Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/01 03:25:06
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If a vehicle has the Scouting USR and and has the ability to transport figures, like the Valkyries and Vendettas, starts the game with a unit with out the Scouting USR loaded into it does it lose Scouting? Could it still outflank if I put into reserve??
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/01 04:03:57
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
It can Outflank if the unit inside it can also Outflank. Otherwise, yes, it loses the Outflank ability.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/01 05:25:38
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
don_mondo wrote:It can Outflank if the unit inside it can also Outflank. Otherwise, yes, it loses the Outflank ability.
Can you explain this? A unit with the ability to outflank may only confer the ability to outflank on a dedicated transport but I can't see any rule that says a transport which already has outflank on it's own could not outflank with units without the special deployment rules inside it.
Regarding a normal scout move I also see no reason that the vehicle with scout could not execute it's scout move with non scout infantry inside it.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/01 15:27:20
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
If a transport (dedicated or no) can outflank, then the unit inside is dragged along with it regardless if the unit can or not.
Its the way Khans rule about Dedicated Transports outflanking works
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/01 16:23:03
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
The Khan gives "all units" the Outflank ability, so that's not a good example.
Nowhere does it say that a non-dedicated transport can Outflank with a unit inside that doesn't have the Outflank ability. Just like Infiltrators not "dragging along" their Dedicated Transport to the front lines.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/01 16:28:11
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Way I see it, vultures have outflank and therefore they can outflank. Why would the passengers be getting an opinon?
Its the way Khans rule about Dedicated Transports outflanking works
Not really no, Khan gives the unit outflank and that means they can do it in their dedicated transport no matter what rules the transports might or might not have on the matter (the transport itself never gains outflank from Khan because it has no combat tactics to trade in).
So thats pretty much an example that has nothing at all to do with the point at hand.
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/01 16:40:46
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Drunkspleen wrote:don_mondo wrote:It can Outflank if the unit inside it can also Outflank. Otherwise, yes, it loses the Outflank ability.
Can you explain this? A unit with the ability to outflank may only confer the ability to outflank on a dedicated transport but I can't see any rule that says a transport which already has outflank on it's own could not outflank with units without the special deployment rules inside it.
Regarding a normal scout move I also see no reason that the vehicle with scout could not execute it's scout move with non scout infantry inside it.
Simple. It specifically states that a unit which can outflnak confers that ability to it's dedicated transport. Now, show me a statement that says a transport can confer Outflank to a transported unit. If there ain't no such statement, it doesn't happen. So the reason would be, it doesn't say you can.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 01:14:52
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
don_mondo wrote:Simple. It specifically states that a unit which can outflnak confers that ability to it's dedicated transport. Now, show me a statement that says a transport can confer Outflank to a transported unit. If there ain't no such statement, it doesn't happen. So the reason would be, it doesn't say you can.
It doesn't need to because they aren't outflanking, they are just coming in from reserves riding in the vehicle, only the vehicle is outflanking. I'd be interested to see your take on the other half of the question too, could the vehicle start on the board and make a scout move after deployment if the unit in it aren't scouts?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/02 02:03:50
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 01:31:15
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Drunkspleen wrote:It doesn't need to because they aren't outflanking, they are just coming in from reserves riding in the vehicle, only the vehicle is outflanking. I'd be interested to see your take on the other half of the question to, could the vehicle start on the board and make a scout move after deployment if the unit in it aren't scouts?
Yes, because the unit inside are not moving, the transport is, so the unit do not need the scout rule. They would be unable to disembark in the Scout Move however because they cannot move in the Scout move, only the vehicle can. P.s. I made a mistake about Khans ability Earlier, my bad. Still doesnt change the fact that if the transport can outflank, the unit inside it goes with it regardless.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/04/02 01:39:31
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 02:11:41
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Drunkspleen wrote:don_mondo wrote:Simple. It specifically states that a unit which can outflnak confers that ability to it's dedicated transport. Now, show me a statement that says a transport can confer Outflank to a transported unit. If there ain't no such statement, it doesn't happen. So the reason would be, it doesn't say you can.
It doesn't need to because they aren't outflanking, they are just coming in from reserves riding in the vehicle, only the vehicle is outflanking.
Yes, just like people saying that Drop Pods were Deepstriking, not the squad inside...so you could assault out of one. We know how that went...
I'd be interested to see your take on the other half of the question too, could the vehicle start on the board and make a scout move after deployment if the unit in it aren't scouts?
They cannot be held in Reserve and Deployed via Outflank without the rule to do so. If already on the board inside the vehicle I would say they could. I'm sure the codex will have some reference to this situation, since it's the first time something like this has come up.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 02:18:25
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Nurgleboy77 wrote:I'm sure the codex will have some reference to this situation, since it's the first time something like this has come up.
Now what has 40K taught you about hope?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 02:25:17
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Neconilis wrote:Nurgleboy77 wrote:I'm sure the codex will have some reference to this situation, since it's the first time something like this has come up.
Now what has 40K taught you about hope?
There is none. Suck it
After reading through this thread, my Unshakable faith in... my view on it (not the Emperor, He protects the Faithful) has been shaken.
I'm starting to think we will need an official Errata on this one lads. (No, an offical FAQ isnt good enough)
(No, John Spencer doesn't count either - Just Pre-empting it there)
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 02:30:52
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
The frakking Codex isn't even out yet.....sheesh!
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 03:52:30
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Believe me, I would be very glad if it were possible. My primary army is IG. I wouldn't have to worry about how I'm going to get the Outflank ability for the passengers that I want to drop off somewhere along the 24" path when the Valk/Vend shows up.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 03:55:48
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Does it not make it kind of useless for a transport to be able to outflank but carry a unit?
