Switch Theme:

Do broadside railguns count for LOS?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Australia

Is it a fact that my opponent needs to see the body, arms, head or legs of my broadside in order to shoot at it, thus if all he can see were the railguns there would be no shot?

Edit: um, but yakface said in another thread they still block line of sight when shooting passed the broadsides. Yes?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/21 06:31:57


109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

onlainari wrote:Is it a fact that my opponent needs to see the body, arms, head or legs of my broadside in order to shoot at it, thus if all he can see were the railguns there would be no shot?

Edit: um, but yakface said in another thread they still block line of sight when shooting passed the broadsides. Yes?


Yes.

To target the broadsides themselves you have to see a part of the body as defined in the rulebook. Gun barrels are not defined as part of the body.


But when trying to draw LOS past the broadsides all parts of a model that physically block LOS do exactly that (block line of sight) as there are no exemptions in the rules for those parts of the model in that situation.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: