| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 00:54:05
Subject: On Lord Mazdamundi
|
 |
Skink Chief with Poisoned Javelins
New York/Michigan
|
Okay so: I got in a rather heated argument with an employee at a store over a few rules concerning Lord Mazdamundi.
I am sure that I am just not reading something right but whatever.
The dilemma was over whether or not Maz could join a unit of Temple Guard.
Since he rides a Stegadon, which is apparently a monstrous mount (makes sense) he cannot join a unit.
Based on this he would not be able to join the Temple Guard unless Zlaaq was killed.
BUT
The Temple Guard have the "Sacred Duty" rule. This forces the Temple Guard to form a unit with the Slann.
The rule states nothing about the Slann needing to be on a palanquin.
What I get from this is that Maz can and must join the Temple Guard unit.
The rule doesn't specifically mention how the Slann's mount affects the join to the unit of Temple Guard (other than those rules for the palanquin)
No where does it say that Maz can or cannot join a unit, which is the problem...
My second question pertains to when Maz's mount is killed.
The section about this says that when Zlaaq is killed, Maz reverts to using his palanquin.
The confusing part here, is that is does not say that he then gains the rules for the palanquin but does mention the palanquin by name.
Maz reverts to using the palanquin for movement, meaning M4.
Since it doesn't mention anything about the palanquin's rules. What would this mean?
I assume this means that he would have to be placed in the front rank in order to cast spells from within a unit of Temple Guard.
Maz is also absent of the Guardian rule.
SO! I pose these questions to you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 01:00:36
Subject: On Lord Mazdamundi
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
Hmmmm
As for the first dilemma, no. Monstrous Mounts cannot join units. Unless the Steagon dies, he must stay out of the Temple Guard.
As for the Palanquin, If he reverts to it, it is the same palanquin that every Slaan uses. It has the exact same special rules. I'm not sure what the Guardian Rule is, but if it is on other Slaan, it should be on him. You could ask a GW staffer for officialness, but they'll probably agree with me.
Good Luck!
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 12:52:44
Subject: On Lord Mazdamundi
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Incorrect - as a monstrous mount he CAN join the unit; MONSTERS may not join units, and flying monstrous mounts cannot join units, however in general monstrous mounts CAN join units. For example, Corpse cart in unit of ghouls is perfectly fine.
He does not have the "Guardian" rule otheriwse he would be on the 2nd rank when on the mount, meaning you lose the benefits of the impact hits. As this isn't great they left it out, however the Palanquin rules are mized in with it - which is a problem. I would simply play it as any other Slaan, i.e. if mount is killed he would go to the 2nd rank. NOT raw at all, but probably RAI.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 21:00:49
Subject: On Lord Mazdamundi
|
 |
Skink Chief with Poisoned Javelins
New York/Michigan
|
I cannot find where is says monsterous mounts cannot join units, I can find where is says that monsters cannot though. Since Maz is a character on the mount it make sense that how would be able to just like anyother mounted (monsterous or otherwise) character. This issue is see would be if it was killed! In which case the Stegadon would have to be removed from the unit and placed next to it (as per one of the BRB FAQ).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/06 11:02:00
Subject: On Lord Mazdamundi
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The fact the BRB FAQ tells you what happens when the rider is slain when in a unit on a monstrous mount kind of reinforces that you CAN put them in the unit, surely
If the rider is killed the monster is removed from the unit and must act seperately.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 15:09:44
Subject: On Lord Mazdamundi
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Cherry Hill, NJ
|
Only characters mounted on flying mounts cannot joint units (Unless the Character is a monster him self). so yes he can join a unit of temple guard.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 19:38:03
Subject: On Lord Mazdamundi
|
 |
Skink Chief with Poisoned Javelins
New York/Michigan
|
Well this is just grand. I has victory!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|