Switch Theme:

IC counterattack question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander







A marine squad with an IC is charged. The defending squad was arranged in such a way that the IC is blocked by his own men.

IC's must counterattack first when their squad is assaulted. The question then is, do his men move to allow him to get to the front, or does he have to move around them, and if he does not contact the enemy, then does not get to fight?

I see nothing in the rules that allows one to move men aside ( except for the Templars Emperor's Champion) to allow an IC to get into combat. Am I missing something?

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




No, you're not missing anything. The IC must move first - if at all possible. If it's not possible for him to reach enemies by moving first then you're under no obligation to do anything extra.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

I actually want to expand a bit more on this.

Carefully read what the rule actually says:

"When a unit is reacting to being assaulted, or making a pile-in move, independent characters that have joined the unit must move before other friendly models in order to get into base contact with an enemy where possible."


There are two very important things to note about that rule:

1) The rule doesn't say that the IC must move before ANY other friendly models in the unit.
2) The IC must move in order to get into base contact with an enemy. In other words, if the IC can't contact the enemy then he doesn't have to move first.


So what does this tell us?

When a unit containing an IC reacts to a charge or makes a pile-in move you look at the models in the unit. If the IC can be moved to get into base contact with an enemy then you have to move him immediately to do so in order to follow this rule.

However if this isn't possible then you start making your pile-in moves as normal. However after moving any model in your unit if you now see that the IC can be moved to get into contact with the enemy you must immediately move the IC to do so.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/20 02:08:52


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: