Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/10 08:18:18
Subject: Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
Ladies Love the Vibro-Cannon Operator
|
Well, I had a multi-player game last Saturday.
One of my opponents fielded Grey Knights in a Rhino.
Seems strange to me since the original idea was to let GKs only be transported by LRs.
|
Former moderator 40kOnline
Lanchester's square law - please obey in list building!
Illumini: "And thank you for not finishing your post with a " " I'm sorry, but after 7200 's that has to be the most annoying sign-off ever."
Armies: Eldar, Necrons, Blood Angels, Grey Knights; World Eaters (30k); Bloodbound; Cryx, Circle, Cyriss |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/10 08:32:39
Subject: Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Grey Knight units may never purchase any transports, short of using another units dedicated transport thier only option is land raiders taken from the heavy support slots of the FOC. If he was using rhinos taken from say inquisitorial stormtroopers or an inquisitor or perhaps some inducted unit it is legal, otherwhise he was breaking the rules.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/10 09:30:04
Subject: Re:Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
Camouflaged Zero
|
No, it would still be illegal then. It sounds like the Grey Knight player was teamed up with a Space Marine player. This would make it legal, as the Space Marine player could take Rhinos as dedicated transports, then use them to ferry anyone around. Even a Tyranid ally's Gaunts, if you were looking to do something purely for laughs. Any other source of Rhinos, however, would be illegal.
|
Order of the Ebon Chalice, 2,624pts
Officio Assassinorum, 570pts
Hive Fleet Viracocha, 3,673pts
562pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/10 11:36:21
Subject: Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Oops, Elric is correct in that the daemonhunters codex spells out the older dedicated transport rules making them only available to the squad they were bought for.
I still believe that an inducted unit with a transport or an army taking the grey knights as allies could share with them as long as they didn't have it spelled out in their own (the inductees/base army) codex and thus used the 5th edition dedicated transport rules from the BRB.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/10 16:30:38
Subject: Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
Intrepid Macross Business Owner
ATL
|
Well, yeah. any source of rhinos is OK as long as they don't start the game loaded up. After all in 5th after the game starts it doesn't matter what unit a transport belongs to. So you can stick yer power armor GK in a chimera.
Of course you can't use inducted Marines with Grey knights. So you'd have to make the GK the allies.
Edit: IMO
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/10 16:31:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/10 17:12:53
Subject: Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Desert Lurker wrote:Well, yeah. any source of rhinos is OK as long as they don't start the game loaded up. After all in 5th after the game starts it doesn't matter what unit a transport belongs to. So you can stick yer power armor GK in a chimera.
Of course you can't use inducted Marines with Grey knights. So you'd have to make the GK the allies.
Edit: IMO
Except the rulebook FAQ completely disagrees with this sentiment. If a codex says that only the unit that purchases the transport may be transported in it, then those are the rules you use.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/10 20:20:56
Subject: Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
Intrepid Macross Business Owner
ATL
|
Ah. One more broken thing about the DH/WH codex. My apologies for not having not read the rule book FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/11 11:29:21
Subject: Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
yakface wrote:Desert Lurker wrote:Well, yeah. any source of rhinos is OK as long as they don't start the game loaded up. After all in 5th after the game starts it doesn't matter what unit a transport belongs to. So you can stick yer power armor GK in a chimera.
Of course you can't use inducted Marines with Grey knights. So you'd have to make the GK the allies.
Edit: IMO
Except the rulebook FAQ completely disagrees with this sentiment. If a codex says that only the unit that purchases the transport may be transported in it, then those are the rules you use.
But that's a GK rule. If the transport comes from the SM codex, it does not have to conform to that rule. it uses the rules in the SM codex, lacking special ones, it uses those of the BRB.
So:
GK in SM Rhino: No problem, SM rules apply.
SM in Inquisitorial Stormtrooper Chimera: No way, DH rules apply.
A slightly different issue: GK and GKT have transports? I looked through both the revised German and the original English books. The only troops noting a transport option are (Grand) Inquisitors and Imperial Stormtroopers. I'd say GK would have to use their heavy support slots to get a "transport" - and that would not be a dedicated transport anyway.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/11 14:25:06
Subject: Transporting Grey Knights
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Tierlieb wrote:A slightly different issue: GK and GKT have transports? I looked through both the revised German and the original English books. The only troops noting a transport option are (Grand) Inquisitors and Imperial Stormtroopers. I'd say GK would have to use their heavy support slots to get a "transport" - and that would not be a dedicated transport anyway.
This was already covered in the second post.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|