| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/10 18:50:44
Subject: Vehicles = Units?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Okay, I was just wondering about something, that could've came up had I cared enough:
(Necron Pylon) Phase Shifter: "All Necron units with at least 1 model within 12" of the Pylon receive a 5+ Invulnerable Save."
So then, by the definition of Units in the BRB, would say a Monolith (or even the Pylon itself?) get the 5+ as well? Like really the only question is that because it doesn't say "Non-vehicle units get a 5+", nor does it say "vehicles count as obscured or anything", and with vehicles counting as units, I was wondering if they just get the 5+, or nothing at all?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/10 18:51:45
7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/10 18:58:00
Subject: Vehicles = Units?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
What is a monolith going to do with a 5+ invulnerable save?
Can vehicles even use any invun saves they have?
They get cover saves...Pylon gives it an invun save, so I guess they might be able to use their invun save.
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/10 19:02:51
Subject: Vehicles = Units?
|
 |
Dispassionate Imperial Judge
|
I don't think vehicles can actually TAKE invulnerable saves.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/10 19:09:15
Subject: Re:Vehicles = Units?
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
Maybe the unit needs to have the "necron" special rule to counts as "Necron unit" which gets the 5+ invul?
|
Target locked,ready to fire
In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.
H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/10 19:14:57
Subject: Vehicles = Units?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
onlainari wrote:What is a monolith going to do with a 5+ invulnerable save?
Can vehicles even use any invun saves they have?
They get cover saves...Pylon gives it an invun save, so I guess they might be able to use their invun save.
Well, it would be nice to make a Monolith EVEN HARDER to kill
ArbitorIan wrote:I don't think vehicles can actually TAKE invulnerable saves.
Well, vehicles can take Cover Saves, so why not Invuln saves? That said, I'll do some rulebook checking on that
|
7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/10 19:37:47
Subject: Re:Vehicles = Units?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
I don't see why the lith wouldn't get the save. it makes sense to me.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/10 23:22:57
Subject: Vehicles = Units?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Invulnerable saves are only taken against wounds.
The same would be true of cover saves except that the rules specifically allow vehicles to take covers saves now so they can.
But no, a vehicle cannot have an invulnerable save unless the rule specifically says that it works with a vehicle because invulnerable saves are only taken against wounds which vehicles do not suffer.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 05:44:56
Subject: Vehicles = Units?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Vehicles cannot take Invulnerable saves because you can only take them against wounds. The only kind of saves a Vehicle can take are Cover saves.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|