Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 05:34:43
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
Some players are saying that dedicated troop transport vehicles don't count as a seperate unit for deployment purposes in the dawn of war deployment scenario. Meaning that if, one had 2 units of space marines, and both had dedicated troop transports (aka Rhino's) .... they then can deploy all 4 units in dawn of war, where you are allowed only up to 2 troop units.
What am I missing here? I was sure thats not legal, but I can't find anything definative in the rulebook. Please help.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 06:02:54
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Erm, hav e you not read the rules for deploying in DoW? It covers this exact situation.
Oddly enough it's a fairly logical place....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 06:08:51
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Check the example given on page 93 for the 'Dawn of War' scenario as it clearly answers your question.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/09 06:10:26
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 06:15:39
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
Skip this thread. I need a rule book thats got all the rules in one place and organized.
pg92 Multiple Unit Choices.... I hate this book, I can't find anything when I try to look for it the first, or second or even the third time.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/09 06:29:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 06:29:38
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Again, please read the section I referenced above.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 06:37:52
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
|
This is a bit confusing I agree and was poorly done by GW. The problem is the rules are spread over 4 different locations and only once you have read them all, you need to keep what you have read in mind when you are reading the others so you can begin to understand how it works.
Three different circumstances:
Dedicated Transport with purchase Unit embarked:
For regular deployment and reserves a dedicated transport and the unit it was bought for are always considered one unit if those troops decide to be embarked in the vehicle during deployment. In the case of dawn of war, the infantry unit can deploy in the dedicated transport.
P.67 Dedicated Transport Box
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
Dedicated Transport with out it's purchased Unit embarked:
If the unit and the dedicated transport is deployed separately, meaning the troops are not embarked they are two units and there for have two reserves rolls. I the case of dawn of war only the infantry unit can be deployed.
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
Once the game begins the infantry unit and the dedicated transport are two units from that point on.
P.67 Dedicated Transport Box
P92. Multiple Units
Note: Also Non-Dedicated Transports can deploy regularly or come in from reserves with infantry embarked inside; (not in dawn of war though)
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
Plus if you need more reasureance on P93 in the dawn of war example they are deploying troops inside a dedicated transport.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/09 06:45:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 06:56:42
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
You are correct Ghaz, thanks. I should learn to look at examples.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 08:06:40
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
orangeknight78 wrote:This is a bit confusing
It's really not, since it's specifically addressed in the DoW rules.
Dedicated Transport with purchase Unit embarked:
For regular deployment and reserves a dedicated transport and the unit it was bought for are always considered one unit if those troops decide to be embarked in the vehicle during deployment. In the case of dawn of war, the infantry unit can deploy in the dedicated transport.
P.67 Dedicated Transport Box
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
Neither of those pages state that the unit and the transport count as a single unit.
Dedicated Transport with out it's purchased Unit embarked:
If the unit and the dedicated transport is deployed separately, meaning the troops are not embarked they are two units and there for have two reserves rolls.
This is correct.
I the case of dawn of war only the infantry unit can be deployed.
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
This is not.
A dedicated transport for an infantry unit selected as a Troops choice is a Troops unit in its own right if not deployed with the unit inside.
DoW doesn't require you to deploy only Infantry units, it simply askes for units selected from the Troops section of the FOC. So deploying the infantry unit and the transport separately in DoW would be perfectly legal, and would count as your two units of Troops.
Once the game begins the infantry unit and the dedicated transport are two units from that point on.
P.67 Dedicated Transport Box
P92. Multiple Units
Not just once the game begins. They are always two separate units. They simply get to act together in certain situations, such as when rolling for Reserves.
Note: Also Non-Dedicated Transports can deploy regularly or come in from reserves with infantry embarked inside; (not in dawn of war though)
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
There is nothing in the DoW or Reserves rules that would inherently prevent you from deploying a non-dedicated transport with a unit in it, so long as the Transport was selected from the army's Troops section. Which, under the current crop of codexes would most likely make it impossible anyway... but because nobody gets non-dedicated transports as Troops, not because DoW prevents it.
Plus if you need more reasureance on P93 in the dawn of war example they are deploying troops inside a dedicated transport.
...and specifically state that the Transport counts as the second Troops unit...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 15:58:32
Subject: Re:Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
|
I see what your saying Insaniak, thanks for the clarification. Is what I posted now correct?
Dedicated Transport with purchase Unit embarked:
For regular deployment and reserves a dedicated transport and the unit it was bought for are always deployed together. In the case of dawn of war, the infantry unit can deploy in the dedicated transport; but count as two troop choices.
P.67 Dedicated Transport Box
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
Dedicated Transport with out it's purchased Unit embarked:
If the unit and the dedicated transport are deployed separately, meaning the troops are not embarked, they are two units and there for have two reserves rolls. In the case of dawn of war both the infantry unit and the dedicated transport can be deployed, but count as the two troop choices.
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
The infantry unit and the dedicated transport are always two troop units.
