Switch Theme:

Flechettes and death or glory  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el




All over the U.S.

Don't know if this has been covered but figured it was worth the asking.

Does the flechette option on Tau tanks apply in death or glory during tank shock?

If so, "Does it prevent the auto hit if the model is destroyed?


Your opinions pls


Edited last sentence

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/08 02:13:17


Officially elevated by St. God of Yams to the rank of Scholar of the Church of the Children of the Eternal Turtle Pie at 11:42:36 PM 05/01/09

If they are too stupid to live, why make them?

In the immortal words of Socrates, I drank what??!

Tau-*****points(You really don't want to know)  
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






The tau codex states that a model "attacking the vehicle in close combat" can potentially suffer a wound from flechette dischargers.

While Death or Glory isn't specifically 'in' a close combat as the two units are never locked, I would consider it to satisfy the flechette discharger rules if you choose to make melee attacks for your Death or Glory.

The Tau codex then goes on to state that the attacking unit is wounded "before resolving its attacks" so on this point is quite clear that, assuming a unit making a melee Death or Glory can trigger flechette dischargers then if he suffered a wound from them which killed him his Death or Glory attack would automatically fail.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/08 05:15:06


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




What if I decide to DOG your tank with the Lascannon from the devistator squad you're trying to tank shock?
or more appropriately from the plasma pistol rather than the power sword my tac sergant has?

I'm not going to bang on the front armor with the barrel, I'm going to shoot you.
It's an attack that automatically hits, it's not a close combat attack. You get the DOG hit, the flechettes don't go off.

(and you're never going to be locked in combat with a tau skimmer)
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Kyvik wrote:What if I decide to DOG your tank with the Lascannon from the devistator squad you're trying to tank shock?
or more appropriately from the plasma pistol rather than the power sword my tac sergant has?

I'm not going to bang on the front armor with the barrel, I'm going to shoot you.
It's an attack that automatically hits, it's not a close combat attack. You get the DOG hit, the flechettes don't go off.

(and you're never going to be locked in combat with a tau skimmer)


Good point on the locking, since you can't lock with non walker vehicles I suppose the only way to reliably say you are "in close combat" with one is if you are making close combat attacks against it.

I suppose I wasn't clear enough as I didn't mention this distinction, but the Death or Glory rules quite specifically allow for you to opt whether you want to make a ranged or melee attack, obviously the ranged ones wouldn't apply to the flechette dischargers and as such I was only referring to the melee attacks. If you choose to use a melee weapon for the attack (or the models base Str characteristic) then the flechette dischargers will come in to play, but you are correct in that they would definitely have no effect on a model shooting the vehicle in a Death or Glory regardless of the ranged weapon's type.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el




All over the U.S.

Thanks guys, this is pretty much what my take on it was.
There are some who argue it's completely different because you hit automatically and therefore there was no assault or that the infantry has to assault and that the tank is technically the one assaulting.

Officially elevated by St. God of Yams to the rank of Scholar of the Church of the Children of the Eternal Turtle Pie at 11:42:36 PM 05/01/09

If they are too stupid to live, why make them?

In the immortal words of Socrates, I drank what??!

Tau-*****points(You really don't want to know)  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Nope, the wording is pretty clear. The DoG is a CC attack, and that is what triggers the launchers.

I don't think it should work that way... but it does.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Coredump, where do you read that?
No where does it state that in the wording of the rule:

The attack may be either shot from a weapon carried by the model or a single close combat attack using any weapon carried including grenades.

Delete this if it's violating rules


   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el




All over the U.S.

No violation, this forum is about discussing the rules. It is perfectly acceptable to question source as long as you don't get insulting about it.

Officially elevated by St. God of Yams to the rank of Scholar of the Church of the Children of the Eternal Turtle Pie at 11:42:36 PM 05/01/09

If they are too stupid to live, why make them?

In the immortal words of Socrates, I drank what??!

