Hive Tyrant with Tyrant Guard.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 10:20:36
Subject: Re:If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Adolescent Youth with Potential
Outer Fringes of the Known Universe
|
That is the main reason why I take a retinue with my Grey Knight Grand Master. He protected by the retinue and can't be singled out in hth. Lovely against Greater deamons.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/26 10:21:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 15:51:32
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rule for retinue is within the Box dealing with ICs and joining units. The box follows after the heading for ICs.
Within that box, they often refer to ICs as simply 'characters'.
The retinue rules clearly state that after losing a retinue, the character reverts *back* to being an IC.
By the rules, the retinue situation only applies to ICs with retinues.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 16:30:27
Subject: Re:If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Boosting Ultramarine Biker
|
This may be a bit off topic, but one thing I have been unsure of is if a squad of warlocks taken with an eldar farseer counted as a retinue/bodyguard. You may only take a squad of locks if you take the farseer, but they are not specifically stated to be a retinue. Nor does it even say that you must deploy the farseer with the warlock squad. Skimmed through the FAQ's and rulebook and couldn't find anything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 16:34:07
Subject: Re:If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Axyl wrote:This may be a bit off topic, but one thing I have been unsure of is if a squad of warlocks taken with an eldar farseer counted as a retinue/bodyguard. You may only take a squad of locks if you take the farseer, but they are not specifically stated to be a retinue. Nor does it even say that you must deploy the farseer with the warlock squad. Skimmed through the FAQ's and rulebook and couldn't find anything.
The warlocks are not a retinue. They are a separate unit, and the Farseer does not have to stay with them.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 16:40:00
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
A DE Archon/Drachon can take a retinue of Warriors or Incubi or a combination of both.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 17:13:35
Subject: Re:If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
UK
|
Another example of retinues, farsight & his 6man crisis suit team. Wussy.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Friend of mine just sent me this:
"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ." Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!
Heh. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/26 20:01:55
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Deadshane1 wrote:Drunkspleen wrote:The same thing that I said before so I doubt it will convince you.
"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
I personally feel this is sufficient, but obviously it might not be if it's unclear enough that atleast 1 person and potentially many more see it an entirely different way to me.
No need to get so uppity, I wasnt aware of the rulebook specifically spelling this point out. If this is the complete rule and its specifically addressing retinues in the kill point missions, then you would indeed be correct. Which I'm glad I know about now.
I appreciate it, I'll check out the specific rule myself when I get home.
I apologise for coming off rude, I didn't intend to at all, I just assumed you had already seen it in my earlier post and for whatever reason felt it still didn't satisfy your arguments for why the character would not be worth an extra kill point.
You didn't come off as being rude to me... and I've got a far lower tolerance for most when it comes to what seems rude.
Plus, you'd also clearly quoted the rule once before. So, if you WERE a little annoyed, it was understandable.
Definitely not uppity.
Eric
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/27 00:53:20
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
coredump wrote:The rule for retinue is within the Box dealing with ICs and joining units. The box follows after the heading for ICs.
Within that box, they often refer to ICs as simply 'characters'.
The retinue rules clearly state that after losing a retinue, the character reverts *back* to being an IC.
By the rules, the retinue situation only applies to ICs with retinues.
This is true, but only the rules for counting as an upgrade character while with a squad and reverting to IC status are within this section, but the rules regarding characters and retinues and how many kill points they are worth is later on in the mission type rules, and still uses the more broad character only, meaning if a codex puts a character in a retinue that unit is worth 2 kill points.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/27 02:13:16
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Sickening Carrion
Wa. state
|
Webbe wrote:Drunkspleen wrote:"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
You needn't be an Independant Character to forfeit 2 kill points when accompanied by a retinue.
While this is technically true, are there any examples in any of the codices where an upgrade character can have a retinue? It seems a bit odd.
DA techmarine and his servitors are a retinue. The techmarine is a elite that doesn't take a FOC slot.
|
Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/27 04:15:15
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
The best part of retinues is that you can have hidden IC weapons.
Grey Knight grand master can use hidden force weapon for instance.
|
Hi, I'm Mike Leon. You may remember me from such totally metal action adventure novels as KILL KILL KILL and RATED R |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/27 08:35:50
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
yakface wrote:Webbe wrote:Drunkspleen wrote:"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
You needn't be an Independant Character to forfeit 2 kill points when accompanied by a retinue.
While this is technically true, are there any examples in any of the codices where an upgrade character can have a retinue? It seems a bit odd.
Hive Tyrant with Tyrant Guard.
I thought a Hive Tyrant with Tyrant Guard was only 1 KP since the Tyrant is not an IC and a tyrant with guard is just 1 unit.
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/27 09:56:36
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
SeattleDV8 wrote:Webbe wrote:Drunkspleen wrote:"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
You needn't be an Independant Character to forfeit 2 kill points when accompanied by a retinue.
While this is technically true, are there any examples in any of the codices where an upgrade character can have a retinue? It seems a bit odd.
DA techmarine and his servitors are a retinue. The techmarine is a elite that doesn't take a FOC slot.
Where does it say retinue?
As far as I can see they are just a unit with a techmarine and 0-4 servitors.
Red_Lives wrote:yakface wrote:Webbe wrote:Drunkspleen wrote:"If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each".
You needn't be an Independant Character to forfeit 2 kill points when accompanied by a retinue.
While this is technically true, are there any examples in any of the codices where an upgrade character can have a retinue? It seems a bit odd.
Hive Tyrant with Tyrant Guard.
I thought a Hive Tyrant with Tyrant Guard was only 1 KP since the Tyrant is not an IC and a tyrant with guard is just 1 unit.
The Tyranid FAQ explains that the Hive Tyrant counts as an upgrade character while with his retinue. This means they are worth a KP each according to page 91. Good example BTW Yak.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/27 22:46:25
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
According to the rules for retinues in the BRB, you need to be an IC to have a retinue as defined in the BRB.
A Hive tyrant is not an IC, it will not 'revert back' to one. it does not count as a separate KP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/27 23:03:26
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
coredump wrote:According to the rules for retinues in the BRB, you need to be an IC to have a retinue as defined in the BRB.
A Hive tyrant is not an IC, it will not 'revert back' to one. it does not count as a separate KP.
So then as it's not an IC it can't have a retinue, because according to the BRB you need to be an IC to have a retinue... It clearly has a retinue and is described in a FAQ as operating as an upgrade character, meaning it follows the rules for retinues and kill points which state that a "character" note that it's not an IC, "and his retinue" are worth 1 kill point each, for a total of two.
The fact that codex tyranids decided to give a retinue to a non IC is neither here nor there, as the rules clearly state any character and not just ICs will be worth a point as well as their retinue when being accompanied.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/28 03:45:24
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
So.....
1. a Cannoness who takes a retinue of celestians is worth 2kp if you kill the retinue first, and only 1 kp if the Cannoness dies first?
2. Does it matter if its the same round of combat that both selections die?
3. the powerfist doesn't get to pick her out until the retinue is dead
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/28 05:59:02
Subject: If the codex says if you buy a retinue, then the IC loses its IC status.....
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Sazzlefrats wrote:So.....
1. a Cannoness who takes a retinue of celestians is worth 2kp if you kill the retinue first, and only 1 kp if the Cannoness dies first?
2. Does it matter if its the same round of combat that both selections die?
3. the powerfist doesn't get to pick her out until the retinue is dead
1. No, regardless of order the cannoness is always worth a single Kill Point and her retinue is always worth a seperate single kill point.
2. N/A per answer to 1
3. Correct, no attacks can be targetted directly at the Cannoness but only at her entire collective unit in close combat.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|