Switch Theme:

Question regarding minimum range and guess weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ph
Been Around the Block





I need to clarify something regarding guess weapons...

It is stated in the rulebook that weapons with G in the profile can shoot within its minimum and maximum ranges... like the whirlwind for example.... 12-48", what if the template scatters beyond the min-max range? will the shot be invalid? or be resolved as normal?

Also according to the IG dex, basilisks are now 36-240" that means can it still direct fire targets inside the minimum 36"? or not? (same goes for the whirlwind)
I was thinking that they could not direct fire and any unit within 36" can not be shot at by the basilisk..(sucks tho) Thanks!
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






juppy wrote:I need to clarify something regarding guess weapons...

It is stated in the rulebook that weapons with G in the profile can shoot within its minimum and maximum ranges... like the whirlwind for example.... 12-48", what if the template scatters beyond the min-max range? will the shot be invalid? or be resolved as normal?

Also according to the IG dex, basilisks are now 36-240" that means can it still direct fire targets inside the minimum 36"? or not? (same goes for the whirlwind)
I was thinking that they could not direct fire and any unit within 36" can not be shot at by the basilisk..(sucks tho) Thanks!



The blast template for barrage weapons (formerly denoted by G) must be placed within its range, and it can then scatter outside. You don't measure first, just place the blast marker and then see if its in range. If it is in range, continue normally (including scatter). If not then it is removed and the game goes on.

So no, a Basilisk that targets a model within the 36" will lose its shot for the turn.

Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in ph
Been Around the Block





man that must have suck having a big gun and you can't shoot it with it coz uh the enemy is too close LOL

now the only way to avoid a basilisk to keep pounding you would be to go right up front....
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Read the rules for barrage weapons in the rulebook. They are all allowed to fire directly with no minimum range penalty.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Except for the Collosus and Griffon that is.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ghaz wrote:Except for the Collosus and Griffon that is.
Only because they have special rules that say you cant

And yes, if the template scatters outside the Min-Max, it is fine, it just cannot be placed there to start.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ph
Been Around the Block





ah ok I just finished rereading them rules Thanks guys!

on another note regarding ordnance... can walkers fire them and fire other weapons? like say the defiler? The ordnance section states vehicles who fire ordnance weapons can't fire anything else (except for lumbering behemoth) but walkers have their own set of rules as well, according to walker rules they can move and fire everything as if they where stationary.... any help would be most appreciated thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/11 09:29:48


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







juppy wrote:ah ok I just finished rereading them rules Thanks guys!

on another note regarding ordnance... can walkers fire them and fire other weapons? like say the defiler? The ordnance section states vehicles who fire ordnance weapons can't fire anything else (except for lumbering behemoth) but walkers have their own set of rules as well, according to walker rules they can move and fire everything as if they where stationary.... any help would be most appreciated thanks
No, the rules for Ordnance are clear. You fire Ordnance, you cannot fire anything else, including defensive weapons. This still applies to walkers.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

The rules for firing ordnance barrage directly are pretty tricky to find, as they're not in the weapons section of the rulebook, but in the vehicles section of the rule book. Page 58 IIRC.

Walkers state that they always count as stationary for the purposes of firing weapons. That bonus does not interact with the rules for ordnance which state that you simply cannot fire any other weapons on the turn that a vehicle fires and ordnance weapon, Guard tanks with ordnance turrets and Lumbering Behemoth being a notable exception, of course.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in ph
Been Around the Block





ok thanks a bunch!
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Toronto, Ontario Canada

Ignore Dracos
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: