Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/05 10:52:36
Subject: wyches special rules in multiple close combat ?!?
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
situation:
a squad of wyches with an attached archon (not wych archite!) is figthing a squad of space marines with an attached chaplain.
the chaplain is in base to base contact with the wyches and the archon.
the archon is in base to base contact with the SM and the chaplain.
in the dark eldar codex it says:
- "No member of a unit fighting the Wyches in close combat counts as being equipped with an additional close combat weapon."
- "All enemies with an unmodified Strength below 6 halve their WS characteristic (rounding up) for attacks made against the Wyches. Models with a strength of 6 or more are unaffected."
the second point is pretty clear.
but about the first point,
1. if the chaplain chose to attack the archon, does he get the additional attack?
2. if he was not in base to base contact with the wyches, but only with the archon, would he get the additional attack?
3. if the SM attack the archon do they get the additional attack?
|
"Iron within Iron without!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/05 11:52:00
Subject: wyches special rules in multiple close combat ?!?
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
IMO "fighting the wyches" would mean "allocating attacks to the wyches," so the Chaplain, or any SM would only lose their bonus attack if they allocate attacks to the wyches.
|
Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right
New to the game and can't win? Read this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/05 15:10:45
Subject: wyches special rules in multiple close combat ?!?
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Yes, while the wording has substantially changed in the rulebook since the codex was written I would alse say that the models attacking the Archon are fighting him, not the wyches.
Although since wych weapons applies to the unit, not to a model, if even one marine attached the wyches then the whole unit would get effected by wych weapons.. which is pretty much a sure thing since its almost definate that at least some of the marines would be only in base contact with the wyches.
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/07 19:07:15
Subject: wyches special rules in multiple close combat ?!?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Hymirl wrote:Yes, while the wording has substantially changed in the rulebook since the codex was written I would alse say that the models attacking the Archon are fighting him, not the wyches.
Although since wych weapons applies to the unit, not to a model, if even one marine attached the wyches then the whole unit would get effected by wych weapons.. which is pretty much a sure thing since its almost definate that at least some of the marines would be only in base contact with the wyches.
Sooo.... are you telling us here that the Archon would not benefit from the "wargear granted bonus?" even though he is part of the unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/07 21:49:31
Subject: wyches special rules in multiple close combat ?!?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
frgsinwntr wrote:Hymirl wrote:Yes, while the wording has substantially changed in the rulebook since the codex was written I would alse say that the models attacking the Archon are fighting him, not the wyches.
Although since wych weapons applies to the unit, not to a model, if even one marine attached the wyches then the whole unit would get effected by wych weapons.. which is pretty much a sure thing since its almost definate that at least some of the marines would be only in base contact with the wyches.
Sooo.... are you telling us here that the Archon would not benefit from the "wargear granted bonus?" even though he is part of the unit? 
I think he means that any unit (not model) attacking a wych in CC is affected by wych weapons. Wych weapons only affect the model carrying them, but if you buy them you have to buy them for the whole unit. Right?
|
DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/07 22:28:44
Subject: wyches special rules in multiple close combat ?!?
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
frgsinwntr wrote:Sooo.... are you telling us here that the Archon would not benefit from the "wargear granted bonus?" even though he is part of the unit? 
An archon is an independant character, as such when attacks are worked out he is not part of the unit. So yes, thats exactly what I'm saying.
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/08 00:14:10
Subject: wyches special rules in multiple close combat ?!?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
I personally think the first point should apply to any unit in close combat that is engaged with the wyches and has even 1 member able to direct attacks towards them.
This is because I consider it a neater option when compared to the idea that space marine bob can attack the wyches while space marine larry attacks an entirely seperate unit and larry is penalised for bob's attacks.
And I'm pretty sure it's fairly open to a given player's interpretation of "fighting the wyches"
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|