Switch Theme:

Skimmers moving Flat out then immobilized  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I have a question that I thought I would toss out to see what every one thinks. Here is the scenario..

A fast skimmer moving flat out ends it's movement inside/over dangerous terrain. When making the dangerous terrain check they roll a 1 thus immobilizing the vehicle. Is the vehicle destroyed?

My first thought was yes, but after looking at the rules I am not sure.

Under moving Skimmers on pg. 71 it states..
If a moving skimmer starts or ends it move in difficult or dangerous terrain it must take a dangerous terrain test.


Then under shooting at skimmers on the same page it states...
A skimmer that is immobilzed immediately crashed is destroyed(wreck) if it moved flat out in its last turn. If it moved slower it suffers an immobilized result as normal.
.

The thing that made me question it is that it does not talk about it being destroyed in the Movement part. Also, in the shooting section it states "in the players last turn" not current. I know the way it used to be, I am sure of how I feel it should be, but I wanted to see what others thought.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







The problem is that the rules are written from the point of view that the Skimmer is shot in the enemies turn.

One could say the "last turn" applies to the current turn, but that's a contentious issue. It does seem however though that, under strict RaW that a Skimmer ending its move in Dangerous terrain and becoming immobilised does not crash.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Philadelphia

No rulebook handy, but what does it say under the difficult/dangerous terrain section? Anything that might have a bearing on the question?

Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013

"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Cruentus wrote:No rulebook handy, but what does it say under the difficult/dangerous terrain section? Anything that might have a bearing on the question?


Nope. That section only describes the rules in general, not pertaining to units with specialized rules like Skimmers.


loomisc wrote:I have a question that I thought I would toss out to see what every one thinks. Here is the scenario..

A fast skimmer moving flat out ends it's movement inside/over dangerous terrain. When making the dangerous terrain check they roll a 1 thus immobilizing the vehicle. Is the vehicle destroyed?

My first thought was yes, but after looking at the rules I am not sure.



You are correct from a RAW perspective. It is fine to play that way provided you stick with it all the time. So, for example, if you're playing that way you have to remember that if a Skimmer moved flat-out in its previous turn and then in this turn you move it only 6" into difficult terrain and it fails the dangerous terrain check then it would be destroyed.

The same thing would apply to a skimmer that moved flat-out in its previous turn and then was immobilized via Tank Shock in this turn, etc.


As long as your opponent is cool with playing this way (and you mention it ahead of time) I'm sure you'll have no problems.

However most people tend to want to play the way that makes more logical sense: That the penalty for moving fast applies based on how fast the skimmer moved last (or is moving currently), regardless of which player turn it actually happened in.

Again, as long as you discuss this with your opponent ahead of time it shouldn't be a problem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/29 11:11:06


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: