Switch Theme:

IC's splitting attacks  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Is this legal? Ran into a situation in a tournament where my slannish flying demon prince (which isn't even an IC) was equa-distant from a 6 man unit of dire avengers and the waveserpent that had transported them. I wanted to engage the dire avengers and put all my attacks on the waveserpent. From what I can see, as long as I assault the closest unit (pg34 assaulting multiple enemy units) I can do this, and with the lash of torment I moved the dire avengers so that they are exactly the same distance away from my demon prince, and that if I contac the dire avenger I'lll make contactwith the waveserpent at the same time. Assuming the assault is legal, may I split my attacks between the two units?

We resolved it by just having me attack the dire avengers, and later on I cut up the wave serpent.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No. A Unit consisting of a Single Model may never assault more than one unit.

This is because of the way the assault rules work, in that within the charging unit, the closest model to the enemy that is the declared target must move into BTB contact with THAT unit only. It is only then that the rest of the unit get a chance to engage other units. Single Models are still units, albeit units of 1 model, so do not have a chance to multi assault.

In the situation you describe there, you would have to declare either the wave serpent or the Dire Avengers as the target for your assault, then move into BTB contact with the closest model/ point while also remaining more than 1" away from the other unit, so it is a moot point anyway since it cannot be legally in BTB contact with both the transport and the unit at once.

And dont forget that you have to be in BTB or within 2" of a model in the same unit to get any attacks.

And now a couple of quotes to back up my babbling:
Page 34 wrote:All of the models in an assaulting unit make their assault move following the same rules as in the Movement phase, with the exception that they may be moved within 1" of enemy models. This means that assaulting models may still not move through friendly or enemy models, may not pass through gaps narrower than their base, and may not move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not assaulting.
Page 34 wrote:As usual the closest attacking model must be moved to contact the closest model in the enemy unit against which the assault was declared. Then remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units, as long as they keep following the rules for moving assaulting models.
Bold added for the important bitz
Edits: Emperors Bowels I cannot spell.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2009/04/05 03:26:09


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

I'll agree with Gwar on this one regarding not being able to assault two different units with a single model.
However, if you should happen to find your model in btb with two different units, then yes, you can split your attacks between the two units.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







don_mondo wrote:I'll agree with Gwar on this one regarding not being able to assault two different units with a single model.
However, if you should happen to find your model in btb with two different units, then yes, you can split your attacks between the two units.
Aye, that is perfectly legal and possible. That situation can only occur though as a result of the enemy charging you , so you end up in BtB with an IC and Unit or 2 different units.


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: