Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/09 16:14:35
Subject: Multiple Initiatives
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hello all - I'm new to the forums, so if this question has been answered elsewhere, please direct me to the right place:
During an assault where there are multiple units AND multiple initiatives, who gets to attack? Is it based on who was able to attack just before any dice are rolled, or is it based on who is still within attack range after the faster initiatives are resolved?
For example, let's say I have a unit of 6 Assault Terminators, all wielding Thunder Hammers. Now let's say I have a second unit of 6 Assault Terminators, all wielding Lightning Claws. Now lets say that BOTH terminator units are simultaneoulsly attacking a big fat unit of 20 basic Orks. The initiative order will be first the Lightning Claw termies, then the Orks, then the Thunder Hammer termies.
Let's say the Lightning Claw termies kill 12 Orks. The Ork general decides to remove all the Orks that were in base contact with the Thunder Hammer termies. When he's finished removing casualties, the Thunder Hammer termies are more than 5 inches away from the remaining Orks.
Do the Thunder Hammer termies still get to attack because they had been in base to base at the outset of the fight? Or do they NOT get to attack because they are now too far away from the surviving Orks?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/09 16:34:00
Subject: Multiple Initiatives
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
They cant attack because when it comes to their initiative order there are no models in base contact for them to attack. Likewise if something is killed before its initiative order it will not be able to attack.
|
taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/09 16:41:59
Subject: Re:Multiple Initiatives
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
See page 41, "Multiple Combats". Who gets to attack, and which units can be attacked, is determined before anyone gets killed that round. Also see page 35, "Working out which models are engaged in combat is done at the start of the fight, and will not change unti its end..."
A model doesn't get to attack on the two conditions:
1. It's dead.
2. ALL of the units (not the models, but the units) it was engaged with are wiped out. Technically, the model could still attack, but since there's no one left to kill, you'd just be rolling dice to roll dice.
The thunder hammer termies in your example still get their attacks since there are still 8 surviving orks to attack.
Eliminating the ork models in contact with the terminators is the worst thing that the ork player can do because:
1. A greater than 12" seperation is required for pile-in! to fail at the end of the round.
2. Sweeping advances no longer require being in base to base at the end of the round, but rather only require engagement at the beginning of the round.
3. The ork player is eliminating the models which would have been able to attack.
There are more reasons, but it's just simply an aweful idea which does not work in any way under 5th edition.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/09 17:05:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/09 16:57:09
Subject: Re:Multiple Initiatives
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Wow the two of you just told me completely opposite things. I'm inclined to agree with Solkan, but there is a person in my gaming group who is saying the same thing that Regwon contends. Is it possible that Regwon and my friend are simply remembering something from an earlier edition of 40K? The rules on page 41 seem quite clear to me, indicating that all models that were able to attack before dice were rolled will still get to attack regardless of casualties.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/09 17:02:02
Subject: Multiple Initiatives
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
p. 35 wrote: Who can fight? ... *Models in base contact with any enemy models. *Models within 2" of at least one model in their unit that is in base contact with any enemy models. All engaged models will fight in this turn's Assault phase with their full number of Attacks. . . . Solkan has the right of it. There is no more "you don't get your attacks because I removed the model(s) in btb w/you." That was 4e.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/09 17:02:23
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/09 17:38:24
Subject: Multiple Initiatives
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Regwon wrote:They cant attack because when it comes to their initiative order there are no models in base contact for them to attack. Likewise if something is killed before its initiative order it will not be able to attack.
The first half of this would only be correct if we were still in 4th edition.
The second half, however, still holds true in 5e.
Eric
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/09 18:04:21
Subject: Multiple Initiatives
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Yep, Regwon gave you the 4th ed answer. solkan gave you the 5th ed answer...........
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/11 03:58:15
Subject: Multiple Initiatives
|
 |
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun
|
Also remember you can remove models from anyplace in the squad, not just the ones that are engaged up front.
|
---
4000+ Dark Angels
4000+ Eldar
4000+ Bad Moon Orks
3000 High Elves
3000 Orcs & Goblins
|
|
 |
 |
|