Switch Theme:

New guard codex question.... master of the fleet  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

So basically the master of the fleet allows you to cause -1 to your enemies reserve rolls....


does this mean that if you have 2 command squads with a master of the fleet each.... you get -2 to the reserve rolls?
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

It would seem so.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Grumpy Longbeard




New York

Depends who you're asking...

If you play rules as written: yes
If you have some sort of personal objection to the rule: no

Or at least that's how previous discussions on this topic have gone.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Danny Internets wrote:
If you play rules as written: yes
If you have some sort of personal objection to the rule: no

I think a better way to phrase it is:

If you play rules as written: yes
If you play rules as written: no

It's not clear. It does not say they stack (although I think that was the intent) or that they don't stack. Until GW FAQs it, it's clear as mud.

In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in ca
Boosting Space Marine Biker







Arguments for stacking come from the Eldar Autarch FAQ. Arguments against come from the FAQ for Ork Boss Poles not stacking. Seeing as the Ors boss poles are all part of one unit and the autarch's were each there own unit it would appear that, for now, the stacking argument holds more weight.

Personally: don't stack, it seems like it would just dick a number of people who put together army x relying on deep striking/reserves.

Riddle me this: what has four sides, moves twelve inches, and moved fourteen?

RAW-RAW-RAWsputin, Lover of the Russian Queen/ there was a cat who really was gone... 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





They stack. Demons deserve it.

Game on.
   
Made in us
Dominar






Both math and grammar say that they stack. You will, however, run into the 'Nerfhammar' interpretations, who tout that anything good cannot possibly be good and attempt to "disprove" it with spurious "logic" (re. Lash, Deffrolla Rams, Vulkan/Allies, Librarian GoI/Teleport Homer/Locator Beacon).
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Hahah, this again!

Yes, by grammar and math they stack, any who says differently will be ignoring what is written in the text of the rule.

Ignore any references to any other codex, etc. Play the rule as it is written.

Two separate models. Two separate powers. Two separate modifiers.


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Reecius, good to see you, looking forward to distribution of the weiner punches in yet another thread!
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Hahahaha, that was funny, HBMC's brass knuckles was the best part though!

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Indeed!
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Rasyat






So if I was playing Apoc, if I took 5 Masters of the Fleet could it stack to the point my opponents would need 7s to get reserves? Holding them all back until the 5th turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/27 20:59:58


 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Well you could if Apoc used reserve rolls, which it doesn't.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

No one can say definitively which is correct so you will see certain people here use emotion and threats to say they are right in their interpretation. It's not a big deal either way and actually helps daemons a lot.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





Fenway Park, Monster Seats

Well an Eldar army that has 2 Autarchs can add +2 to their roll... Got that from the Eldar FaQ.

So if the wording is the same for both the Master of the Fleet and the Autarch...then yeah they could stack.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







The argument for both stackinbg and not stacking is valid, so you have to clarify pre game untill GW stop being greedy pricks and actually do some work.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)

Gwar, thier monkeys can only type so fast and only to a average level of detail



and who was on about stacking boss poles?
do you mean waaagh! banners? 0_o

Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The Return of Gwar, this is the old thread reborn isn't it?

To spark more discussion, I'll say this:

don't armies with amazing capability from coming in from reserves deserve a balance (like demons and Eldar)?

I think its great that the IG get at least some cool teeth in their new rules!

It leaves me feeling elated, like I did with the new Ork dex!

If the IG didn't have any cool new powers wouldn't that be depressing?...

EDIT:
For example, don't want to face that IG gunline on turn one and choose to have your whole army in reserve to deprive them of turn 1 targets? Hmm, might be a bad idea now... I think that's an awesome idea!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/27 22:33:02


 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

The MotF is perhaps worth it to buy when.. not so much for the -1 to reserves (although thats good) but mainly (i'd say) for the re-roll on board egde. This give you more control where its needed, for a shooty player.

But.. its not as effective as a re-roll for the board egdes you (as an IG player, with an astropath) want. As you get the egde you want 66% of the time. So its less effective detrimentally as the astropath is helpfull.

Likewise.. I agree with other posters threads on the matter... -2 on reserve rolls starts to favour towards the turn 5 threshold. While standard reserves deploy turns 2-5.. with -2 its quite likely alot/everything could deploy all on turn 5 which is bad for alotta reasons.

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in us
Dominar






Razerous wrote:with -2 its quite likely alot/everything could deploy all on turn 5 which is bad for alotta reasons.


It's actually almost entirely impossible for "alot/everything" to deploy all on turn 5. Even if you leave 100% of your army in reserve, 72% will be on the board by turn 4. It's likely that *something* will be left in reserve til T5, but as soon as T2 stuff will be showing up piecemeal.
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Mkay, fair doos. Still im pretty sure the bell curve will be higher, steeper & closer towards the later turns that standard un modifyed deployement.

My main point is, I think one is suffuicent for adverse reserve roll modification.

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Like several others in here have stated:

RAW: Stacks
Rules As *Someone* wants them to be: It doesnt

I say RAW it does.

-1 + -1 = -2
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







jp400 wrote:Like several others in here have stated:

RAW: Stacks
Rules As *Someone* wants them to be: It doesnt

I say RAW it does.

-1 + -1 = -2
Apart from the fact where RaW also allows it to not stack but run parallel. to each other.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





How, please explain this one to all of us. Please enlighten us......
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I already went over it in the 9001 other threads on this subject. Search it up yourself

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Right....

Simple math still stands...

I have one person that gives -1...

I take another person that gives -1...

Thats negative two overall.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ok since you didnt bother to check my last posts:

Nowhere does the OotF state it stacks.
You can take two, both say I must "Subtract one from [my] reserve rolls".
I roll my reserve dice, both OotF say "Subtract one!"
I subtract one.
Both OotF go "right, sorted"

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Lets see...

I take two guys... You subtract one from one, then subtract another from the other guy.

Simple yes?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







But that's not what the rule says.
It doesn't say "Subtract one for each OoTF" it says "The officer of the fleet".

If it said each then yes it would stack. It doesn't say each, so it doesn't.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Well, based on your logic...
Then since it does not say specifically anywhere that they do not stack, then they must.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: