Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/03 08:25:30
Subject: Storm Troopers disembarking from a Vend/ Valk
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
One question regarding the relationship between the Storm troopers rule "Airborne Assault" and the Vend/Valk rule "Grav chute Insertion". The rule"Grav chute Insertion" says "Deploy the squad (disembarking) as if it were deep striking onto that point", and as Airborne assault allows the Storm trooper squad to re roll the scatter dice when they deep strike I was wondering if this re roll was still allowed when they disembark in this method. At first glance I though they could but after reading it again I'm not so sure, as it says "as if it (the squad) were deepstriking".
I would appreciate it if only people with the Guard codex responded as the exact wording I believe is quite ambiguous and the context in which it is given may be important. Thanks in advance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/03 08:29:01
Subject: Storm Troopers disembarking from a Vend/ Valk
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yes, they get the Re-roll. That's they WHOLE POINT of the two rules
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/03 08:30:40
Subject: Storm Troopers disembarking from a Vend/ Valk
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Sounds pretty clean cut 'yes' to me.
"as if it were" is actually usually a good thing. It means you follow the rules but not NECESSARILY the restrictions blocking the rules.
For example, say you had a flyer or the like that when entering play "is treated as if it were deepstriking onto that point", its not ACTUALLY deepstriking, you just roll it the same way: a mission disallowing deep strikes wouldn't prevent it.
Though depending on the wording, that "we can shoot deepstrikers" special ability on special character (I forget the name) may or may not allow shooting at it, probably yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/03 08:30:45
Subject: Re:Storm Troopers disembarking from a Vend/ Valk
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Fantastic! I thought that was the intent but just wanted to be sure, thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/03 08:59:56
Subject: Storm Troopers disembarking from a Vend/ Valk
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
when they use the special disembark it's "as if they were deepstriking" when storm troopers with airborne assault deep strike they get a re-roll, so when they use the special disembark, just like when they deep strike any other way, they get the re-roll.
I can see why it confused you at first, with some of the dubious similar situations for example gating librarians, but this one is quite definitive.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/03 09:34:13
Subject: Storm Troopers disembarking from a Vend/ Valk
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
question though, does "as if deep striking" = "Deep Striking" ?
|
"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/03 09:39:17
Subject: Storm Troopers disembarking from a Vend/ Valk
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, of course not, it counts as Assaulting </sarcasm>
Of course it equals Deep Striking.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/03 11:50:28
Subject: Storm Troopers disembarking from a Vend/ Valk
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
it doesn't matter, when storm troopers deep strike they get a re-roll so "as if the stormtroopers were deepstriking" includes a re-roll.
If it was just "using deepstrike rules" it might be dubious, but in this situation it's very clear.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|