Tau-*****points(You really don't want to know)  
   
Made in us
Nimble Pistolier





no. flachetts discharge on the enemy's turn not urs. and since ur talking about death or glory you must have tank shocked them so that means its ur turn

501 Agathonian Grenadiers
Blood Angels strike force

Glory for the first man to die!

the caption says " when there is something scary at the front, put something even scarier at the back." 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Angry Commissar wrote:No. Flechettes discharge on the enemy's turn not yours, and since you are talking about Death or Glory, then you must have Tank Shocked them. So that means it's your turn.

There, fixed that for you.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




focusedfire wrote:No violation, this forum is about discussing the rules. It is perfectly acceptable to question source as long as you don't get insulting about it.


Sorry, I ment to focus that on the rule part of my post. It's a direct quote from the rule book.

In short, you choose whether you use a close combat weapon or a ranged weapon, then you go against front armor to determine whether you penetrate.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It says you make a "close combat attack", so the flechettes would activate against a PK or PF attack, but not a lascannon shot I would say
   
Made in us
Dominar






I have a few questions for clarification:

1. Do flechette launchers state their initiative order? As in, before models attack, Initiative 4, anything like that.

2. Do flechette launchers specify which models they hit?

As I remember they go off before you attack, in which case they could theoretically kill the model before it hits with its DoG attack.

However, I don't recall them ever singling a model out, so the opposing player could simply allocate to different units.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




nosferatu1001 wrote:It says you make a "close combat attack", so the flechettes would activate against a PK or PF attack, but not a lascannon shot I would say


As I posted before, the rulebook very specifically, and I am quoting directly here, states "The model nominated for this heroicc duty makes a single attack against the incoming tank. Even if the weapon used is assault 3 (there are no assault 3 cc weapons as that's a ranged modifier, not cc), for example, or the model is normally allowed more than one attack, can either be shot from a weapon carried by the model, or a single close combat attack using any weapon carried"

never says it must be a cc attack, with the exception of you chosing to make it a CC attack by using your PK / PF or other weapon of similar description.

So yes, if my dev or similar squad gets tank shocked by a Tau skimmer, you better believe that my first course of action is going to be blowing the cockpit out of the thing with my lascannon. The risk being, if I miss or don't stop the vehicle (4/5/6), the cannon dies. That's a 50/50 chance of losing the marine once you've penetrated the armor.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






sourclams wrote:I have a few questions for clarification:

1. Do flechette launchers state their initiative order? As in, before models attack, Initiative 4, anything like that.
Drunkspleen wrote:The Tau codex then goes on to state that the attacking unit is wounded "before resolving its attacks" so on this point is quite clear that, assuming a unit making a melee Death or Glory can trigger flechette dischargers then if he suffered a wound from them which killed him his Death or Glory attack would automatically fail.


sourclams wrote:2. Do flechette launchers specify which models they hit?
"Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat will be wounded on a 4+" from the Flechette Discharger rules in the Tau Codex. So the wound is given to the attacking model directly rather than his unit, I believe this is specific enough.

The Angry Commissar wrote:no. flachetts discharge on the enemy's turn not urs. and since ur talking about death or glory you must have tank shocked them so that means its ur turn
There is absolutely no basis for this statement in the Flechette Discharger rules.

Kyvik wrote:The risk being, if I miss or don't stop the vehicle (4/5/6), the cannon dies. That's a 50/50 chance of losing the marine once you've penetrated the armor.
Just a quick note to ensure you aren't confused when a tank shock comes up in game although it's probably just an oversight, but a result of 2 on a penetrating hit, Crew Stunned, would also save the Death or Glorying model as the tank stops immediately.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/08 23:33:42


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Kyvik: I was not clear. Yes DoG can be shooting, and thus are not really part of this discussion. (Since Flechettes dont' trigger at all.)

When using DoG and not shooting, it is plainly stated that you are making a "Close Combat Attack". Flechette launchers says it triggers on any model that performs a close combat attack.

It affects the specific model that attacked is the one that gets wounded, and happens before it attacks.

So, if you get tank shocked you can DoG
IF you DoG with a ranged weapon, everything works as normal.
If you DoG with a CC weapon, the flechette launchers trigger. If the flechette launchers wound, and you fail the save. the model dies, and not DoG attack is possible.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Coredump - I'll go with that definition. The rules are pretty clear as to CC or Ranged.

Yeah Spleen, I wasn't thinking about that. Good point
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: