Switch Theme:

Space Marine Standard bearer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Does the standard bearer get 2 CC attacks or 2+1 CC attacks?
2 attacks as the company standard is not as weapon 20% [ 4 ]
2+1 attacks as he can use the standard as secondary weapon 80% [ 16 ]
Total Votes : 20
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Bounding Assault Marine





Standard Bearer is a veteran space marine and has 2 attack. In his wargear he has bolt pistol and chainsword. But if in standard bearer description it says that they never let go of the standard as long as they live. So does this mean that they have 2 attacks in close combat. Or 2+1 attacks for dualwielding (maybe using the flag pole as a weapon?)

Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Springhurst, VIC, Australia

I would have to say, due to no mention of them in gaming sense that they cant use the banner itself as a weapon and does state that you lose your 2 CC weapon bonus, so 2+1 for me

DC:90+S++G++MB+I+Pw40k98-ID++A++/hWD284R++T(T)DM+

Squigy's Gallery, come have a look
 
   
Made in gb
Dispassionate Imperial Judge






HATE Club, East London

Rules-wise the standard is not a weapon, merely an extra 'special rule'. Although the fluff description says he is holding it, there is no hard rule for this.

Rules wise, since the model is still armed with two close combat weapons (boltpistol and chainsword) he still gets the extra attack.

Just like Chaos Marines get an extra attack for being armed with a boltpistol and close combat weapon even when they're also armed with a (two-handed) bolter....

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Your poll is incomplete. Saying he gets 2+1 attacks *because* he can use the standard as a weapon is incorrect (and should be changed).

He gets 2+1 attack because he's allowed to use his two single-handed weapons in CC. There are no rules stating that holding the banner takes up the use of a hand so it doesn't in the game.

For all intents and purposes we can assume that they've got some sort of magnetic grappling device that allows him to slap the banner on his back when needed.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Springhurst, VIC, Australia

yakface wrote:
For all intents and purposes we can assume that they've got some sort of magnetic grappling device that allows him to slap the banner on his back when needed.


And when hes trying to get it off, its like a dog chasing him tail

DC:90+S++G++MB+I+Pw40k98-ID++A++/hWD284R++T(T)DM+

Squigy's Gallery, come have a look
 
   
Made in fi
Bounding Assault Marine





He gets 2+1 attack because he's allowed to use his two single-handed weapons in CC. There are no rules stating that holding the banner takes up the use of a hand so it doesn't in the game.

For all intents and purposes we can assume that they've got some sort of magnetic grappling device that allows him to slap the banner on his back when needed


5th edition SM codex pg.55 "The standard Bearer is trusted never to let the standard out of his grip while he still draws breath - to do otherwise is to invite the most terrible and shameful dishonour."

Thats the part that got me confused about being able to gain the extra attack.

Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




The fluff in the case of the standard bearer isn't particularly well translated into game mechanics.

One vet in a command squad can be upgraded to take a Standard, but I don't think there's anything that outright prevents that same model from taking other upgrades (ranged or cc weapons) or would prevent that same model from gaining another cc attack from having an additional cc weapon.

Me, I've got a Power Fist on the sucker, so he wouldn't get one in any case, so for me, the point is moot.

<insert amusing quote here> 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

Mine has a power sword and a pistol in a holster just in case i run into TFG and he says "I don't see two Close combat weapons"

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in gb
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





If he has two weapons, he has two weapons and gets all the bonuses associated.

If you really want to stay true to background of him hanging onto the standard then he can either hold it with his teeth or clamp it between his power armoured buttocks...

As a friendly note, if you're just asking a question then ask. You don't really need to make a vote about it unless it turns out there is no actual 'right answer' or that its really contentious as to what the answer is.


If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

A lot of Marines have the standard attached to the back top of their power armor.

@Hymril - there is no need to mention clenched arse cheeks... I bet that gets you going though... why else would you mention it?

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I disagree, I feel there is ALWAYS a need to mention clenched buns of plasteel!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

:(

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: