Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 01:59:30
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
I noticed in the listing for the master of ordinance that no template size is listed. I assume that it's the large blast but wonder what other people think?
Oh, and yeah chalk another one up to GW's great editing process!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/04/22 02:02:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 02:13:11
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Oh yeah! Lets all Insult GW even though the rules are clear! It makes us Doubleplusstough!
Perhaps looking at Page 58 Of the rulebook rather than spouting of garbage might help.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 02:17:48
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
page 58 ... "Unless their profiles specifies otherwise, all ordance blast weapons use the large blast marker" gah beaten to it
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/22 02:18:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 02:41:12
Subject: Re:What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Those rules are clear?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 04:51:03
Subject: Re:What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Daggermaw wrote:Those rules are clear?
Yes...
Ordnance = 5in template, unless otherwise stated, just as "blast"= 3in template unless otherwise stated.
Jack
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/22 04:51:42
The rules:
1) Style over Substance.
2) Attitude is Everything.
3) Always take it to the Edge.
4) Break the Rules. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 05:10:59
Subject: Re:What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
I mean in the fact that instead of writing in the master of ordinances entry that it uses a large blast template, I'm supposed to look in another book for one sentence in 100 pages of rules, is clear?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 05:17:46
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
Hopping on the pain wagon
|
Because ordnance have extra rules, that is why.
Large blast, no special armor pen ability
Ordnance, special magical abilities (I encourage you to look in the rule book for it)
Also, you might want to look at barrage, which ordnance also has a bonus for.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 05:25:56
Subject: Re:What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Well the entry for the Colossus seems to have no problem writing: Ordnance barrage 1, large blast.
Maybe now you understand my confusion/frustration?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 09:30:24
Subject: Re:What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
The OP is definitely right. It's a mess!
The weapon never says you use a blast marker. Ordnance weapons still needs to tell you to use a blast marker to have a blast marker (which then will be the 5" one unless it says 3"). The Master of Ordnance Artillery Bombardment doesn't say blast so do not have a blast marker.
In it's scattering rules it refers to "the template". The rulebook tells us a template is the teardrop-shaped Flamer template.
So RAW this weapon does not use a blast marker!
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 09:59:36
Subject: Re:What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Webbe wrote:The OP is definitely right. It's a mess!
The weapon never says you use a blast marker. Ordnance weapons still needs to tell you to use a blast marker to have a blast marker (which then will be the 5" one unless it says 3"). The Master of Ordnance Artillery Bombardment doesn't say blast so do not have a blast marker.
In it's scattering rules it refers to "the template". The rulebook tells us a template is the teardrop-shaped Flamer template.
So RAW this weapon does not use a blast marker!
Except it's a barrage, and per page 32 "All barrage weapons use blast markers and consequently use the rules for blast weapons".
I'm not saying it's a smart way to write it, but there's no basis for saying there's no blast for this attack.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 12:14:38
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
|
Pretty sticky. RAI wouldbe large blast.
|
DC:80S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D++A+++/mWD219R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 15:26:18
Subject: Re:What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
*Current meatspace coordinates redacted*
|
Sticky? Hardly...
page 58 ... "Unless their profiles specifies otherwise, all ordance blast weapons use the large blast marker" gah beaten to it
page 32 "All barrage weapons use blast markers and consequently use the rules for blast weapons".
Is this an Ordinance Barrage we're talking about here? Yes. Are there any rules that obviate either statement above from the BGB? No.
Just follow the (very unambiguos) rules in the book and you get to the MOO firing a 5" Ordinance Blast template. The fact that the notes in the entry don't specifically mention the template or it's size might seem inconvenient, but it doesn't change the rules even a tiny bit.
|
He knows that I know and you know that he actually doesn't know the rules at all. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/22 21:53:15
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Serious Squig Herder
|
He doesn't use a template? Godly MoO lol?
|
blarg |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/23 00:45:43
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Wow a lot of Bile in this thread.
I'll try and be as nice as possible then.
Firstly, the MoO does not use a "Template" at all, it uses the Large Blast Marker. "Template" has a very specific meaning, which is the tear-drop shaped one used for Flamers and the like.
Secondly, the MoO shot has the type as "Ordnance Barrage". As per page 58 "Unless their profile specifies otherwise, all ordnance blast weapons use the large blast marker."
And to address the "Ordnance Barrage isnt Ordnance" quip I have seen, well, it is. It has its own special rules that are used along with the normal Barrage rules. And also, there is no such thing as a "Blast Marker" but rather there is a "Large Blast Marker" and a "Normal Blast Marker" (see page 30) so even though the Barrage Rules say to use a "Blast marker" you still use the correct type according to what weapon it is.
So in conclusion, the MoO uses the Large Blast Marker, plain and simple. Anyone saying otherwise does not have a firm grasp of the rules and should be ignored.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/23 15:47:09
Subject: Re:What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Webbe wrote:The OP is definitely right. It's a mess!
The weapon never says you use a blast marker. Ordnance weapons still needs to tell you to use a blast marker to have a blast marker (which then will be the 5" one unless it says 3"). The Master of Ordnance Artillery Bombardment doesn't say blast so do not have a blast marker.
In it's scattering rules it refers to "the template". The rulebook tells us a template is the teardrop-shaped Flamer template.
So RAW this weapon does not use a blast marker!
Except it's a barrage, and per page 32 "All barrage weapons use blast markers and consequently use the rules for blast weapons".
I'm not saying it's a smart way to write it, but there's no basis for saying there's no blast for this attack.
I agree that that is the way you should read it.
Still, technically Ordnance Barrage is not Barrage any more than Jump Infantry is Infantry.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/02 18:12:22
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
if you read the lastes post on GW's site, theres an article on there detailing some uses for command squads and the Master of ordinance is specified to use the sats of an earthshaker cannon, so large blast and what ever the S and AP is
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/02 18:17:36
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/02 18:18:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/02 22:30:36
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
I understand your intentions, but we all know that GW puts info up on their site to make things look better than they are.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/02 22:35:57
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
It doesn't matter that the website says it uses the Large Marker, It could say it uses a banana It still wouldn't mean anything. It just so happens that the rules are actually pretty clear on this anyway.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/02 23:20:20
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Now I want a "Master of Monkeys" or some such who tosses bananas...
Jack
|
The rules:
1) Style over Substance.
2) Attitude is Everything.
3) Always take it to the Edge.
4) Break the Rules. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 15:30:19
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
Modquisition edit: What he meant to say was that he agrees with Gwar, except for the bananas, because that would just be wrong.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/05 11:59:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 16:05:26
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
[edited by modquisition]
The only thing that matters about rules are rules resources, they are what you follow, that was Gwar's point and it is absolutely correct.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/05 12:00:56
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 16:05:54
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
Gwar understands you agree, he just is sleep and rum deprived.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 19:23:27
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
InquisitorFabius wrote:Gwar understands you agree, he just is sleep and rum deprived.
The Inquisitor is Correct. You people should know by now!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 06:14:52
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
I can show you a battle report where the player debarked from a transport and fired a heavy weapon. Does that mean that the rules are wrong and the battle report was right? No. Battle reports (and articles on GW's website) are not rules. If the two disagree, then the rules always take precedence. An article on GW's website does not prove anything nor is it support for your arguments.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 11:51:47
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)
The Great State of Texas
|
Thread being closed temporarily whilsts the old man of Dakka reviews.
EDIT: Thread re-opened, private messages sent to various parties.
Gentlemen, a reminder, Dakka Rule #1 is be polite. Argue the position, not the person, avoid direct attacks and flaming.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/05 12:03:36
-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/06 05:13:17
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
Toronto (GTA), Ontario
|
something doesn't make sense...
"Unless their profiles specifies otherwise, all ordance blast weapons use the large blast marker"
wouldn't it indicate the normal blast marker if it says ordance blast in the profile and not ordance or ordance large blast? just stating from what you all wrote since I don't have by BRB on me atm (GASP!!!)
-Orkishly
|
Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/06 05:16:39
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
orkishlyorkish wrote:something doesn't make sense... "Unless their profiles specifies otherwise, all ordance blast weapons use the large blast marker" wouldn't it indicate the normal blast marker if it says ordance blast in the profile and not ordance or ordance large blast? just stating from what you all wrote since I don't have by BRB on me atm (GASP!!!) -Orkishly
What the hell are you on about? If a Weapon type is "Ordnance Blast", it uses the large blast template, JUST AS IT SAYS IN THE RULEBOOK. How can you possibly read "Unless their profiles specifies otherwise, all ordnance blast weapons use the large blast marker" as meaning they use the small one?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/06 05:17:02
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/06 05:27:05
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
Toronto (GTA), Ontario
|
Gwar! wrote:orkishlyorkish wrote:something doesn't make sense...
"Unless their profiles specifies otherwise, all ordance blast weapons use the large blast marker"
wouldn't it indicate the normal blast marker if it says ordance blast in the profile and not ordance or ordance large blast? just stating from what you all wrote since I don't have by BRB on me atm (GASP!!!)
-Orkishly
What the hell are you on about? If a Weapon type is "Ordnance Blast", it uses the large blast template, JUST AS IT SAYS IN THE RULEBOOK. How can you possibly read "Unless their profiles specifies otherwise, all ordnance blast weapons use the large blast marker" as meaning they use the small one?
WHOA CALM DOWN! I never said I don't follow the large blast marker but I was just pointing out the way the wording works is kind of weird.
-Orkishly
|
Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/06 05:28:47
Subject: What size template does the master of ordinance use?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, the wording is not weird. Can you please explain to me how "Ordnance Blast Weapons use the Large Blast marker" is weird wording?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/06 05:28:57
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|