Switch Theme:

I can't find my Ork Codex: Ork Leadership vs Neural Shredder.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander







Callidus assassin hops out and uses her neural shredder vs. Orks. What is their leadership to determine the roll needed to wound? Does the Mob rule apply or their base leadership.

Thanks

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




This is still a debated issue. But the Mob rule of the Orks state: "Ork mobs may always choose to substitute the number of Orks in their mob for their Leadership value."

Note it says it (Mob rule) changes the actual Leadership value, no where in the rule does it mention anything about making Leadership tests of any type. So, by RAW the LD value of the orks are now equal to the number of Orks in their unit or their own LD depending on which one the player chooses to use (also in the rule).

Some people would like to argue that the unit has the new LD value and not the orks, but the RB does not support this stance as only a value (model characteristic) are only ever something an individual model has, and no where does any book, RB or either, ever state a unit that has a LD value or Str value, etc...This is also supported in the Ork codex which explains that the Weirdboy also uses the number of orks in the mob for their LD as well even when making psychic tests.

Sorry for the long answer, this one is simply not an easy "yes, no" type.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Scotland

The same situation arises with the use of Mind War.
However I think the answer has always been that no characteristic other than Attacks can be higher than 10. When the Orks are numbered 11 they become fearless yet there Ld value remains at 10. So a nueral Shredder would need a 6 to wound, and a Farseer using Mind War would have to role their Ld 10 against an Orks Ld10.

An Ork weirdboy can't automatically pass a psychic test if he has 12 Orks around him. 1+1 & 6+6 is still a perils and 11 is still a fail. His Ld value can't be higher than 10.

It's just that when the Orks number more than 10 they become fearless.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Leadership is Capped at 10. Even if you had a 32 Man Squad, their Leadership for ALL effects is 10. 10 is the maximum any statistic except attacks and Armour Value may go.

The only time you cant claim Ld 10 IIRC is when something Specifically states "Your leadership becomes X" like Clulexus Assassins or Pariahs do

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

I'm a regular user of my favorite lady, the Callidus assassin. IMO, the Orks are LD 10 if the Mob rule is in effect.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







don_mondo wrote:I'm a regular user of my favorite lady, the Callidus assassin. IMO, the Orks are LD 10 if the Mob rule is in effect.
Unless the mob is between 1 and 9

And it had been previously clarified a lot by GW (not that it means anything nowadays) that things that fix your LD at a certain number overrides the Mob Rule.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




Chicago

Ealiom wrote:The same situation arises with the use of Mind War.


I would disagree with this. Mind War is used against a single model. The Ork Mob Rule only applies to groups of Orks taking leadership tests.

40k armies:
Fantasy: TK, Dwarfs, VC 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




pakman wrote:
Ealiom wrote:The same situation arises with the use of Mind War.


I would disagree with this. Mind War is used against a single model. The Ork Mob Rule only applies to groups of Orks taking leadership tests.


Actually, the rule says nothing whatsoever about Leadership tests:

padixon wrote:But the Mob rule of the Orks state: "Ork mobs may always choose to substitute the number of Orks in their mob for their Leadership value."


Just that they can substitute the number of Orks for the Leadership value. Not "only when taking leadership tests," but "always."
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Columbia, SC (USA)

Ealiom wrote:The same situation arises with the use of Mind War.
However I think the answer has always been that no characteristic other than Attacks can be higher than 10. When the Orks are numbered 11 they become fearless yet there Ld value remains at 10. So a nueral Shredder would need a 6 to wound, and a Farseer using Mind War would have to role their Ld 10 against an Orks Ld10.

An Ork weirdboy can't automatically pass a psychic test if he has 12 Orks around him. 1+1 & 6+6 is still a perils and 11 is still a fail. His Ld value can't be higher than 10.

It's just that when the Orks number more than 10 they become fearless.


Page 6 of the BRB limits characteristics to 10. No special rule or wargear modifier can raise it higher.

The secret to painting a really big army is to keep at it. You can't reach your destination if you never take any steps.

I build IG...lots and lots of IG.  
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy





Jersey

pakman wrote:I would disagree with this. Mind War is used against a single model. The Ork Mob Rule only applies to groups of Orks taking leadership tests.



padixon wrote:This is still a debated issue. But the Mob rule of the Orks state: "Ork mobs may always choose to substitute the number of Orks in their mob for their Leadership value."

Note it says it (Mob rule) changes the actual Leadership value, no where in the rule does it mention anything about making Leadership tests of any type. So, by RAW the LD value of the orks are now equal to the number of Orks in their unit or their own LD depending on which one the player chooses to use (also in the rule).

Some people would like to argue that the unit has the new LD value and not the orks, but the RB does not support this stance as only a value (model characteristic) are only ever something an individual model has, and no where does any book, RB or either, ever state a unit that has a LD value or Str value, etc...This is also supported in the Ork codex which explains that the Weirdboy also uses the number of orks in the mob for their LD as well even when making psychic tests.

Sorry for the long answer, this one is simply not an easy "yes, no" type.


i dont need to add anything to this


early bird gets the worm
second mouse gets the cheese
ANYTHING POSTED AFTER 1AM MAY NOT MAKE ANY SENSE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: