Gwar! wrote:Yes, it can.
Why does this question keep coming up?
Nobody had any problem with Space Marines (Which don't have the Deep Strike USR) Deep Striking in a Drop Pod (which does), so why do people have problems with this?
As for how, Read the rules perhaps? ya know, the ones that tell you how to deal with transports and units in reserve? Found with the rest of the reserve rules?
Gwar,
I have to agree with Sazzlefrats here. There is no reason to be condescending. If you don't want to answer the question politely you can always refrain from posting.
As for why people never had questions with the Drop Pod rules and they do now with the Valkyrie is because Drop Pods have specific rules about how they arrive and the units inside them disembark onto the table. Of course, the Drop Pod rules never state anything like:
"The Drop Pod, including the embarked unit arrive using the Deep Strike rules", when they really should to be completely clear.
So in short, perhaps people should have questioned the Drop Pod rules but there was less of a reason to because the rules were more explicit. In the case of a Valkyrie you just have a transport that has the Scout ability (and therefore can outflank) but there is nothing in the rules that explicitly says that this ability is passed on to the unit inside and therefore it is a legitimate question to ask if the Valkyrie is allowed to do so with a unit inside that doesn't also have the Scout
USR.
We all naturally assume that an
IC joining a unit that has Deep Strike in Reserves isn't suddenly allowed to Deep Strike with them if he doesn't share that rule and there isn't anything in the rules clarifying that units inside of transports gain the special deployment abilities of the transport they are riding in so, yes it is a question worth asking.
Ultimately I do think the answer for gameplay has to fall on the side of precedence; if Drop Pods allow units to arrive inside that don't have the Deep Strike ability then outflanking Valkyries need to be treated the same. . .but I absolutely think it should be included on any
FAQ that
GW produces,
IMHO.