Switch Theme:

Walkers firing ordnance and charging..  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Can a walker fire ordnance then charge? If the walker fires ordnance can it fire other guns?

G



ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Green Blow Fly wrote:Can a walker fire ordnance then charge?


There is nothing that I can see in the current rules that prevents a model from charging after firing Ordnance. The Assault rules only disallow charging for shooting if firing a RF or Heavy weapon (which dreadnoughts are specifically exempted from anyway)... so they would be able to assault as normal.



If the walker fires ordnance can it fire other guns?


I wouldn't think so. They fire in the same manner as a stationary vehicle. Nothing specifically exempts them from the Ordnance restriction on firing no other weapons, so it would still apply.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







To the shooting question, they cannot fire anything else if they fire ordinance.

The assaulting thing im not 100% on as I have no rulebook to hand.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in de
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





Moving and firing ordinance is fine, assaulting is only moving remember so that makes it okay as well.

The rule against firing ordinance and other weapons remains in effect as normal...


If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






There are no restrictions on firing ordnance when moving, only ordnance barrage weapons, so a normal ordnance weapon there is definitely nothing stopping a walker from charging after firing it.

Regarding a barrage weapon it's still fairly clear, the Ordnance Barrage rules stipulate "only vehicles that remained stationary may fire an ordnance barrage weapon" while an argument could be made that the frame of reference is a turn and therefore moving after firing the weapon but in the same turn would be illegal, walkers continue to have a rule which states they always count as stationary, even if they move, even if they assault, even if they deep strike, in any situation.

So yes you would be able to assault after firing an ordnance barrage weapon assuming the vehicle was a walker.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Just remember you have to assault what you shoot. So, if you're brave enough to fire ordinance at less than 6", more power to you.
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




there used to be a line in 4th ed that prevented 'units' from assaulting after firing ordinance. I didn't find any such restriction in 5th ed.

However the more interesting question is when you fire ordinance and it scatters behind or to another target than the one you aimed at...Can you still assault the original target?

the rule says on page 33 last paragraph "...a unit that fired in the Shooting phase can only assault the unit that it shot at" {emphasis mine}

I know the intention is probably meaning that you can only assault units you shot at and may have missed entirely so no wounds are needed to cause a qualification for a target that must be assaulted, but the kicker is with ordinance, since they can still hit even with a miss.

The question is: Does the original target placement of the blast template qualify for the 'shot at' portion of the rule, or does the unit that is hit qualify for the 'shot at' target?

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)

padixon, to link onto that:

what if the ord. scatters and hits another unit, in effect you have then shot AT one unit, but shot another unit by mistake.

Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

JD21290 wrote: in effect you have then shot AT one unit, but shot another unit by mistake.


Exactly. Where the shot lands has no bearing on what you were shooting at, just what you actually hit.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Yeah otherwise a rules lawyer might claim you have to hit yourself on close combat.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




padixon wrote:However the more interesting question is when you fire ordinance and it scatters behind or to another target than the one you aimed at...Can you still assault the original target?

the rule says on page 33 last paragraph "...a unit that fired in the Shooting phase can only assault the unit that it shot at" {emphasis mine}


A good question, and one that could possibly concern any scattering blast weapon. I'd go with having to assault the unit you first placed the blast marker on, regardless of where said blast ended up.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yp, you assault the unit you declared your shooting at, regardless of where the blast marker ended up. After all, if the Blast Marker Scattered off the unit into empty space, will you argue you can only assault the ground?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/16 15:04:06


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






now that blast markers have to be placed directly centered onto a single model in a unit or a tank's hull I think it's safe to say that there's absolutely no question as to what was being targeted.

Before when you could sit them in open space I can see why it would be confusing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/17 03:04:45


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Drunkspleen wrote:now that blast markers have to be placed directly centered onto a single model in a unit or a tank's hull I think it's safe to say that there's absolutely no question as to what was being targeted.

Where does it say that the marker has to be 'directly centered' on a single model in the unit or the tank's hull? Even the example diagram in the rulebook has the hole off center of the model's base.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

Agreed Ghaz, Blast markers only need to be 'over' a base. Nowhere in the 5th Ed rules does it state that the marker has to be centered.

Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Ghaz wrote:Where does it say that the marker has to be 'directly centered' on a single model in the unit or the tank's hull? Even the example diagram in the rulebook has the hole off center of the model's base.
I suppose a poor choice of wording on my part, I consider having to have the hole over a single particular model to be close enough to call it centered, regardless of my perhaps poor choice of wording it remains true that you choose a certain enemy model to be the intended target of the blast by placing the hole over that model's base or hull, making it the unit that was "shot at".

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Drunkspleen wrote:
Ghaz wrote:Where does it say that the marker has to be 'directly centered' on a single model in the unit or the tank's hull? Even the example diagram in the rulebook has the hole off center of the model's base.
I suppose a poor choice of wording on my part, I consider having to have the hole over a single particular model to be close enough to call it centered, regardless of my perhaps poor choice of wording it remains true that you choose a certain enemy model to be the intended target of the blast by placing the hole over that model's base or hull, making it the unit that was "shot at".


Nice bit of prevarication there.

You haven't been able to place the hole of the blast marker over empty space since... 2nd edition I think? The current rules for placing a blast marker are the same as last edition.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






willydstyle wrote:Nice bit of prevarication there.

You haven't been able to place the hole of the blast marker over empty space since... 2nd edition I think? The current rules for placing a blast marker are the same as last edition.


Once again you have caught an error on my part, but it in no way affects the end result which is that you are clearly choosing a single target model by placing the hole over it, I appreciate the desire for accuracy in reference to the rules but must you really make such a large incident from something as small as not remembering the 4th edition rules properly?

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Except it doesn't change anything at all. It's never been a question as to which unit was the target since 3rd edition. It's the one with the model who's base had the hole in the blast marker over it.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I think the hole over the center of the base became an issue when Necron players would use their monoliths to snipe independent characters.

G

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/18 00:03:49


ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: