Switch Theme:

Can boon of mutation target a model in a vehicle?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

My opponent tired to say this was possible in my game tonight, I said no way in hell.

The rule book does not address this.

The power states if the model is in 6" it can be targeted even if not in LOS. But the model is not on the board, so therefore cannot be targeted, was my reasoning.

That seems preposterous to me. Psychic powers can come out of a vehicle because it is specifically allowed.

Has this been discussed? What if any conclusion was reached?

Thanks.

   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




I would say no, You are right though. This is a gray area of the rules, but fortunately this has been FAQ by GW.

My Point is with the recent RB FAQ which stated:

Q. Can Psychic powers be used on a unit
embarked on a transport?
A. For simplicity’s sake, the answer has to be a
firm ‘No, unless the psyker himself is in the unit
being transported’.


Granted the answer leads you to believe that this is in reference to friendly powers, but even FAQs can be RAW'd. And with that in mind a very firm 'No' is GW's official answer to psychic powers used on embarked units.




DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Cool that is what I thought. Thank you very much Padixon.

   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Wait a second, the Damon book says specifically that these are not Psychic powers.

Hmmm.

It just feels so wrong! How the hell do you turn a model into a spawn in the tank? What do you do with it? Disembark it?

Ugh, stupid rules need to be more clear. Its not like Daemons need any more advantages.

   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






It's a shooting attack, therefore while you can use it in melee or target a model in melee you are still "shooting" the target model, you definitely cannot shoot models in a transport, but I can't find a quote for this. To put it simply, If your opponent can use boon of mutation on models inside a vehicle, you can use regular old firearms on models inside a vehicle.

edit: Maybe not plain firearms due to the LOS restrictions, you would certainly be able to attempt to fire barrage weapons into a vehicle though.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/04/25 08:28:15


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


IIRC (don't have the Daemons codex on me right now), the Daemons codex says that all ranged attacks in the codex count as shooting attacks.

Therefore, Boon of Mutation would not be allowed to target a model in a vehicle as it wouldn't be in LOS. I don't think that Boon specifies it can be used on models out of LOS, so it can't.

The only exception is has, (again IIRC) is that it is allowed to target models in CC, but that's it.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Both Boon of Mutation is a ranged weapon, but 1) the target can be in close combat, 2) the firer can be in close combat, 3) no line of sight is required, and 4) the target model must be "found to be within 6"".

The psychic power FAQ establishes a precedent that one shouldn't go around targeting units embarked on transports, but what's the mileage on precedent around here?

On the other hand, unless the target is a lone model embarked on the transport, it's very difficult to establish the range to any particular model in a unit in a transport. There are rules for determining distance for effects based on the unit, but nothing exists in the rulebook for effects based on (or targeting of) specific models. I believe this is the point of reasoning where the FAQ says "For the sake of simplicity, don't target units or models in a transport."
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No, it counts as a shooting attack. Shooting Attacks of ANY kind cannot affect models inside a vehicle directly unless a special rule says otherwise. Boon of Mutation has no such special rule, so it cannot affect models inside a transport.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

The power says it odes not need LOS, but it is a bit of a mess. Thanks for the input guys.

I say no way, as nothing can target a unit in a transport.

Hey GWAR!, do you have a reference in the codex for that? I looked up the shooting rules and saw nothing restricting that (besides common sense, obviously). Did I miss something?

And Solkan, you are correct. The Rhino was about half way in range of the power, so I said all my guys were sitting in the front of it, out of range! How do you prove that?

I think that yes, for the sake of simplicity, units may not be targeted as it causes too many problems. I would just like to be able to back that up with something solid as my club plays strict RAW unless we vote otherwise.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







It says it counts as a "Ranged Weapon" Page 73 of Codex: Chaos Daemons. Since it is a ranged weapon being used in the Shooting Phase...

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/04/25 17:43:26


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Ok cool, then I am assuming that there is something in the BGB that says no targeting of units in a transport?

Thanks GWAR!.

   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

There's nothing in the BGB I just checked, it is assumed in the rules or must have thought to have been covered by the LOS issue.

feth, it is not exactly clear. This is so annoying.

Well, I suppose the Psychic Power issue is the only thing even pertaining to it remotely and will be used to found my argument.

It just causes too many problems.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/25 17:55:11


   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







The relevant rule is on page 66:
When the unit embarks, it is removed from the table and placed aside, making a note or otherwise marking that the unit is being transported.

Because they are not on the table, you cannot fire at them or do anything at them.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Sweet! Thanks GWAR!, I missed that.

That settles it then.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







And they say following RaW is a bad thing

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

Gwar! wrote:And they say following RaW is a bad thing


I like raw

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Except they are considered to still be on the table, and you measure to the hull for range.

There is no rule saying you can't target units/models in a vehicle, but if you allow that, it gets ugly. barrage weapons, smart missile systems, etc.

So no, no targetting units in vehicles. The FAQ should be enough to make that true.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: