| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/03 00:36:13
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I have read the 5th edition rule book, but I am a little confused about the new rules. How do they work as far as another unit being able to take a ride in a transport?
If I had a Wave Serpent that was originally assigned to a squad of Dire Avengers that deployed on the outside of the Wave Serpent at another location during the deployment phase; and the Wave Serpent was deployed and parked next to a squad of Harliquens on the first turn; could the Harlequins jump in the Wave Serpent on the Eldar player's first turn and be transported to another location.
I know that they will not be able to jump out until the Eldar player's next turn and that the Harlequins cannot start off deployed in the Wave Serpent. I was under the impression that a unit did not have to start off in a dedicated transport assigned to them and under the new transport rules another unit not assigned to the transport can jump into the transport once the game's turns begin at any time and be transported to another location as needed and dicated by the controlling player. So am I correct that I can embark and transport Harlies from the start of the game without being able to disembark them on the first turn?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/03 01:04:08
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yes
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/03 13:58:31
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
One thing to bear in mind tho, is that the vehicle cannot move flat out on any turn you embark or plan to disembark from the transport. So the turn you get in and the turn you plan to get out, you would be limited to 12" moves.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/06 22:18:14
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Allegan, Mi
|
ummm....I will check later, but I am pretty sure that only the unit that a vehicle is assigned to can use that vehicle.
You can not share vehicles, I cannot drop off my unit of orc boys down field and then go back and pick up a unit of mega armored nobs with the same trukk.
Ok I forgot I put my rules up on my file server....there is a caviot to the rules specific to dedicated transports.
If you pay for the vehicle as a dedicated transport for the unit (thus not taking up a vehicle slot in you army comp) then that unit is the only unit that can use the vehicle.
e.g. My boys units have the option of taking a trukk as a dedicated transport, and as such it does not take up a army spot. That unit is the only unit that can load that trukk the rest of the battle.
So if the wave serphant can be purchased as a dedicated transport for the Dire Avengers and you do that, then you can only load the dire avengers on that Wave serphant. If you tried to put the Harliquens on that Wave Serphant I would as then if your amry meet its criteria as you would now consequently be over your limit on fast attack slots...(or if you get a price reduction via taking it as a dedicated trans for the dires I would ask if you payed the extra points for it not being dedictated).
again page 67 Main RB.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/06 22:32:59
"Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!" cries she with silent lips.
"Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest-post to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/06 22:26:18
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
bluemeenie wrote:ummm....I will check later, but I am pretty sure that only the unit that a vehicle is assigned to can use that vehicle.
You can not share vehicles, I cannot drop off my unit of orc boys down field and then go back and pick up a unit of mega armored nobs with the same trukk.
No that was a 4th ed rule that no long exists.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/06 22:29:41
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
... unless your codex has a caveat that specifically says that dedicated transports are bought for the exclusive use of that unit (like IG - currently - or DH).
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/06 22:32:32
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
What keeps them from being deployed in the (other unit's) transport during set up?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/06 22:33:55
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Allegan, Mi
|
Tri wrote:bluemeenie wrote:ummm....I will check later, but I am pretty sure that only the unit that a vehicle is assigned to can use that vehicle.
You can not share vehicles, I cannot drop off my unit of orc boys down field and then go back and pick up a unit of mega armored nobs with the same trukk.
No that was a 4th ed rule that no long exists.
No that is in a little box on page 67 of the 5th edition rule book. Turn there and look it up.
|
"Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!" cries she with silent lips.
"Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest-post to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/06 22:34:59
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Allegan, Mi
|
Augustus wrote:What keeps them from being deployed in the (other unit's) transport during set up?
That it was bought as a dedicated transport during the army creation.
|
"Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!" cries she with silent lips.
"Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest-post to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/06 23:13:45
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
bluemeenie wrote:ummm....I will check later, but I am pretty sure that only the unit that a vehicle is assigned to can use that vehicle.
You can not share vehicles, I cannot drop off my unit of orc boys down field and then go back and pick up a unit of mega armored nobs with the same trukk.
Ok I forgot I put my rules up on my file server....there is a caviot to the rules specific to dedicated transports.
If you pay for the vehicle as a dedicated transport for the unit (thus not taking up a vehicle slot in you army comp) then that unit is the only unit that can use the vehicle.
e.g. My boys units have the option of taking a trukk as a dedicated transport, and as such it does not take up a army spot. That unit is the only unit that can load that trukk the rest of the battle.
