Switch Theme:

Deepstriking with Saint Celestine  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




In a game I played yesterday ('Nids vs Witchhunters) my opponent was deepstriking Saint Celestine onto the board. The saint scattered into a lava pit. He rolls on the deepstrike mishap table and gets a 1.

Terrible accident! Teleporting troops are lost in the Warp, deep striking jump infantry are shot down with their transport, or some other suitably dramatic event occurs. The
entire unit is destroyed!


My question is: Does this allow Saint Celestine to make a leadership roll and come back with reserve rolls via her special rule OR is the model is removed from play because of the mishap.

The saints special rule: Should Celestine lose her last wound, she makes an unmodified leadership check. If the roll fails, she is removed from play. If she succeeds, she is placed back into reserves and comes in on 4+ next round...
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






It all comes down to how you interpret the unit being destroyed, there's no official ruling that applies directly to this matter.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





My take would be that she wasn't removed from play, she was prevented from entering it, and hence her rule would not apply. In particular, she didn't lose her last wound, or any of her wounds. I say she's good and gone.

All in all, fact is that Warhammer 40K has never been as balanced as it is now, and codex releases have never been as interesting as they are now (new units and vehicles and tons of new special rules/strategies each release -- not just the same old crap with a few changes in statlines and points costs).

-Therion
_______________________________________

New Codexia's Finest Hour - my fluff about the change between codexes, roughly novel length. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





That's a sticky situation...

I can see it both ways. There definately seems to be more precedence to follow RAW and say the Saint was lost due to the DS mishap.
Given the way the codex rules are written it seems to imply the Saint is able to return despite being killed etc. This is just one of those cases where the 5th ed makes some crazy situations with a 3e codex. That one may have to be added to the INAT.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/10 16:23:35


 
   
Made in us
Dominar






Was the lava pit impassable? If not he simply rolls dangerous terrain...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: