Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 04:44:57
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Master Sergeant
|
If a piranha is destroyed or immobilized (and therefore destroyed), can you choose to have the gun drones be destroyed with the vehicle and avoid providing them as an additional kill point for your opponent?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 05:04:13
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 07:14:09
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Skimmers are only destroyed when immobilized if they had moved flat out on the previous turn (pg 71).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 07:37:36
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Anti...he wasn't asking about that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/20 07:37:45
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 09:41:18
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Centurian99 wrote:Anti...he wasn't asking about that.
While this is most certainly true, he did say this:
Ventus wrote:If a piranha is destroyed or immobilized (and therefore destroyed), ...
...and I didn't know if he knew what I had posted (easily overlooked, since skimmers were destroyed if immobilized in earlier editions).
Just trying to help
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 13:54:23
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Also destroyed if immob as part of a squadron. Which Piranha's often are.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 14:44:07
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Touche salesman... touche!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 17:13:49
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Master Sergeant
|
Yes, I realize that skimmers (not moving flat out) can land if immobilized. Piranha skimmers do not have landing gear like the larger skimmers and are destroyed when immobilized (unless I have this incorrect - but this is the way it has been played in my local tournaments and game store (maybe this was a 4th edition issue that I am confusing with 5th)(I just looked and cannot find it in the codex). So can Piranha skimmers land when immobilized? Also, do you have the option of not taking the gun drones when you purchase a piranha (codex says they come with the vehicle so this is unclear to me).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/20 18:49:19
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ventus wrote:Yes, I realize that skimmers (not moving flat out) can land if immobilized. Piranha skimmers do not have landing gear like the larger skimmers and are destroyed when immobilized (unless I have this incorrect - but this is the way it has been played in my local tournaments and game store (maybe this was a 4th edition issue that I am confusing with 5th)(I just looked and cannot find it in the codex). So can Piranha skimmers land when immobilized? Also, do you have the option of not taking the gun drones when you purchase a piranha (codex says they come with the vehicle so this is unclear to me).
EVERY skimmer, per the BGB, settles to the ground if immobilized & not moving Flat Out.
And if you buy a Piranha, you get the drones. No option to leave them behind.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 00:45:50
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Master Sergeant
|
On a similar note, if I have a piranha squadron of say 5 vehicles, and one gets destroyed, the gun drones cannot be considered destroyed but must separate and become a separate unit worth a kill point. Now if each turn as the piranhas move around the board one piranha gets destroyed releasing 2 gun drones as a separate unit (and kill point), by turn 6 the piranha squadron would have given up 6 kill points (1 for the squadron and 5 for five separate gun drone units). Is this correct or do I have this wrong? Do all the gun drones when dismounted from a vehicle act as one unit (and one kill point), even if physically separated from each other, or in the example provide 5 kill points worth of gun drone units?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 00:56:08
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ventus wrote:On a similar note, if I have a piranha squadron of say 5 vehicles, and one gets destroyed, the gun drones cannot be considered destroyed but must separate and become a separate unit worth a kill point. Now if each turn as the piranhas move around the board one piranha gets destroyed releasing 2 gun drones as a separate unit (and kill point), by turn 6 the piranha squadron would have given up 6 kill points (1 for the squadron and 5 for five separate gun drone units). Is this correct or do I have this wrong? Do all the gun drones when dismounted from a vehicle act as one unit (and one kill point), even if physically separated from each other, or in the example provide 5 kill points worth of gun drone units?
By the rules, I believe that when one vehicle dismounts its gun drones, all vehicles in the squadron must do so as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 02:38:26
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Master Sergeant
|
I would agree if a vehicle in a squadron dismounts its gun drones that a rule that all the others must do so also is reasonable, but if a squadron of five piranhas has one piranha destroyed resulting in the gun drones dismounting, it would be bizarre to force the other four surviving piranhas to have to separate their gun drones.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 04:40:04
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
|
Centurian99 wrote:
By the rules, I believe that when one vehicle dismounts its gun drones, all vehicles in the squadron must do so as well.
Centurian is right
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 05:50:03
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Master Sergeant
|
When a piranha is destroyed or explodes, what is the procedure for the gun drones (I can not find it anywhere). Do the gun drones automatically dismount or is there a roll that needs to be made to see if they are destroyed with the vehicle? If the vehicle explodes would the gun drones have to roll to see if they are dhit by the explosion? Is this explained somewhere?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 06:37:55
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
they act as passengers.
And all drones then disembark and become a unit. Check the FAQ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 06:51:27
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Master Sergeant
|
Thanks everyone. I just found the FAQ and it is clear about what you all have said. Makes me reluctant to even have a squadron of two piranhas because I find this rule annoying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 14:38:12
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can always take a squadron of 3+ piranhas, disembark the drones on turn 1, and basically get a 'free' gundrone unit.
|
In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 18:02:22
Subject: Re:Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Master Sergeant
|
Interesting point dietrich, I might just try that one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/23 18:10:41
Subject: Piranhas and KP questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you arm the piranhas with Fusion Blasters, there's really no use for the Drones, since the pirahna and the drones would have different roles (anti-tank vs anti-infantry). The S5 shots from the drones could do something against light vehicles/rear armor, but you'll probably want them to focus on infantry.
|
In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer |
|
 |
 |
|