P.67 Dedicated Transport Box
P92. Multiple Units
Note: Also Non-Dedicated Transports can deploy regularly or come in from reserves with infantry embarked inside; in the case of reserves they have one reserve roll (not in dawn of war though)
P.94 Preparing Reserves - Paragraph 4
Plus if you need more reassurance on P93 in the dawn of war example they are deploying troops inside a dedicated transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 23:34:27
Subject: Re:Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
wakefield west yorkshire
|
the way the rule was explaned to me in a tourni is you deploy 2 TROOPS choices as writen in your army list so if your entry has a transport it makes no diffrance embarked or not its how it appears in you written army list
my problem came about as i had a DA RAVENWING which for 1 troop choice has 3 bikes+3bikes+1attack bike+1landspeeder (the rules state that they deploy as 1 unit but play separately just like a squad and its dedicated transprt)....................now x that by 2 and allmost all my army deployed at set up my apponant said that this wasnt fair but the judges resolution was you deploy as written in your list not as played on the table.
hope this helps
(i will settle for it just making sence)
lol
|
fear the dark
fear the angels for we are death
darkangels 15000+ pts
sisters of battle 6000+ pts
imp fists full codex company (lord knows how many pts)
space wolves - under construction but well on its away to a grand company
retired (may return) after a codex fubar
next ???????(but there will be a lot of it)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 23:35:11
Subject: Re:Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
orangeknight78 wrote:Dedicated Transport with purchase Unit embarked:
For regular deployment and reserves a dedicated transport and the unit it was bought for are always deployed together. In the case of dawn of war, the infantry unit can deploy in the dedicated transport; but count as two troop choices.
Not quite. They count as two Troops units. They are a single Troops choice from the Force Org Chart.
Dedicated Transport with out it's purchased Unit embarked:
If the unit and the dedicated transport are deployed separately, meaning the troops are not embarked, they are two units and there for have two reserves rolls. In the case of dawn of war both the infantry unit and the dedicated transport can be deployed, but count as the two troop choices.
Again, two Troops units, not choices.
The infantry unit and the dedicated transport are always two troop units.
Correct.
Note: Also Non-Dedicated Transports can deploy regularly or come in from reserves with infantry embarked inside; in the case of reserves they have one reserve roll (not in dawn of war though)
Again, if the transport was selected from the army's Troops section, it could be deployed in DoW. And the process of bringing units on from Reserve is the same in DoW as in every other mission.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/09 23:42:13
Subject: Re:Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
darkangels_rule wrote:the way the rule was explaned to me in a tourni is you deploy 2 TROOPS choices as writen in your army list so if your entry has a transport it makes no diffrance embarked or not its how it appears in you written army list
And as has been pointed out already in this thread, that's not what the DoW rules actually say.
You're allowed to deploy two Troops unit. Not two Troops choices.
So what you were told is half right... it does indeed make no difference whether the unit is embarked or not.
my problem came about as i had a DA RAVENWING which for 1 troop choice has 3 bikes+3bikes+1attack bike+1landspeeder (the rules state that they deploy as 1 unit but play separately just like a squad and its dedicated transprt)....................now x that by 2 and allmost all my army deployed at set up my apponant said that this wasnt fair but the judges resolution was you deploy as written in your list not as played on the table.
In this particular case they were correct. Ravenwing Squadrons deploy together... not because they deploy as one unit (they don't) but because they deploy at the same time. As this is a specific rule for a specific unit type, it would take precedence over the DoW requirement. When you deploy the first bike unit, you also deploy the rest of the squadron, because the RW rules say so.
But they always count as separate units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/10 00:03:28
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
So, to summarise:
It's explained in the rulebook
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/01 18:00:33
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
*Bump!*
Given the discussion above, can an HQ unit deploy in its dedicated transport during Dawn of War setup? If yes/no, could you kindly explain why for the ignorant?
I want to make a reasoned argument to my gaming group but they can't accept it without clear examples (i.e. I can't just say it's in the rulebook).
If someone takes the time to help me out it will be super appreciated!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/01 18:01:23
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
CrabstuffedMushrooms wrote:*Bump!*
Given the discussion above, can an HQ unit deploy in its dedicated transport during Dawn of War setup? If yes/no, could you kindly explain why for the ignorant?
I want to make a reasoned argument to my gaming group but they can't accept it without clear examples (i.e. I can't just say it's in the rulebook).
If someone takes the time to help me out it will be super appreciated! 
No, as that would result in 2 HQ Units being deployed.
Also, BACK FOUL NECROMANTIC BEAST!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/01 18:09:54
Subject: Dawn of War and Dedicated Troop Transports
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Gwar! wrote:CrabstuffedMushrooms wrote:*Bump!*
Given the discussion above, can an HQ unit deploy in its dedicated transport during Dawn of War setup? If yes/no, could you kindly explain why for the ignorant?
I want to make a reasoned argument to my gaming group but they can't accept it without clear examples (i.e. I can't just say it's in the rulebook).
If someone takes the time to help me out it will be super appreciated! 
No, as that would result in 2 HQ Units being deployed.
Also, BACK FOUL NECROMANTIC BEAST!
I didn't want to start a new thread discussing the same thing  So one question for clarification + another stupid question:
1) So you're saying the dedicated transport counts as a separate HQ choice even though the HQ is embarked inide it?
2) Do all dedicated transports count as Troops choices in Dawn of War setup? One of our members cited the example on pg 93 (see below) and refuses to let go of it. If he's not correct, how do I convince him otherwise?
"In his half of the table, player B then deploys a unit of Troops, already embarked into their dedicated transport ( which is his second unit of Troops). He then deploys an independent character from his HQ, joining the unit embarked in the transport."
Thanks again for the quick reply and apologies for putting you to the trouble. A lot of this stuff seemed self-evident to me but I need examples to back them up, not just rulings
|
|
 |
 |
|