Switch Theme:

A Death Company Dreadnought Query  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Humboldt County

Sorry if this question is elementary. Does a Death Company furioso dreadnought's attacks also count as rending?

What is a youth? Impetuous fire.
What is a maid? Ice and desire.

 
   
Made in se
Preceptor






a ghost town in Sweden

Its dreadnought with dreadnought close combat weapons. S10 that makes any armor look like tin-foil, what do you need rending for?


Purge the Unclean! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





No it is not rending. It would have no effect. Even on armor penetration, you'd already be a '16', which is a Penetrating hit. And DCCW count as S10 powerweapons, so it doesn't help against models with a Toughness value.

In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)

nope, DCCW rules are alot better, so i dont see why you would want rending.

Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







The "Black Rage" ability is not listed for Furioso Dreadnoughts, so they don't get the benefit of that rule, although I can understand why there would be confusion since they have a rule called 'Death Company Dreadnought'. Tha confusingly named "Death Company Dreadnought" rule confers its own limitations and benefits, as described in the codex.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Humboldt County

Just a 40K newb asking a newb question, that's all.

Thanks though.

What is a youth? Impetuous fire.
What is a maid? Ice and desire.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






dietrich wrote:No it is not rending. It would have no effect. Even on armor penetration, you'd already be a '16', which is a Penetrating hit. And DCCW count as S10 powerweapons, so it doesn't help against models with a Toughness value.


Just a note, DCCW aren't S10 powerweapons, they are double strength power weapons like a power fist, only without the Initiative penalty. Not that it affects the end result here where a Space Marine Dreadnought's S6 is doubled to 10(can't go higher) but if there were a walker with only S4 and DCCW they wouldn't be S10.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

There used to be tear attack that let you roll 2d6 for AP.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Drunkspleen wrote:
dietrich wrote:No it is not rending. It would have no effect. Even on armor penetration, you'd already be a '16', which is a Penetrating hit. And DCCW count as S10 powerweapons, so it doesn't help against models with a Toughness value.


Just a note, DCCW aren't S10 powerweapons, they are double strength power weapons like a power fist, only without the Initiative penalty. Not that it affects the end result here where a Space Marine Dreadnought's S6 is doubled to 10(can't go higher) but if there were a walker with only S4 and DCCW they wouldn't be S10.
Yes, and as they say in France, QFT. Too many people seem to equate Power fist = S8 If i had a penny for every time a new ork player at my local club claimed his deffcoptas were S8 because of the buzzsaw, or that his opponents ork warboss is S8, I'd have more money than Bill Gates (Koptas are S7 on the charge, and s6 after, just so ya know ;p)

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






I also have a question about the DC dread. It says that they can fight along side the DC. Does that mean they are in the same squad as the DC. I also assume you can have multipul DC dread's.

2000 points
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/downloadAttach/19113.page
500 points
1500 points "You don’t want to play Blood Angels to be different you play them because you finally realized that they go crazy and drink blood yet haven’t been killed off by the Inquisition. Proving that they are just bada**”  
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Is their no answer for this?

2000 points
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/downloadAttach/19113.page
500 points
1500 points "You don’t want to play Blood Angels to be different you play them because you finally realized that they go crazy and drink blood yet haven’t been killed off by the Inquisition. Proving that they are just bada**”  
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




No, its just some 'fluff' they threw in for good measure, and yes, there seems to be no limit to the number of Dreads (of any type) you can have.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/22 15:13:49


DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





It's merely fluff text.

It's just an upgrade for the Furioso Dreadnought.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Okay thanks.

2000 points
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/downloadAttach/19113.page
500 points
1500 points "You don’t want to play Blood Angels to be different you play them because you finally realized that they go crazy and drink blood yet haven’t been killed off by the Inquisition. Proving that they are just bada**”  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: