Switch Theme:

tau pathfinders and devilfish  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Frightnening Fiend of Slaanesh





brisbane

Ok, this question has come up a lot during my gaming, because of a tactic I use. The GW staff I ask don't 'know' the answer for sure but say I can do what im trying to do because of the wording.

I use pathfinders and the devilfish. I set up the pathfinders like normal, and deploy a squad of fire warriors inside the devilfish somewere else. My opponents often say I can't as it is bought for the pathfinders and so must be used for them. But were the GW staff take my side is were it doesn't say the devilfish is dedicated.

Also, can kroot travel in a devilfish? There's nothing saying I can't, but I want 2 be sure.

Current armies: Chaos marines 1800pts


 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

In 5th edition, there are no more "dedicated transports." Any unit may be transported in any transport (rules allowing). The only difference here is that your Fire Warriors cannot start the game already deployed in the Pathfinder's Devilfish. They have to start the game outside of it, then move into it, as they were not purchased with the Fish.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





That's not quite true. DH and WH still have 'dedicated' transports because their codexes are written that way. Tau have dedicated transport, in the sense that you buy it for a unit, but yes, Tau can climb in any transport on the board.

There is nothing stopping Kroot from embarking on a Devilfish, so they're allowed. It doesn't address how to treat Krootox, which means they can count as 1 model for transport, but I would recommend you treat them like terminators and they take up two spaces (would reduce the rage against you).

In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy




Plantersville, Texas

there are still dedicated transports but not in the old sense Orks still take Trukks as Dedicated Transport, but there is no rule that says my lootas can't hop in it. but you can't feild the lootas in the trukk. But they sure as honky can get in the darned thing.(given they are 12 or less as per the transport space.)
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







The only thing you cannot do with it is start the game with the firewarriors inside. T1 they can climb in during the movement phase.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

dietrich wrote:That's not quite true. DH and WH still have 'dedicated' transports because their codexes are written that way.

This is of course absolutely correct, I meant to add in a line stating "except for very specific instances worded in their respective codex." I guess I didn't feel the need to clarify the more esoteric armies.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I think most of you missed the key point of the post which is that the devilfish never uses the term dedicated in it's description.

Of course this doesn't effect the end result.

The dedicated transport rules in the rulebook read "Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected together with the unit. These 'dedicated transports'..."

So any vehicle purchased together with another unit as a transport option is dedicated, whether the codex uses that term or not, Your firewarriors may not deploy inside the devilfish.6

Also regarding the kroot, they can get in the transport no worries, they can even get in with kroot hounds and krootox, which only take up 1 transport space.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/29 03:07:19


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Of course the Kroot/Krootox thing is a hangover from 4th where the rulebook denied the Taxi Service wholesale rather than leaving it to the codex's to deny it like in 3rd ed(IIRC that is, I'm old and Grumpy so I probably am wrong).

Plus they smell bad...

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Gwar! wrote:Of course the Kroot/Krootox thing is a hangover from 4th where the rulebook denied the Taxi Service wholesale rather than leaving it to the codex's to deny it like in 3rd ed(IIRC that is, I'm old and Grumpy so I probably am wrong).

Plus they smell bad...
Oh yeah, once you let a krootox in your devilfish you will never get the stink out.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in au
Frightnening Fiend of Slaanesh





brisbane

Thanks guys for clearing that up for me =)

Current armies: Chaos marines 1800pts


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: