Switch Theme:

Do teleport homers benefit allies?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







So a Scout squad has a teleport homer. Can allied Grey knight terminators benefit or not?

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





If I knew, I'd tell you.

I think so, as "friends" can use it... so I assume this means allies can use it too.

The oonivers vill burn!  
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch






Odenton, MD

RAW, there is not instance of "Your" so yes they can. But also under RAW any terminator can use it, even your opponents.... This may have been cleared up in a FAQ some were.
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Clthomps wrote:RAW, there is not instance of "Your" so yes they can. But also under RAW any terminator can use it, even your opponents.... This may have been cleared up in a FAQ some were.


In fact it has: Q. Am I able to gain the benefits of any of my
opponent’s wargear or special rules, such as
Teleport Homers, Chaos Icons, Tyranid Synapse,
Necron Resurrection Orbs etc?
A. In most occasions this is clear, as the rules use
the words ‘friendly’ or ‘own’ to indicate your
units, and ‘enemy’ for the opponent’s. On the
other hand, some rules clearly specify that they
affect ‘friend and foe’. A few rules are, however,
slightly ambiguous as they don’t clearly specify
this distinction. As a general principle, we
recommend that you cannot use or gain the
benefits from any of the wargear or special rules
of your opponent’s army, unless specifically
stated in the rule itself (‘friend or foe’) or in an
official FAQ.

from: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2030054_40k_Rulebook_March_2009.pdf

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I think he means Allies as in the Official sense (Grey Knights Terminators).

I would say no, as they may have terminator armour, but the Daemonhunters "version" doesnt allow you to use SM Homers.

Clarify with your opponent is the best i can suggest.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/28 19:45:15


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Gwar! wrote:
I would say no, as they may have terminator armour, but the Daemonhunters "version" doesnt allow you to use SM Homers.



That is not a rule. Just because Daemonhunters have a different version of a Teleport Homer in their codex doesn't mean they wouldn't benefit from a SM homer in their army.

In this particular case, the rulebook FAQ answer clarifies the situation that yes, any friendly DS terminators could use any friendly teleport homer.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







yakface wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
I would say no, as they may have terminator armour, but the Daemonhunters "version" doesnt allow you to use SM Homers.

That is not a rule. Just because Daemonhunters have a different version of a Teleport Homer in their codex doesn't mean they wouldn't benefit from a SM homer in their army.

In this particular case, the rulebook FAQ answer clarifies the situation that yes, any friendly DS terminators could use any friendly teleport homer.
It appears I have been corrected

I wasn't fully sure as I have no DH codex to hand, but now that I think about it, yes, It makes more sense sine they are in the same "army" so to speak (that is, same FoC)

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







Thanks yak.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in se
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend




Uppsala, Sweden

Interesting example: If you have a scouts-on-bikes-squad with a Locator Beacon, and you are playing a game with some strange allies (apocalypse maybe, or fun houserules) Your ally could use your Locator beacon to deepstrike a Lictor, a darkeldar raider and an ork tunneling wehicle. As long as you are all in the same alliance things should work out just fine... But make sure you keep some enemies nearby to keep them busy once they are deployed. Because I ca see a great deal of risk involved in this allaince :-)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: