Switch Theme:

Snikrot on Wheelz?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in jp
Fresh-Faced New User






Just a crazy idea, if some kunnin yet brutal, player say...... put Snikrot and his unit in a Battlewagon, hold it in reserves, then come on from any table edge per Snikrot's Ambush rule, what page of the rulebook would you wave in his face to make him stop? It sounds way to good to be true and I must be missing something obvious, or someone smarter than me would have thought of it long ago.
   
Made in au
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





melbourne

I'm SCARED
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Mr. Konrad wrote:Just a crazy idea, if some kunnin yet brutal, player say...... put Snikrot and his unit in a Battlewagon, hold it in reserves, then come on from any table edge per Snikrot's Ambush rule, what page of the rulebook would you wave in his face to make him stop? It sounds way to good to be true and I must be missing something obvious, or someone smarter than me would have thought of it long ago.


The vehicle that Snikrot is riding in would not have his 'Ambush' special rule and therefore could not arrive using it. This is different from the 'Scouts' USR which specifies that it is passed on to transport vehicles the unit is riding in.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




And even then, Scouts only works with *dedicated* transports.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Mr. Konrad wrote:Just a crazy idea, if some kunnin yet brutal, player say...... put Snikrot and his unit in a Battlewagon, hold it in reserves, then come on from any table edge per Snikrot's Ambush rule, what page of the rulebook would you wave in his face to make him stop? It sounds way to good to be true and I must be missing something obvious, or someone smarter than me would have thought of it long ago.


Remember a vehicle is still a separate unit even if it's a transport. Therefore:

Page 48: Independentent characters joining and leaving units; subsection special rules: "When an IC Joins a unit, it might have different special rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the 'stubborn' special rule), the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the character, and the character's special rules are not conferred upon the unit.... "
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Kc7sbp wrote:Remember a vehicle is still a separate unit even if it's a transport. Therefore:

Page 48: Independentent characters joining and leaving units; subsection special rules: "When an IC Joins a unit, it might have different special rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the 'stubborn' special rule), the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the character, and the character's special rules are not conferred upon the unit.... "


The rule you cited has no bearing on this situation at all, snikrot hasn't Joined the vehicles unit, he is simply mounted in it, there's no way it can gain the ambush rule because it's neither snikrot, nor "his unit" being the one he is a member of. It is simply a vehicle they chose to ride in.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Dominar






Drunkspleen's got it 100%.
   
Made in us
Phanobi





Paso Robles, CA, USA

Not to mention that Snikrot isn't an IC.

My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings.
Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.

Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.

This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.

A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy 
   
Made in jp
Fresh-Faced New User






Good points all. The transport is not his unit, therfore he's hoofing it. I wanted to sound that crazy idea out and hear the "nay"s just so I can put it out of my head.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: