Switch Theme:

Sanctuary FTW vs. Daemon Armies.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

I am sure this has been covered, but yet again I am a big fail with the search function.

Even if it has been covered, it is good info for those who have not seen it.

Anyway, this came up in a game against a regular opponent of mine who plays Daemons.

I play IG a lot and use Daemonhunter allies.

For some reason, all these years I never noticed that sanctuary not only stops a Daemon from coming within 3" of the inquisitor but also stops them from drawing LOS through that zone. It makes the Inquisitor invulnerable to any Daemon attack except those that do not need LOS (boon of mutation, which if the spawn appears and it is not the inquisitor model, it dies instantly due to the sanctuary power)

So, if you know you are playing a Daemon player and have trouble beating them, try this to even the scales.

Elite Inquisitor attached to a cheap scoring unit in a transport. Drive onto an objective, use sanctuary, that objective is now yours and incontestable for the rest of the game no Daemon unit can come within 3" of the vehicle, nor can they shoot anything at it that will hurt it unless a Soulgrinder scatters a template onto it. The power also lasts so long as you do not move or shoot. Pass the test once (87% chance) and that is it, lock down.

If you play Kill Points, just cast the power and play it safe, that unit will never die and give up its points, or drive it in front of a unit in such a way that you can see past it but the enemy can't draw LOS through the 3" bubble back at you. Or, put an Inquisitor in a Land Raider and then huddle units around it to weather the drop turn as no unit can be targeted so long as they are within the three inch bubble.

It is seriously overpowering though, so I only recommend using it if you are getting the pwnage from Daemons. Also, you can do it with an HQ Inquis but he can not be attached to a squad due to his retinue. He can in a Chimera though, make a big fat wall and hide a scoring unit in the 3" bubble to make them unassailable as well.

So for all you Imperial players sick of Daemons, here is some revenge that is pretty damn uber.

Oh and just to clarify, the Daemon codex says all models in the codex have the Daemon rule, so all powers apply against them that would work on Daemons.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I noticed this power too when the Daemon codex first out. You'd be surprised what you can fit within 3" of the Inquisitor. Drednaughts, Heavy Weapon Platoons, Psycannons, mystics.

Auto-wins get boring... after a while

"Someday someone will best me. But it won't be today, and it won't be you." 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Yeah, I agree. But if you struggle with Daemons, which it is easy to do with armies like IG, this is pretty fun!

For games at the FLGS with buddies, I recommend playing it as it does not block LOS but does stop movement, but in a tournament, give the Daemons a serving of pain!

   
Made in gb
1st Lieutenant







ONly problem with that is you have to be still, so by all means sit back in whatever and sanctuary up, just don't complain when i'm in charge of all the objectives, and as soon as you move, BAM you're toast - at least that what happened the last time someone tried that!

My FOW Blog
http://breakthroughassault.blogspot.co.uk/

My Eldar project log (26/7/13)
http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?p=5518969#post5518969

Exiles forum
http://exilesbbleague.phpbb4ever.com/index.php 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut







It gets even sicker if you stick him in a land raider. Definitely the kind of thing that doesn't make you friends.

Of course, if you do this, I'm immediately going to demand that you play the Daemonhunters codex exactly as it is written, with the Daemonhunters codex defining what is and isn't a Daemon. (The only things in the Chaos Daemons codex that count as "Daemons" by the RAW of the Daemonhunters codex are Soul Grinders, Greater Daemons, and nurglings).

"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers

Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

@Reaver
That is why you move onto an objective, THEN use the power.

In capture and control, just start on your own objective and it will never be taken.

@Centurian99
Yeah, that is a strange contradiction in the rules, and stupid on the part of the writer, but then, the power is game breaking otherwise.

Still, in a land raider, it stops the only units that can hurt it from seeing or hitting it, well, besides Horrors I guess.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Indiana

What is the RAW of the demonhunters codex that makes it this way? Is there one line?

I know demons but not much about DH, and starting guard this sounds like an interesting trick.



​ ​​ ​​ ​​ 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut







GMMStudios wrote:What is the RAW of the demonhunters codex that makes it this way? Is there one line?

I know demons but not much about DH, and starting guard this sounds like an interesting trick.


The Daemonhunters codex defines what counts as a "daemon" for the purposes of the powers/wargear in the Daemonhunters codex. Since it came out long before the CD codex, it refers largely to units that don't exist any more. The only ones that still do exist as named are Greater Daemons, soul grinders (as daemonic possession is specifically named), and nurglings (and the Avatar).


"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers

Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Indiana

Ah ok I see, thanks for clearing that up.



​ ​​ ​​ ​​ 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Colorado

Also, remember you measure from the hull. So you measure vertical too. Measure 3" under the hull on that massive thing. Only thing protected it the Valkyrie from shooting. You should still be able to assault its base and it shouldnt hinder movement either.

NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Wow, I feel like this topic was covered to death months ago, some how...

Keep in mind that if you are in a transport and the transport moves, then the psyker inside COUNTS AS MOVING and so the power, if it were used, would end IMMEDIATELY.

Also note that the power is used at the beginning of the turn, so you can't move your transport and then use the power, either. Also, since it is a "at the beginning of the turn" power, a psyker cannot use it unless the psyker begins the turn on the table.


   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Not sure it would apply to grinders. They don't actually have demonic possession. I don't have my DH codex with me to reference the exact wording though.

EH
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Colorado

solkan wrote:Wow, I feel like this topic was covered to death months ago, some how...

Keep in mind that if you are in a transport and the transport moves, then the psyker inside COUNTS AS MOVING and so the power, if it were used, would end IMMEDIATELY.

Also note that the power is used at the beginning of the turn, so you can't move your transport and then use the power, either. Also, since it is a "at the beginning of the turn" power, a psyker cannot use it unless the psyker begins the turn on the table.





Remember that Valkyries and Vendettas scout.

NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: