Switch Theme:

Waaagh Banner and Warboss  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stabbin' Skarboy





Norfolk, UK

Hi there, hope this doesn't open up a big can of worms, but I couldn't find any useful answers from the 12 page "his unit" mess of a thread...


If a Warboss, Big Mek or other IC joins a unit of Nobz including a Waaagh Banner, does the IC get +1WS?

Nat, the Reactor Mek

Pariah Press wrote:Help! Jervis just jumped through my window, wearing a ninja costume! He's taking my 4th edition rule book! He's taking my 4th edition rule book!

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Nuclear Mekanik wrote:Hi there, hope this doesn't open up a big can of worms, but I couldn't find any useful answers from the 12 page "his unit" mess of a thread...


If a Warboss, Big Mek or other IC joins a unit of Nobz including a Waaagh Banner, does the IC get +1WS?




The Waaagh Banner is defined as a piece of wargear not a "special rule" in the codex and as such applies to all models in the unit including joined ICs. This is the stance we took in the INAT FAQ.


Of course, there are other valid interpretations depending on how you interpret the level of specificity needed in the wording for an IC joining a unit to be able to utilize a unit's special rule and how you interpret the term "special rule".


If you interpret "special rule" to mean any and all rules outside of the rulebook, then even the Waaagh Banner would fall under this heading. And if you interpret the specificity needed for a joining IC to be able to gain a unit's special rule akin to the examples presented in the rulebook (the 'Stubborn' USR), then no the Waaagh Banner would not apply to joined ICs.


So even though there are multiple interpretations, I think against 95% of players and judges you'll encounter (at least) no one will have a problem with the Waaagh Banner applying to a joined IC.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Stabbin' Skarboy





Norfolk, UK

Thanks Yakdude.

Nat, the Reactor Mek

Pariah Press wrote:Help! Jervis just jumped through my window, wearing a ninja costume! He's taking my 4th edition rule book! He's taking my 4th edition rule book!

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: