Switch Theme:

Monstrous Creatures conferring cover saves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





denver, co

It's been nagging in my mind since my last game. Is a monstrous critter such as an Avatar able to give a cover save to an infantry unit behind it? The cover saves ruling is a bit vague and in the MC section the Book only tells you that the needs 50% obscurement to receive a save, nothing on giving them.

thanks

2000+pts
2000ish 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Well, it'd have to be blocking / obscuring LOS to half of the unit!

If so, yes

If not, no!
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







RiTides Nids wrote:Well, it'd have to be blocking / obscuring LOS to half of the unit!

If so, yes

If not, no!
What he said

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





denver, co

Ok cool. Just a question though, Does a MC count as a stand-alone unit? If so would it give a cover save based on the "firing through a unit" cover save rule? MC's just seem to be such an odd-ball thing where some rules apply and others don't and GW doesn't feel the need to remove all the grey

2000+pts
2000ish 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





denver, co

So basically they're treated as walkers for giving and receiving cover? I suppose that sounds right

2000+pts
2000ish 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well, theyre treated as any other model on the table really; you determine if it blocks LOS and that is all that counts.
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




If somehow the MC is part of a unit then we would have a cover save situation. The only case that I can think of in current rules would be the hive tyrant with a unit of his bodyguards, since the tyrant can no longer be picked out as a single target then normal unit cover save rules would have to apply.

Also, a unit entirely of MC or walkers should again give cover saves just like any other unit. The only such unit that I can think of atm is the eldar war walkers but if they add a unit of MC to apoc then cover saves should be given as well.


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: