| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 22:27:02
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Sup all.
Having a bit of a brainfart, so could someone give me a page reference that says you may or may not do this.
I honestly cannot remember if this is legal or not
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 22:53:20
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
RAW you may not do it.
The rules for dedicated transports suggest that it's a rule they forgot to write though as it says it's a limitation of dedicated transports, not an ability.
So playing RAI most people (everyone I've heard of) allow this.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 23:00:47
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Is there a page #?
|
Tired of reading new rulebooks... Just wanting to play. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 23:02:19
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
As there is no such rule there would be no such page?
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 23:04:18
Subject: Re:Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
A slum in scotland... the only shinty with a computer!
|
What do i say? just do it, and if your oponent moans just moan back at them for being petty.....
not that at anyone cares what i say though,
from what i remember you could before, and if they took it out seems kinda senceless that they travled to the battle on foor with there transport beside them and THEn use it once there..... seems a bit backwards...
|
==warning==
This message has not been spellchecked!
Enjoy decyphering it, it was my pleasure to make it.
If all 'llse failz 'uze a bigga CHOPPA!!
i play: / / too now
cant think of anything intellective, so my quote quotas blank. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 23:07:03
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can do it as long as it's not a dedicated transport.
If it's a dedicated transport then only the unit it was purchased for can be deployed in it. Page 67, "Dedicated Transports" box, paragraph 2.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/21 23:13:06
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 23:10:33
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The Green Git wrote:You can do it as long as it's not a dedicated transport.
If it's a dedicated transport then only the unit it was purchased for can be deployed in it.
Can I have a Page Reference or Rules Quote to back that up please. I'm asking because I cannot find anything to say you can in the rulebook. I know you can Start the game all 2" away from a Access point and embark T1, but not start in the actual transport itself.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 23:19:47
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
There is no rule that explicitly allows a unit to start the game on the table in a non-dedicated transport.
The Reserves rules state that the player must declare any units that are assigned to transports when declaring which units are in Reserve, although stops short of specifically stating that they actually can be put in transports in the first place.
The Deployment rules allow you to place a unit on the table anywhere in the appropriate deployment zone. Since units in Transports under 5th are still considered on the table for in game effects, it can be argued that this does allow the unit to be placed in the transport, as that is still technically putting them on the table in the appropriate zone.
It's fairly clear that they intended for units to be able to start the game, whether on tble or in Reserve, in non-dedicated transports, but the rules are somewhat vague in the whole thing.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/21 23:20:39
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 23:26:58
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Wonderful
Now all we need is someone flashing an email from John Spencer like its from the Ark of the Covenant and we'll have a proper Rules thread.
Anyway, thanks all. Was sure I was going insane but Looks like... Nah I am, feth it
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/21 23:27:31
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
insaniak wrote:The Deployment rules allow you to place a unit on the table anywhere in the appropriate deployment zone. Since units in Transports under 5th are still considered on the table for in game effects...
This is exactly why you are allowed to start units inside non-designated transports. The transport is on the table, and it is in your deployment zone. Therefore, you can deploy a unit inside of it.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/03/21 23:30:21
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/22 01:57:18
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:The Green Git wrote:You can do it as long as it's not a dedicated transport.
If it's a dedicated transport then only the unit it was purchased for can be deployed in it.
Can I have a Page Reference or Rules Quote to back that up please. I'm asking because I cannot find anything to say you can in the rulebook. I know you can Start the game all 2" away from a Access point and embark T1, but not start in the actual transport itself.
Sure... it's on page 2 in the box at the top of the page.
Seriously though, this kind of RAW thinking is what has people arguing about Terminators not having Terminator armor and whether a Rapid Firing weapon can reach 24" because it says "target" and not "range" (a 4th edition dumass RAW argument).
If the rules state that a dedicated transport may only deploy transporting the unit it was purchased for, it is heavily implied that a non-dedicated transport may hold any unit it normally could under the rules. But yes, you are correct that no rule explicitly states you may deploy your own units in your own transports.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/22 02:12:15
Subject: Starting the game in a non dedicated transport
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The Green Git wrote:Gwar! wrote:The Green Git wrote:You can do it as long as it's not a dedicated transport.
If it's a dedicated transport then only the unit it was purchased for can be deployed in it.
Can I have a Page Reference or Rules Quote to back that up please. I'm asking because I cannot find anything to say you can in the rulebook. I know you can Start the game all 2" away from a Access point and embark T1, but not start in the actual transport itself.
Sure... it's on page 2 in the box at the top of the page.
Seriously though, this kind of RAW thinking is what has people arguing about Terminators not having Terminator armor and whether a Rapid Firing weapon can reach 24" because it says "target" and not "range" (a 4th edition dumass RAW argument).
If the rules state that a dedicated transport may only deploy transporting the unit it was purchased for, it is heavily implied that a non-dedicated transport may hold any unit it normally could under the rules. But yes, you are correct that no rule explicitly states you may deploy your own units in your own transports.
That's all I needed to know
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|