Switch Theme:

Brood Lord w/ Feeder Tendrils, does it convey to his Unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood




Austin, TX

If a Brood Lord takes the Feeder Tendrils biomorph, does it apply to the members of his brood?
It seems that is the consensus here on Dakka, given its use as such on many an army list. But what is the rule mechanic that allows this?

In a recent game this came up, the opposing opinion was that the GS with the brood lord are part of his retinue and for some reason doesn't count as a brood for purposes of this rule.
I can't really remember if there was any rules logic behind it, but in essence the sentiment was that buying FT for the BL only and not the GS also was an attempt to circumvent intent and exploit a loop hole (or "cheat" even).
Given that my opponent agreed that FT would give the effect to a unit of Hormagaunts 2" away from the BL, it seemed silly to me that it wouldn't apply to his own unit.



-Mettius 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut







yes, it does. Feeder tendrils affects every unit with 3" of the model with feeder tendrils.

"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers

Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. 
   
Made in us
Committed Chaos Cult Marine





Yes It does. Every unit, including his own.

And whilst you're pointing and shouting at the boogeyman in the corner, you're missing the burglar coming in through the window.

Well, Duh! Because they had a giant Mining ship. If you had a giant mining ship you would drill holes in everything too, before you'd destory it with a black hole 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Is the Blord or the Retinue within 2" of the Blord? If so, the entire unit gets the benefit.
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator



Seattle, WA

If an enemy model goes before the genestealers, which are retinue to the broodlord, kills the broodlord, would the genestealer attack still benefit from the effects of the, now dead, broodlord's feeder tendrils?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/02/11 17:17:04


 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





inquisitor_bob wrote:If a model goes before the genestealers, which are retinue to the broodlord, kills the broodlord, would the genestealer attack still benefit from the effects of the, now dead, broodlord's feeder tendrils?


No. If you are not within feeder tendrils range when you are about to attack you no longer have preferred enemy.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




good luck finding much that kills the broodlord before they all attack though
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Not to mention, being able to kill the Blord before all of the stealers are dead.
   
Made in us
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Lost Carcosa

About the only thing going before a Broodlord would be a Phenix Lord in an Enhanced Unit id imagine.

Or does a Witch Elf Character from DE also have Int 8 base?

Standing in the light, I see only darkness.  
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

due to the retinue you would just place the wounds on the normal stealers first. Broodlord should nearly always live to strike back.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Marius Xerxes wrote:About the only thing going before a Broodlord would be a Phenix Lord in an Enhanced Unit id imagine.

Or does a Witch Elf Character from DE also have Int 8 base?
Yeah an archite is Initiative 8, but then dark eldar have other stuff to because any character could use "always strikes first" drugs and a wych unit (including bikes etc.) could roll it up

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







A unit of Howling Banshees could get lucky on the first turn, for roughly even points. Otherwise, you're looking at multiple Keepers of Secrets or heralds of Slaanesh at many more points than the brood cost, and a lot of luck.

But practically speaking, there are better odds of the broodlord being killed by shrapnel from an exploding vehicle during the assault phase.
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Charging Harlequins have I 7 and enough attacks to pile up enough wounds so that it could happen. Add Guide, Doom and the fact that the Broodlord could have taken a wound from shooting (maybe the greedy Tyranid player didn't want to lose a stealer so took a wound on the lord instead) and it's not even that unlikely anymore.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: