Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 18:43:09
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
might just be wish full think on my part but ...
Combined Squad "...The decision to form combined Squads must be made at deployment..."
Valkyrie Assault Carrier "...Nominate any point over which the Valkyrie or vendetta moved over and deploy the squad as if they were deep striking ...."
so 3 squads on 3 Valkyrie(in a squadron) all get off now may = 1 squad?
so what do you think?
options
1)not a chance. go get some sleep you've been up too long (35hs and counting I hate Dissertation but it’s done now ... I’m free)
2)sounds like fun but that’s not going to fly with every one
3)yes it does (are you mad agreeing with the sleep deprived)
any way thanks
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/05 18:44:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 18:57:57
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Only 1 unit can embark in a transport.
You can only combine infantry squads.
If you combine infantry squads, their model count will be greater than any valk/chimera capacity (unless the unit takes losses to reduce model count to 12 or lower).
get some sleep.
|
The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 19:05:36
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
which is why they are on a squadron of Valkyrie which could hold a combined total of 36 people .... but i will get some sleep once my ride home gets here ^_^
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 20:12:35
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Neenah, Wisconsin
|
I think this is another case of poor word selection.
Deployment happens only once per game at the beginning. Getting out of a transport is disembarking.
This looks at first glance to be a case of a GW writer making a bad choice of synonyms. They seem to do this often, making reference to disembarking as deploying from a transport.
If we consider it deployment does that mean scouts "deploying" from a LS Storm can immediately infiltrate mid game?
By RAW it may me possible (as I haven't combed the rulebooks to double check) but I'd say it's a pretty clear case of poor word choice.
Nothing new there.
|
Visit my blog at www.goingaming.blogspot.com
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 22:42:28
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Deployment is when a unit comes on to the table, not when they disembark.
SM squads can not divide into a combat squad when they disembark from a Rhino.
They can divide when they disembark from a Drop Pod however, but that is a special rule *unique* to the Drop Pod.
|
The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 23:32:40
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I like (3), (2) seems likely, (1) is probably RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 23:35:47
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
yeah I agree that it's just bad wording, the models in the valkyrie have already existed on the table while in the transports, so it's too late to change thier composition.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/05 23:41:43
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, you cannot combine them at all. it is indeed poor word selection. The models have existed on the tabletop, so have already been deployed. The only time you ever "Deploy" anything outside the start of the game is when a unit comes in from reserves.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/07 23:06:11
Subject: Re:IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Well I've had some sleep and i think its time to finish this. Mainly because i play TFG way too often (he proves to be a good challenge), i think we need to tighten up the 'against' reasons. I'm going to continue this by, arguing in favour, since some one has to.
Reasons why it works
Deployment is defined in the BGB as being some thing that happens:-
A) at the beginning of the game before the first turn
B) when arriving from reserves via a board edge or deep strike.
C) when disembarking a transport vehicle.
Codex Imperial Guard adds to this with:-
D) via 'Grav Chute Insertion'
People have said SM cannot Combat Squad this way yet there is nothing in rules as written disallowing them to. That it say 'The one exception is a unit that arrives by drop pod' could easily be viewed as conformation since the drop pods rules for transport lacks the key word 'deploy'. At best it points at a possibility of the rules not intending them not to be able to so. It should also be noted that the unit must still be 10 strong, not including independent character, or it cannot combat squad
Scout and Infiltrate cannot happen. Scout because it must happen before the first turn. Units lose Infiltrate when they are deployed inside a vehicle.
Ok people have fun pick this apart.
(gah reading this back it sound like I'm writing up my Dissertation again)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 08:17:07
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Deployment is not Disembarking from a Transport. That's called Disembarking. Deployment is only the first two things, and the Grav Chute thing is just poor wording, as it is not Deployment.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 13:05:29
Subject: Re:IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
I agree it is probably just poor wording but till Errata or FAQ Disembarking is deploying ...
From page 67 Disembarking
"When the unit disembarks, each model is deployed within 2" of the vehicles access point, and within unit coherency."
It doesn't matter if 'Disembarking' and 'Grav Chute Insertion' is poor worded, as it stands this is deploying because that is Rule As Written. Now there is also nothing RAI against this, it has just never been seen in another army.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 13:09:16
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Then by your logic, Space Marine Squads could Combat Squad when leaving a Rhino, which, we both know is is utter rubbish because the unit is still deployed on the tabletop, just inside a Transport. That's why they can Combat Squad from Reserves because they are deploying onto the tabletop, and why Drop Pods need a Specific Special Rule that allows it.
How is that for RaI?
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 13:10:27
Subject: Re:IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
If you are playing with someone who wants to do word games and try this, go technical right back at him. Each squad "deploys" from ts own transport one at a time, so since each squad is "deploying" at that exact instant there is no other available squad to combine with. A squad "deploys' by itself, once they hit the table they are then already "deployed" so can no longer be considered "deploying".
This realy makes no more sense than trying to claim that the squads could combine, but it follows the same nit picking detail line so might be believed by the person trying to pull this off  .
Sliggoth
|
Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 13:11:27
Subject: Re:IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
@Gwar! Tri wrote: People have said SM cannot Combat Squad this way yet there is nothing in rules as written disallowing them to. That it say 'The one exception is a unit that arrives by drop pod' could easily be viewed as conformation since the drop pods rules for transport lacks the key word 'deploy'. At best it points at a possibility of the rules not intending them not to be able to so. It should also be noted that the unit must still be 10 strong, not including independent character, or it cannot combat squad got there before you @Sliggoth ... That's a much better reason why they can't.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/08 13:22:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 16:37:37
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
"Equivocation" is the name of the logic error that's causing the problem here.
Equivocation is when you use the same word to mean two different things or assume that two different meanings of the same word apply in different contexts.
So, for example, it would be equivocation to assume that Dark Eldar "Warriors" get WBB rolls just like Necron "Warriors" because they're both "Warriors."
Here the meaning of "deploy" in the combined squad rule is meant in the special sense of referring to the army deployment. The word "deploy" in the Valkyrie rules just means "disembark." You can't conflate the two.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/08 23:48:05
Subject: IG 3 become 1?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Flavius Infernus wrote:"Equivocation" is the name of the logic error that's causing the problem here.
Equivocation is when you use the same word to mean two different things or assume that two different meanings of the same word apply in different contexts.
So, for example, it would be equivocation to assume that Dark Eldar "Warriors" get WBB rolls just like Necron "Warriors" because they're both "Warriors."
Here the meaning of "deploy" in the combined squad rule is meant in the special sense of referring to the army deployment. The word "deploy" in the Valkyrie rules just means "disembark." You can't conflate the two.
You cannot argue that without knowing 100% that's what GW meant. To some one at GW deployment could simply be the act of placing models onto the table. All places you said it was being used instead of disembark why not simply write disembark and be done? Also your example is not perfect, the reason they don't get to use WBB is the don't have the special rule 'Necron', not to mention the lack of the WBB in the DE codex.
So far the only against ruling that holds water is Sliggoth's "cannot deploy at the same time" though it could be further argued that only one squad need be deploying and that it is joining the other squad. Quote "...then any Infantry Squad may join another infantry squad from the same platoon..."
|
|
 |
 |
|