I'm thinking of using spore mines broods in an upcoming apoc game but thought it prudent to ask the community this question for which I have yet to find a good answer.
When a brood of spore mines is targeted onto an enemy unit via deep strike (as they were intended to be used when taken as fast attack choices in the Tyranid codex) the models are not placed, so in the RAW on pg 95 one should use the deep strike mishap table. In the codex on page 29 it states that if a spore mine makes contact with an enemy for any reason it will trigger the detonation of the brood. When I place the brood's deep strike 'target' on an enemy unit (and it fails to scatter off) will the brood detonate as if it had encountered an enemy unit or will deployment revert to the deep strike mishap table?
I'm leaning towards literal interpretation of the RAW... it treats such un-completed deep strikes as 'mishaps' and resolves all of them as such regardless of circumstance. Can someone give me a true ruling on this (and hopefully one that favors the spore mines vomiting on the enemy)?
|