While I know that doesn't have any bearing on the rules, it still seems kind of a major oversight, even for GW (and these are the guys who failed to pick up on Dual Lash Mayhem in months of playtesting).
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 05:29:41
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Nurgleboy77 wrote:Yes, just like people saying that Drop Pods were Deepstriking, not the squad inside...so you could assault out of one. We know how that went...
The difference here of course being that the rules refer to a unit disembarking from a deepstriking transport as a deepstriking unit, but I do see your point, I just disagree with it.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 05:56:54
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Nurgleboy77 wrote:The frakking Codex isn't even out yet.....sheesh!
I was just trying to be amusing, hopefully someone somewhere snickered at least. But yeah, RAW this issue really isn't covered and it would be nice to see it addressed sometime soon, or actually within the new IG codex, though honestly I really doubt that one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 06:00:22
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
What?
You mean you actually want GW to clarify something in a codex w/o making us wait a year for a FAQ to clarify it? Is that even legal?
Madness, I say, madness!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 06:10:18
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Alerian wrote:What?
You mean you actually want GW to clarify something in a codex w/o making us wait a year for a FAQ to clarify it? Is that even legal?
Madness, I say, madness! 
Well, they still havent given us a Daemons FAQ. And um... Refuse to... Update Old Codex's because they are greedy gaks.
So.. ya its not legal... I guess.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 09:42:51
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Valkyries and V3endettas get the ability to outflank or have the scout rule?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 12:49:01
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
They're going to have the scout rule. Personally, I'm a lot more scared of scouting skimmers that start on the table than outflanking skimmers.
|
Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right
New to the game and can't win? Read this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 12:58:21
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Hollismason wrote:Valkyries and V3endettas get the ability to outflank or have the scout rule?
They are meant to (so many people have said so it seems all but guaranteed at this point) have scout, I think they might even be able to deploy non scouts during the scout move because of thier special deepstrike disembarks.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 13:20:18
Subject: Re:Scouting question
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
UK
|
A bit OT from the OP but...
If a dedicated transport comes with a unit with the infiltrate USR (Or scouts) then that vehicle can outflank.. Can it outflank if it has IC in the vehicle with them?
If that IC prohibits the ability to infiltrate with the unit, does that also mean that the IC cannot outflank with that unit? Or as it is a different manourver.. is it allowes?
Thanks
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Friend of mine just sent me this:
"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ." Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!
Heh. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 14:19:41
Subject: Re:Scouting question
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Razerous wrote:A bit OT from the OP but...
If a dedicated transport comes with a unit with the infiltrate USR (Or scouts) then that vehicle can outflank.. Can it outflank if it has IC in the vehicle with them?
If that IC prohibits the ability to infiltrate with the unit, does that also mean that the IC cannot outflank with that unit? Or as it is a different manourver.. is it allowes?
Thanks
Back to the original question, it is silly to argue/discuss because we have no idea how the rule is written in the codex.
As for this particular question, no an IC would not gain an ability simply by joining the unit, especially since Scout is an asterisked USR which means the unit loses it when joined by an IC.
But if you want to look at the broader question (and assume that the IG codex will give Valkyrie 'Scout' and not have a proviso about the units inside), no a unit embarked on a transport would not gain the Scout ability because there is nothing in the rules that says they do.
While it would be legal for the transport to arrive via outflank it would not be for the unit inside, so it isn't that the Valkyrie would be 'losing' Scout, it would just be that the unit arriving inside of it via outflanking as well would be breaking the rules and is therefore not allowed. But again, this is all completely pointless until the actual rules text is seen.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 15:39:26
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
If you take the theory that a transport can't do anything that the passengers can't. Then what about Deep Strike? "Sorry, your Drop Pods can't actually deep strike, because the Marines in it don't have deep strike themselves?" I'm not buying it. Transports can do all sorts of things their passengers can't do. Travel at more than infantry speed, fly over terrain, fire heavy weapons on the move and so on. Why pick up on one ability now and announce that the inablity of it's passengers to do it stops it being used? It seems a very inconsistent approach to the rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/02 15:39:47
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 15:48:45
Subject: Scouting question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Hymirl wrote:If you take the theory that a transport can't do anything that the passengers can't. Then what about Deep Strike?
"Sorry, your Drop Pods can't actually deep strike, because the Marines in it don't have deep strike themselves?"
I'm not buying it. Transports can do all sorts of things their passengers can't do. Travel at more than infantry speed, fly over terrain, fire heavy weapons on the move and so on. Why pick up on one ability now and announce that the inablity of it's passengers to do it stops it being used? It seems a very inconsistent approach to the rules.
^^ that was my point. The marines count as deep striking, but they dont actually deep strike themselves, same as a unit in an outflanking transport count as outflanking, but don't outflank themselves.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/02 17:31:48
Subject: Re:Scouting question
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
I'm not buying it. Transports can do all sorts of things their passengers can't do. Travel at more than infantry speed, fly over terrain, fire heavy weapons on the move and so on. Why pick up on one ability now and announce that the inablity of it's passengers to do it stops it being used?
Because all of your cited examples are detailed in the rules as an ability of a vehicle/transport? And the "one" ability we are talking about isn't?
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/03 00:03:51
Subject: Re:Scouting question
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Nurgleboy77 wrote:Because all of your cited examples are detailed in the rules as an ability of a vehicle/transport? And the "one" ability we are talking about isn't?
But Scout is listed in the Valkerie's abilties, thats my point.
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
 |
 |
|