Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 02:06:49
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Stabbin' Skarboy
|
This is just a basic Dawn of War question, but when you "move onto the board" do just move the unit using the table edge as the starting point, or do you have to move them on to the edge, then wait until your next movement phase to actually move them. Basically what i'm asking is what can a unit do the turn they come on the table.
|
early bird gets the worm
second mouse gets the cheese
ANYTHING POSTED AFTER 1AM MAY NOT MAKE ANY SENSE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 02:21:21
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
You move them the same way as reserves. You Place them with the front of their base/hull touching the back edge of the board, then move them on as per movement.
You cant choose to leave them off the board, they HAVE to move fully onto the board.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 08:59:15
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
But do they count as moving for the purposes of heavy and rapid fire weapons if you leave them on the table edge?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 09:08:42
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Sacramento, CA
|
troy_tempest wrote:But do they count as moving for the purposes of heavy and rapid fire weapons if you leave them on the table edge?
Yes. The unit does not simply appear at the table edge. It moves onto the table.
|
Agitator noster fulminis percussus est |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 14:10:28
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
Oh dear, bad news for my broadsides...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 14:20:54
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Your Broadsides should have Advanced Stabilization Systems, so no problems there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 14:44:45
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Small note here, Broadsides with ASS, do not roll SnP the turn they come on, since rolling a 1 would result in them not fully moving onto the board, and so is ignored under the "Ignore any rule that would prevent a model coming in from reserves" rule
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 15:39:31
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But ASS would not prevent moving onto the board if you didn't roll snake eyes. Therefore do you either:
-Make a difficult terrain check and move on regularly (no shooting allowed) if the result of the difficult terrain check is snake eyes.
-Move on regularly in any circumstances (no shooting allowed).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 16:46:15
Subject: Re:Dawn of War question
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
RB, page 94 wrote:If a unit has a special rule forcing it to move in a
specific direction (such as ‘rage’, for example) or that
could stop it from moving, the rule is ignored in the
phase when it arrives from Reserve. Emphasis mine.
As a double one would stop them from moving on to the table SAP models with bases wider than one inch effectively ignore SAP on the turn they move on.
In other words, Gwar! is correct.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 20:38:01
Subject: Re:Dawn of War question
|
 |
Stabbin' Skarboy
|
Alright thanks for the explanation.
|
early bird gets the worm
second mouse gets the cheese
ANYTHING POSTED AFTER 1AM MAY NOT MAKE ANY SENSE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 21:01:58
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Rolling a double 1 does *not* stop them from moving onto the board.
There is a rule that you can't move off of the board, there is no rule that you must move all the way onto the board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 21:20:07
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
So you're saying it's ok to moving just the barrel of a vehicle on to the table and then shoot away?
No thank you. If a model is not wholly on the table then it is not on the table.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/25 01:34:07
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It is fine for you to play that way, but there is no rule that states that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/25 05:56:16
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
coredump wrote:It is fine for you to play that way, but there is no rule that states that.
Question: Where is the rule that says you CAN have models off the board. Unless the rulebook explicitly states you may, you cannot. -Waits patiently for Page References-
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/25 09:08:52
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Come on, don't play the "there is no rule that say I can't"-card.
There is no rule that say models in reserve can't shoot either.
When playing games you often have to assume things that are obvious as they are not written in the rules. I think it's a fair assumption that models not wholly on the table can't directly affect the game.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/25 14:24:30
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Despite attempts to re-characterize what I am saying... I am *not* saying 'nothing says I can't'; I am simply following what rules *do* say.
The rule says to move onto the board.
The rule says to roll, and move that much. So with a roll of 1-1, the combination of rules say to move 1" onto the board.
Therefore, by moving the termie 1" onto the board, I am following the rules.
*you* need to find a rule that makes an exception, or that invalidates those rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/25 15:00:55
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Ok, How about you show us a rule that says models can ever be off the board in any situation other than in reserve?
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/25 16:17:15
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
A model isn't "off the board" if it has moved partially onto the board. In fact, if moving the model partially onto the board leaves it in a precarius position you could even push it further onto the board using the "wobbly model" clause in the BRB.
Unless there is a rule somewhere that states a model moving onto the board must move the entirety of it's footprint past the edge of the board. I couldn't find such a rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/25 18:03:18
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Democratus wrote:A model isn't "off the board" if it has moved partially onto the board. In fact, if moving the model partially onto the board leaves it in a precarius position you could even push it further onto the board using the "wobbly model" clause in the BRB.
Unless there is a rule somewhere that states a model moving onto the board must move the entirety of it's footprint past the edge of the board. I couldn't find such a rule.
The thing is, you don't haver to find a rule. You have to find a rule saying that a model can be half off and half on. Unless you can find that, you cannot do it.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 03:15:53
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar, I showed you the rules, and I followed those rules.
The rule says to move onto the board.
I followed that rule.
The rule says to move 1"
I followed that rule.
I am following the rules.
If the rule said to move "all the way" onto the board, you would have a point. But that is *not* what the rule says. I followed the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 03:23:40
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yet you didn't show me the rule that says that you may move off the board or be partially off the board.
There are plenty rules regarding what happens when things go off the board (blast markers, deep strike and falling back come to mind right away).
So again, I ask, Show me where it says you may be half off the board? if you are not willing to do that I'll have to quit this discussion as you are deliberately being evasive.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 03:24:58
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
Baneblades only move 6", right? Arn't they longer than 6"? Does that mean a Baneblade would never be allowed to move onto the table if it doesn't start on it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 03:26:09
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Aduro wrote:Baneblades only move 6", right? Arn't they longer than 6"? Does that mean a Baneblade would never be allowed to move onto the table if it doesn't start on it? RaW, yes. Same issue occurs with Monoliths not Deep Striking for Example. That or you should have to rotate the model to move it on sideways. Just another example of GW not being able to write.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/03/26 03:26:56
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 05:41:13
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, it is an example of you not accepting the rules for what they *SAY*.
I have told you three times now.
The rule says "move onto the board"
i am *following* that rule.
That rule does not say 'move completely onto the board'. therefore, if you move partially onto the board, you are still *on the board*.
Find a rule that says a vehicle may "turn to the right".
Find a rule that says a vehicle can pivot 45 degrees.
Find a rule that says infantry can move 2"
You can't.
But you can find a rule that a vehicle can turn.
You can find a rule that a vehicle can pivot.
You can find a rule that infantry can move up to 6".
When there is a general rule that covers the specific situation, then there is no need for a list of those specific rules.
The rule says to move onto the board.
Whether you move the Land Raider 10" or 6", it is being moved "onto the board". Therefore you do not need a list of every possible situation. The general rule already covers it..
Therefore I am *following* the rules.
The rules say "onto the board"
All the way onto the board, is onto the board.
Partially onto the board, is onto the board.
The rules say "onto the board"
Therefore I am *following* the rules.
Find a rule that says that moving 'onto the board' is defined as 'all the way onto the board', and you may have a case.
Find a rule that says a model can never be partially on the board, and you may have a case.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 09:45:46
Subject: Re:Dawn of War question
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
coredump wrote:Find a rule that says that moving 'onto the board' is defined as 'all the way onto the board', and you may have a case.
I find it interesting you can make that argument without providing proof that moving 'onto the board' includes being 'partially' on the board. As an exclusive ruleset, 40k puts the burden of proof is on you.
By this logic we would, what, balance the baneblade, broadside, etc. on the edge of the table until the next turn?
Democratus wrote: if moving the model partially onto the board leaves it in a precarius position you could even push it further onto the board using the "wobbly model" clause in the BRB.
if you want to quote that sidebar as a rule rather than offhand commentary from the writers, it refers to terrain pieces specifically, which you would be hard pressed to define a table edge as.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 09:50:32
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
er how does work on a baneblade? As it can only move 6" so could never make it onto the board?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/26 09:51:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 13:00:13
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
Unless the rule for entering from reserves says "move the model entirely onto the board" then this is not required.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 13:33:29
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I find it interesting you can make that argument without providing proof that moving 'onto the board' includes being 'partially' on the board. As an exclusive ruleset, 40k puts the burden of proof is on you.
By this logic we would, what, balance the baneblade, broadside, etc. on the edge of the table until the next turn?
Try it this way
I find it interesting you can make that argument without providing proof that 'turning' includes 'turning to the right'. As an exclusive ruleset, 40k puts the burden of proof is on you.
By this logic we would, what, balance the baneblade, broadside, etc. on the edge of the table until the next turn?
Or, if you rather, the rules say you can move into terrain, it never says you can move 'partially' into terrain. (It implies it in places, but that is not the same.)
Turning inherently includes Turning to the right and turnging to the left; because both are 'turning'.
Moving onto the board includes partially onto the board, and completely onto the board; because both are 'onto the board'.
the rule, as written, already includes moving partially on; just like it includes moving completely on.
Or are you going to also argue that you can't move 'completely' on because it does not explicitly state that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 13:48:11
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
I wonder if I could deploy using the same criteria.
|
<insert amusing quote here> |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/26 14:07:13
Subject: Dawn of War question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
You did read the reserve rules right? When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge. Onto the table doesn't include "Partially onto the the table" or "Off the table" but it does include "Fully onto the table". See: any (English, not that bastardised version known as American) dictionary. Anyway, I'm considering asking a mod to lock this thread since all you are doing is trolling and failing to back up your arguments. This thread is going nowhere.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/26 14:08:22
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|