| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 21:13:33
Subject: We'll be back
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Played a friendly game at the local shop and I had a few questions. I searched here, but it pulls up any time wbb is mentioned.
1: The player rolled WBB even if the 'downed' model was outside of Rez orb distance, stating that only 1 model from the unit needed in that distance. He needed the orb to make the rolls, ST10AP1 Bombardment. Is this true?
2: If the lord is with a unit that is wiped out. There are no other squads nearby. Can they get back up if he has the orb?
Please enlighten me
|
Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...
"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 21:25:48
Subject: We'll be back
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Harkainos wrote:1: The player rolled WBB even if the 'downed' model was outside of Rez orb distance, stating that only 1 model from the unit needed in that distance. He needed the orb to make the rolls, ST10AP1 Bombardment. Is this true?
You do not need a res orb for WBB. You only need a necron MODEL within 6" of the downed one to attempt WBB. What the res orb does is let UNITS within range ignore a lot of the clauses that prevent WBB. So if the Unit was in range of the orb when the S10 Ap1 hit, they are placed on their sides, and may attempt WBB if they are within 6" of a necron model of the same type, even if they are actually outside of the range of the orb. Harkainos wrote:2: If the lord is with a unit that is wiped out. There are no other squads nearby. Can they get back up if he has the orb?
The Squad cannot, as there are no necrons of the same type within 6", the lord can however. Also remember WBB cannot be taken against Sweeping Advance.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/04 21:27:34
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 21:42:37
Subject: We'll be back
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Gwar! wrote:Harkainos wrote:2: If the lord is with a unit that is wiped out. There are no other squads nearby. Can they get back up if he has the orb?
The Squad cannot, as there are no necrons of the same type within 6", the lord can however.
Also remember WBB cannot be taken against Sweeping Advance.
His argument was that Unit Type would be 'infantry' and therefore could 'rejoin' the lord.
Regarding your Remember statement. I kill 7 warriors (5 of which could normally WBB) and then sweeping advance. Do NO models in the unit get WBB? or only the 3 that I 'swept'
|
Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...
"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 21:49:06
Subject: We'll be back
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
The last three are dead, no WBB. The other 7 are able to take a WBB if there is another necron unit within 6 inches at the time it is checked.
No, they may not rejoin the lord.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 21:54:25
Subject: We'll be back
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
InquisitorFabius wrote:The last three are dead, no WBB. The other 7 are able to take a WBB if there is another necron unit within 6 inches at the time it is checked.
This is incorrect, the downed models are removed.. InquisitorFabius wrote:No, they may not rejoin the lord.
Correct. The Necron lord is not the same as a a warrior.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/05/05 13:23:10
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/04 22:23:35
Subject: We'll be back
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
When you sweep a unit, all models in the unit are removed. So, are the downed models still part of the fleeing unit? IMO, yes. They can move with it as it falls back, they can teleport through the monolith as prt of the unit. Given those, IMO, all 10 models would be removed.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 13:22:01
Subject: We'll be back
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
InquisitorFabius wrote:The last three are dead, no WBB. The other 7 are able to take a WBB if there is another necron unit within 6 inches at the time it is checked.
This is a common error by Necron players - the unit is removed by SA, and the rules for SA say nothing may save you unless specified. As WBB does not specify that SA is ignored for the purposes of WBB, it isn't.
SA removes a unit. Downed models are still part of the unit, as a) you are not told otherwise, and they have not been remvoed as casualties, and b) you cannot teleport them through the monolith if they are not part of the unit. You can argue a) all you like, but b) is irrefutable proof they are part of the unit for all respects until they fail WBB
Please check the many other threads on WBB and SA in future, this has been done to death!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 22:40:58
Subject: Re:We'll be back
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
Do you have a link to one of those discussions? Like the OP said, the search feature is not ideal for finding specifics on WBB as EVERYTHING pops up when searched that contains 'WBB'. I'd like to read some of those discussions to get a better feel for reasons and arguments surrounding this issue.
|
Ubersnax A.K.A. McLasers |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|