Switch Theme:

Why not to use a Lash Sorceror  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

With the Adepticon FAQ out, there's a notable change to lash:

Can't move a pinned unit.

Logic being that the unit lashed makes a normal move, and that if a unit is pinned it can't move, so the lash doesn't make them move.

That being said, in addition to the obvious problem of having a sorceror joined to a squad [has to lash what the squad shoots at], if you shoot an enemy squad with anything that causes damage, they could go to ground, and prevent you from lashing them!

While still useful [they voluntarily pinned themselves!] keep in mind Lash does certain things like pull enemy units into assault range and push them off objectives that wins games, so being pinned might not always be the best.


40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in de
Ladies Love the Vibro-Cannon Operator






Hamburg

There are some problems running a Sorcerer w/ lash effectively. If he's on his own he eventually can be targeted.
If he joins a unit, the lash plus the shooting of the unit must be made simultaneously so that first moving the unit and then shooting the unit by the squad the Sorcerer joined is not possible.

Former moderator 40kOnline

Lanchester's square law - please obey in list building!

Illumini: "And thank you for not finishing your post with a "" I'm sorry, but after 7200 's that has to be the most annoying sign-off ever."

Armies: Eldar, Necrons, Blood Angels, Grey Knights; World Eaters (30k); Bloodbound; Cryx, Circle, Cyriss 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Scotland

So what this FAQ is saying is that if an enemy troop choice is sitting on top of an objective they can't be moved by the Lash if they go to ground...

Sounds odd to me... rule wise and fluffy wise too.

The Lash is supposed to work by confusing and disorientating the enemy making them stumble forward into whatever position you want them to be in. Why would lying flat on the ground grant their minds immunity to the lash's sisnister effect.

poor decision imho

p.s. Why not use the Lash first 'then' shoot them?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/30 10:12:19


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




That FAQ is almost as dumb as lash itself.
   
Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

The INAT faq is clarifying the GW faq statement:
Q. Can a unit be affected by Lash of submission more than once in the same turn?
A. Yes, as long as it does not fail its pinning test.

How would you propose it works using GWs FAQ? A unit can be lashed while pinned, but if it fails it's lash pincheck it can't be lashed again? What is different about being pinned by lash?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/30 14:48:58


   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

sounds more like a direct contradiction.

Note: you cannot respond to lash with going to ground. It does not hit or cause wounds and thus going to ground isn't an option. You could use a prince [or an UNattached sorceror, who will probably die very soon] to move the unit, then shoot at it.

But if a sorceror is joined to a squad, lash and the squad's shooting happen simultaneously, and thus responding to the squad's fire by going to ground will screw lash [according to INAT FAQ].

You could also lash with the sorceror and opt not to fire with the squad - but then you rob yourself of firepower.

Though to be honest I'd forgotten about the original GW FAQ, which does in fact offer that contradiction. As legit as Yakface is, I think the GW-released FAQ should probably take precedence....

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Spellbound wrote:sounds more like a direct contradiction.

Note: you cannot respond to lash with going to ground. It does not hit or cause wounds and thus going to ground isn't an option. You could use a prince [or an UNattached sorceror, who will probably die very soon] to move the unit, then shoot at it.

But if a sorceror is joined to a squad, lash and the squad's shooting happen simultaneously, and thus responding to the squad's fire by going to ground will screw lash [according to INAT FAQ].

You could also lash with the sorceror and opt not to fire with the squad - but then you rob yourself of firepower.

Though to be honest I'd forgotten about the original GW FAQ, which does in fact offer that contradiction. As legit as Yakface is, I think the GW-released FAQ should probably take precedence....



I'm a bit confused by some of the things being said in this thread. Just to clarify, the INAT FAQ rules that you are allowed to lash a unit that has 'gone to ground' (voluntarily or otherwise) because the rules for going to ground clearly state that they "react normally to enemy actions".

GW's ruling was written in 4th edition and as such creates a ridiculous contradiction where (RAW) a unit can't be lashed only if they failed a pinning check from another lash. If the unit was forced to 'go to ground' either voluntarily or by failing a pinning check from another source then the basic 'gone to ground' rules would still apply and they would react normally to enemy actions.

GW often puts out FAQ answers from previous editions and then doesn't update them when newer rules come out and create a really strange contradiction.

We weren't trying to 'overrule' the official FAQ, but just recognize that their ruling was originally made in 4th edition and when literally applied in 5th edition it creates a situation that is pretty darn ludicrous. As such, we think the best option in this case is to essentially ignore the part of their ruling that doesn't make sense.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/30 15:29:10


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

Hehe, so not a single person in this thread had actually read the two relevant FAQs prior to this discussion, including myself.

I <3 the internet.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: