Switch Theme:

Prophet of the Waaagh! and Pinning  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Phoenix

If a unit is pinned and Prophet of the Waaagh! is used, are they no longer pinned? Or are they pinned and fearless?
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Phoenix

hrmm, can't delete my own post, can someone move this to You make Da call?
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Great question, and I am not too sure if there is a 'definite' answer to this.

But I will give this a try. I took a look, and could not find any for sure answers, what I did find is this from the RB FAQ:
Q. If I find a reference to a unit that is ‘pinned’,
does it mean a unit that has gone to ground?
A. Yes, ‘pinned’ is simply a short way of saying
‘gone to ground by failing a pinning test’.


and this snippet from the RB pg.75 under "FEARLESS" USR:

Fearless troops automatically pass all Morale and Pinning test they are required to take, and will never fall back. They can however go to ground voluntarily...


Noting that the unit was not Fearless when they were pinned and in the Orks turn (and still under the affects of 'pinned') the unit becomes Fearless.

My surmise is that the unit remains pinned. My reasoning is that fearless units according to the rule only auto pass Pinning tests, yet may choose to 'go to ground' and the FAQ clearly points out the only difference between 'pinned' and 'go to ground' is one is voluntary and the other is forced. So, ergo, a fearless unit can be 'pinned' in its turn, but cannot be pinned while fearless. And since this unit was not fearless when is was pinned, it can remain pinned while fearless.

I hope this made sense. This is my 2 cents on this interesting topic.

Happy gaming!


DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Nothing in Ghaz's 'Prophet of the Waaagh' indicates that a unit which has gone to ground would have this status removed when his Waaagh is called so they wouldn't.

Yes, they would be fearless, but they would still be subject to the 'gone to ground' rules and not allowed to take any voluntary actions until the start of their next turn.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: