Switch Theme:

A quick Wolf Scout question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Getting my broom incase there is shenanigans.

I have a quick wolf scout question for you all.

If you take 4 Wolf Scouts + their Wolf Guard leader, can they get into a Land Speeder Storm?

Thanks!


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No they cannot. Storm Can only Carry Scouts.

A WGPL is not a Scout.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Last year's Baltimore GT said yes, but it's not in writing. So your mileage may vary.............

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Someone will come along and argue that the LSS says that it can only carry 'Scouts' and SWs get 'Wolf Scouts', so that means by RAW the LSS can't even carry Wolf Scouts.

I would say that they can have a WGPL joined to the unit since he is wearing power armor, not scout armor. If you let him in while wearing power armor, why not give him TDA and let him ride (since nowhere does it say for the LSS that models in TDA count as two models for transport - since per SM codex, no model in TDA could conceivably try to ride the thing)? Granted, TDA is pretty extreme.

Is this for a tourney or friendly or both? What about paying the full point for the WGPL but swapping out his 3+ save for a 4+ save, with no point adjustment, and then letting the WGPL and the 4 scouts ride?

Sorry for the long response. It's weird situations like this that cause me to say the SW Codex, FAQ, and SM Codex are currently 'a mess'.

In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Getting my broom incase there is shenanigans.

dietrich wrote:Someone will come along and argue that the LSS says that it can only carry 'Scouts' and SWs get 'Wolf Scouts', so that means by RAW the LSS can't even carry Wolf Scouts.


The reason why I ask this question is that a LS storm carries "Scouts", and I think we can extrapolate that they also mean "Wolf Scouts" because Wolf Scouts are Scouts. Since the WGL is part of the Wolf Scout Squad, can he ride in it as well? He is part of the scout squad, but can be be considered a scout?

I would say that they can have a WGPL joined to the unit since he is wearing power armor, not scout armor. If you let him in while wearing power armor, why not give him TDA and let him ride (since nowhere does it say for the LSS that models in TDA count as two models for transport - since per SM codex, no model in TDA could conceivably try to ride the thing)? Granted, TDA is pretty extreme.


Wolf Scouts can't be lead by a WGL in TDA per the FAQ.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/05 17:26:19



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Blackmoor wrote:The reason why I ask this question is that a LS storm carries "Scouts", and I think we can extrapolate that they also mean "Wolf Scouts". Since the WGL is part of the Wolf Scout Squad, can he ride in it as well? He is part of the scout squad, but can be be considered a scout?

Wolf Scouts can't be lead by a WGL in TDA per the FAQ.

I agree, SW can take the LSS and Wolf Scouts can ride in it. Had to get the crack in before someone brought it up. In fact, there's some who say the LSS isn't defined as a 'variant' and can't even be taken by SWs. Sigh.

I forgot that the latest FAQ says they can't have a WGPL in TDA. I've never done it. I think at one point, it was in the FAQ, then took it out sometime in fourth, and now it's back in.

The WGPL isn't technically a scout. If I was a TO and someone asked, I would say no. YMMV, and I'd check with your TO and/or gaming group.

I guess my answer would partly depend on what the rest of your list and the unit looks like. These has the potential to be a big ball of cheese that is probably not what was intended by the Dev Team (4 scouts, maybe with meltabombs, 1 flamer or meltagun, 1 plasma pistol and ccw, 1 plasma pistol and power weapon, 1 power weapon and bolt pistol, 1 WGPL with combi-flamer and powerfist), since SM scouts are limited to four WS3 guys with BP&CCW and a Sarge with a powerfist, a much less powerful unit. I realize that's not the answer you probably want, but there are some nasty combos that you can build right now, and ones that I'm guessing will be gone whenever the SW codex redux hits.

In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in de
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





I'd say that a WGPL can't ride in the speeder too, exactly the same as if you have a WGPL wearing terminator armour in a grey hunter squad meaning they can't ride in a rhino any more because hes too big to fit.

Wolf Guard aren't Scouts, they're Wolf Guard.


If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: