Switch Theme:

Ku'Gath - Nurgling Infestation?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores




Connecticut

Just picked up the chaos daemon codex, was wondering about this rule; Nurgling Infestation on Ku'Gath..

It states that he may roll to create (deep strike) a "new" unit of nurglings on a single base within 12" of himself. Does that literally mean, a brand new free unit of nurglings, or only those that are in reserve? Also would they count as a kill point when killed, and most importantly can he use this ability while locked in close combat?

One other thing that concerns me, Breath of Chaos does not state that it's an assault weapon. I'm assuming it was meant as so, or states this somewhere else?

Thanks in advance, I'm sure I'll have more questions shortly ;P

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/02/05 16:55:02


Cheers 
   
Made in ca
Crazed Cultist of Khorne




Canerda

Well to your first question he creates a new nurgling base(potentially) each turn which is a new unit in itself worth a kill point and all which always kinda depressed me :( as to the second yes its an assault weapon like most other flamers.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Yes to everything about Infestation (be careful that you don't position it too close, otherwise there's a 1/3 chance of a truly free killpoint as the Nurglings go splat on the enemy). Your eyes do not deceive you.

We can assume that it's an Assault weapon, but the Codex does not say. There is so far no FAQ for Chaos Daemons.

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?community=&catId=cat410004&categoryId=1000018&pIndex=1&aId=3400019&start=2
   
Made in us
Wicked Warp Spider





South Carolina

All shooting psychic attacks count as assult wep unless othwise stated (cant find my rulebook for page number).

"I suppose if we couldn't laugh at things that don't make sence, we couldn't react to a lot of life." - Calvin and Hobbes

DukeRustfield - There's nothing wrong with beer and pretzels. I'm pretty sure they are the most important members of the food group. 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)

i would say no under a simple basis, spore mines fired from a biovore do not count towards kill points, so i would guess this is pretty much the same thing.


breath of chaos, not sure how to handle it since its not FAQ'ed yet, but being on a MC chances are it is assult.

Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







For Breath of Chaos, because of how page 33, "Disallowed Assaults" is written, firing a weapon without a type (or an ordance weapon, for that matter) does not prevent a unit from assaulting in the assault phase. It's sloppy writing, and it would be best if GW issued an errata declaring Breath an assault weapon, but there it is.
   
Made in us
Wrack Sufferer





Bat Country

JD21290 wrote:i would say no under a simple basis, spore mines fired from a biovore do not count towards kill points, so i would guess this is pretty much the same thing.


Wait wait... I thought spore mines were worth kill points and that is why they are even more terrible than last edition.

Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Typeline wrote:
JD21290 wrote:i would say no under a simple basis, spore mines fired from a biovore do not count towards kill points, so i would guess this is pretty much the same thing.


Wait wait... I thought spore mines were worth kill points and that is why they are even more terrible than last edition.
You are correct in that there is no official document that says they aren't and the way the rules are written would make them one, I'm yet to see anyone anywhere play RAW on this though.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: