Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/05 22:31:02
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
OK.....let's say I plan on charging an ork unit with a warboss with a dread and a squad. I charge the squad in first, he counterattacks the squad, then I charge the dread in, correct?
Now, let's say there's a wrboss attached to the squad, on the outer edge. He has to move in first on the counterattack. Is he allowed to move orks aside to get a straightline in on the attacking unit? Otherwise, he would not be able to contact the marines with a 6 inch move....
Thanks!
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/05 22:45:02
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
No, not correct. Charge reaction doesn't occur until after all assault moves are done.
And no, the warboss must have a path, he cannot shoulder his way through the crowd (as fluffy as that would be).
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/05 22:46:54
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
You've used the wrong terminologies several times and I think you've said "the squad" a few times without specifying whether you mean his squad, your squad, or a different squad. So let me make sure this is straight:
You have squad (of space marines?) and a dreadnought. You want to charge both units at a mob of orks which has an attached Independant Character (a warboss). Correct?
This is the proper sequence of events you should follow:
1. You will charge his ork mob with your squad. His unit will sit still.
2. You will charge his ork mob with your dreadnought. His unit will sit still.
3. You will declare and measure any remaining charges you have elsewhere on the board.
4. Now he gets to pile-in. Counter-attack is a different rule that should not be confused with pile-in. Independant Characters (warboss) must pile-in first, before any other models in the mob.
Under no circumstances can you move models out of the way to allow other models to charge in to base contact.
|
Hi, I'm Mike Leon. You may remember me from such totally metal action adventure novels as KILL KILL KILL and RATED R |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/06 03:41:41
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
4. Now he gets to pile-in. Counter-attack is a different rule that should not be confused with pile-in. Independant Characters (warboss) must pile-in first, before any other models in the mob.
Since you are trying to be exact.... it is a React move. Pile In happens after the round of combat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/06 04:37:52
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Plaguebearer with a Flu
Kaurava II, Moon III
|
Under no circumstances can you move models out of the way to allow other models to charge in to base contact.
Is this right? I mean, it's true that he's a part of the unit, however, if he can't go between the space of the models in the unit to get to combat, I don't think he could get into combat. I need somebody to help me confirm which version is correct. Thx, dakka.
|
The best thing that you can know about yourself is that you finally realized that you're good at something. For knowing that: Priceless. Anything else, just kill yourself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/06 05:17:04
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
If he can go around and get into BTB with his full 6" move then he must (and must do so first). If he is prevented from doing this by other models, then he must do so at his earliest opportunity.
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/06 10:48:46
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
Yep, lordhat's got it right, but just to clarify, you can't move through the area occupied by another model's base.
The only two exceptions to this are tank shocking, and if you're falling back from CC you can move through the victorious unit.
|
Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right
New to the game and can't win? Read this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/07 18:38:46
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot
|
Noob question:
So the only unit that gets the +1 attack ever is if the unit is actively charging the 6" into assault?
Example: So a unit of orks were assaulted by chaos in bottom of turn two. Chaos gets the +1 AT because they initiated the assault. Here is my question. On top of turn three, the orks will continue the assault assuming no one retreated. Do the orks get an addition +1 AT since they are declaring the assualt this time or not even though they are locked in CC already?
Thanks!
|
I play and |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/07 18:43:16
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Willisee wrote: Do the orks get an addition +1 AT since they are declaring the assualt this time or not even though they are locked in CC already? Thanks! Nope. As you said, a unit only gets the +1 attack for initiating an assault. (Or for the 'defenders react' move, if the unit has the Counter Attack USR.) EDIT: Technically the above is not entirely true: Units get +1 attack for 'charging' into an assault during their own assault phase. While not a BIG difference from the above, they can join an existing combat and the the bonus attack even though they aren't techically initiating the melee.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/03/07 18:47:29
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/08 06:23:36
Subject: Assaults and Counterattack/Multiple assailants/Indie Characters
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
The Governator Council wrote:Under no circumstances can you move models out of the way to allow other models to charge in to base contact.
Is this right? I mean, it's true that he's a part of the unit, however, if he can't go between the space of the models in the unit to get to combat, I don't think he could get into combat. I need somebody to help me confirm which version is correct. Thx, dakka.
If there is no space for him to move into base contact then he cannot get engaged in combat. He is still in the combat because the unit is and he is attached to them, but he will get no attacks.
|
Hi, I'm Mike Leon. You may remember me from such totally metal action adventure novels as KILL KILL KILL and RATED R |
|
 |
 |
|