So if the wave serphant can be purchased as a dedicated transport for the Dire Avengers and you do that, then you can only load the dire avengers on that Wave serphant. If you tried to put the Harliquens on that Wave Serphant I would as then if your amry meet its criteria as you would now consequently be over your limit on fast attack slots...(or if you get a price reduction via taking it as a dedicated trans for the dires I would ask if you payed the extra points for it not being dedictated).
again page 67 Main RB.
bluemeenie wrote:Tri wrote:bluemeenie wrote:ummm....I will check later, but I am pretty sure that only the unit that a vehicle is assigned to can use that vehicle.
You can not share vehicles, I cannot drop off my unit of orc boys down field and then go back and pick up a unit of mega armored nobs with the same trukk.
No that was a 4th ed rule that no long exists.
No that is in a little box on page 67 of the 5th edition rule book. Turn there and look it up.
??? Dedicated Transports 2nd pargraph
"The only limitations of a dedicated transport is that when it is deployed it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters). After the game begins it can then transport any friendly infantry units ...."
So you can't start with some one didn't select it inside (other then joined IC) but first turn on ward any one can use it
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/06 23:41:32
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions
Lost Carcosa
|
Yeah its that clear in the rules, as Tri has pointed out.
|
Standing in the light, I see only darkness. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/07 01:20:17
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Allegan, Mi
|
damn....that is just weird...my mind completely blocked that out...
Well it's only hurt me so far
|
"Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!" cries she with silent lips.
"Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest-post to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/08 20:01:31
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Nimble Pistolier
|
id say yes but why would you do that at all?
|
501 Agathonian Grenadiers
Blood Angels strike force
Glory for the first man to die!
the caption says " when there is something scary at the front, put something even scarier at the back." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/08 20:18:39
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
UK
|
don_mondo wrote:One thing to bear in mind tho, is that the vehicle cannot move flat out on any turn you embark or plan to disembark from the transport. So the turn you get in and the turn you plan to get out, you would be limited to 12" moves.
Que Star Engines
Thatll help with that kind of tactic although its not amazingly useful to travel 24" but not get a conceal save of 4+ (as you need to move flatout @ 24" in the movement phase to get it methinks)
As for the actual use of transporting harlies like that..well, thier weak & are generally alot cheaper w/out a shadowseer.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Friend of mine just sent me this:
"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ." Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!
Heh. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/08 20:36:10
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm loving the new transport rule allowing this. Playing DE, I rarely have many, if any, transports left. It sure is nice to have a remaining transport go and pick up a squad, usually my HQ, from one side of the table to carry it to the far side where it can be used.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/08 20:52:08
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Razerous wrote:don_mondo wrote:One thing to bear in mind tho, is that the vehicle cannot move flat out on any turn you embark or plan to disembark from the transport. So the turn you get in and the turn you plan to get out, you would be limited to 12" moves. Que Star Engines Thatll help with that kind of tactic although its not amazingly useful to travel 24" but not get a conceal save of 4+ (as you need to move flatout @ 24" in the movement phase to get it methinks) As for the actual use of transporting harlies like that..well, thier weak & are generally alot cheaper w/out a shadowseer. ? fast skimmers already move 24" ... star engins boost add 12" for a total of 36" but you cannot embark or disembark when you use them (so you might as well move flat out any way)
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/02/08 20:54:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/08 21:13:35
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
I think what Razerour was saying is that it is still possible to embark a unit, move 12" during the moement phase, and then use Star Engines during the shooting phase for 12" more, with the drawback being that you wouldn't get the 4+ save for moving flat out (ie over 12" during your movement phase). IOW, a way to get around the limitations on movement imposed by embarking into the transport that turn.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/08 21:34:21
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
and i post because
"Star engines: the vehicle has a number of secondary engins that can be used to boost it to breakneck speeds. It may move an additional 12" in lieu of shooting, but troops may not embark or disembark that turn"
So it doesn't matter how slowly you are moving as long as you want to use the star engines no ones getting on or off.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/09 14:34:51
Subject: Transports taking another Unit for a Ride
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Well, then, looks like ain't noboby gonna move more than 12" (13" Ork red paint) if they embark a unit.
Thanks Tri!
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|